We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upper House has all the facilities to become an international 5 star hotel but they are not there (yet)”
Review of Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Upper House
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Upper House has all the facilities to become an international 5 star hotel but they are not there (yet)”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

"Upper House is a small, modern 5 star hotel of top international class" - that is what Upper House state on their website and I would agree facility wise. The room, the bathroom and the SPA are exceptionally designed and well followed through; Great comfortable designer sofas, marble floors in the bathroom with a fantastic SPA (well worth to cancel any meetings or social engagement and spend at least 4-5 hours to enjoy a very relaxing day).

But as for any 5 star hotel of top international class, it is the detail that matters. We noticed some drawbacks in our room which included; could not fully close our curtains due to a construction error, some part of the towel hangers was falling apart in the bathroom and messy power cords on one of the designer lamps in the room. The "pillow menu" option they endorse next to the bed was out of stock once I wanted to order one of the pillows from the menu.

Overall Upper house has all the facilities, the view and the staff to become an Amazing Hotel Intentionally, you just need to follow through on your execution and maybe hire a bellboy too!

Room Tip: Take your time for the SPA, it is truly enjoyable and relaxing. Might be even worthwhile to only buy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    59
    31
    14
    2
See reviews for
42
477
14
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Upper House is clearly the top Hotel in Sweden, even edging out the Sheraton in Stockholm. It take up the top 4 floors of the Gothia Tower Hotel, but is an entirely separate hotel in its own right. While the Gothia was host to, literally, a host of young people, the Upper House was a sea of tranquility above it all, with a separate reception and breakfast area. The room was amazing, with the most luxuriant bathroom and comfortable bed in all Sweden. It also was very quite with incredible views of the city of Gothenburg. The staff was helpful and made you feel welcome.

The only downside is that they are still finishing the last of the three Gothia towers and it is hard to find the entrance. There is valet parking only. Still, they helped with the luggage, took the car and got us to our room efficiently. We enjoyed the luxury of our stay which was not duplicated anywhere else in Scandinavia

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are good except those right near the glass elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff and the beds of this Hotel are the best I ever had ! Thank you for this . The spa is good , with a very good view . The Hotel is simple to find
and it is good to reach from the Airport with a rental car .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steffen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

To charge 3800 sek for a delux room is wrong in so many ways. Yes the rooms are nice, the spa is nice and the view is nice. But it stops about there.
There is no mention online that the hotel is in a construction site and even at the 24th floor one hear the sounds from construction.

The signs are non existent when driving to the hotel and there is a small sign to Gothia Towers through the construction site, had to wait 20 min for a worker to finish before driving up to the hotel entrance.

When we came up to the 25th floor, there was no welcoming drink as they advertise, there was not question about helping with the luggage. The check in was quite unfriendly, and when you include the spa access, it would be wise to mention where the spa is, and how it works.
When we walked down to the SPA they were suprised that we had not booked a time for the spa experience. The girls at the SPA was awsome going through everything.

While at the SPA the power went out, there was no mentioning from any at the hotel or spa what happend. The way I found out was walking in to the Haman and it was dark.

There was no one that said sorry, or mentioned this the rest of the weekend. At least say sorry or let us know what is happening.



The rooms a not isolated well, could hear through the ceeling when they vacumed the reception at night, not good for a "5star" hotel.

We went to Liseberg that evening and when we came back we went to the bar at the 25th floor, awesome bartender, that experience was the only highlight of the stay.

Went to the room and decided to test room service. Food came quickly and was good, was told to call the front desk when finished and they would collect the tray. When going to breakfast the following morning at 9 am, the tray was still outside the room with dried out chocolate mouse. I told the front desk and after breakfast the tray was still there. NOT ACCEPTABLE from a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast is a joke, yes it is well and good that you have the eco friendly touch. but no proper break, the hot items are not made to order. they were cold and the "hollandaise"sauce was not good)


The only thing that worked well was the wake upcalls with the personal touch. '¨

When checking out at 6 am, there was no offer of breakfast and even when ordering the wakeup call the night before there was not mention of the option of getting any food for the road.


Many ways to improve this hotel, and before it is improved, lower the cost of staying here.

Room Tip: Not on the 24th floor, unless you like vacume sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank viking76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte F, Guest Relations Manager at Upper House, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Viking76, thank you for your review. I would like to get in touch with you and speak to you in person, please send me an e-mail or call me, charlotte.forsman@gothiatowers.com or +46 (0) 31 - 708 81 77.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in May. From check in to check out the staff was very professional and helpful. The room had a view of Liseberg. Room itself was very comfortable with 2 TVs though couldn't understand the reason for the 2nd small tv above the desk!
You need to tell the cab to take you to Gothia Towers as most of the cab drivers are not familiar with the name of Upper House Hotel.
The breakfast was good too but a stay wouldn't be completed without having the shrimp sandwich in their restaurant Heaven 23. The restaurant has spectacular views of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janathar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed there last week-end as we were attending a wedding in Gothenburg.

The hotel is at the top of the second tower within the Gothia Towers. You get a nice welcome with a drink at the reception located at the 23rd floor (if I remember well). Marcus who was the one welcoming us was very friendly. He seemed to be doing everything! If you had a question, he was the one to call! It's located in front of a fun fair, and at around 10 minutes walking distance from the main shopping area.

We got the room 2205 - Deluxe room. It was very spacious, decorated with good taste and with modern design pieces of furniture. The bed is placed in the middle of the room, facing the city-view. The bathroom is brand new as the rest, very clean and modern. The room is very pleasant overall.

The big + of this hotel is actually the Spa area. It's located on the 21st floor. As a guest of the hotel, you are given a set including some body and facial products, as well as a Spa wardrobe that you can keep. You have the possibility to follow a programme within the Spa, which is great because it makes you use all the facilities efficiently. The Spa is just amazing!! I usually never use the sauna because it's always small and dark. Here the sauna is huge, with one of the wall being the actual window of the building, so it's very light and it looks surreal! There are several hammams and several small swimming pools. Among them, one amazing swimming pool, outside at 37 degrees with the bottom part in glass meaning that you see the street below you! It's a relaxing place and we had a great time at the Spa

The other + is the breakfast, as it's served in a nice area with quality products. The service was excellent.

The small suggestions (not complaints) we would give are to add a bottle of water in the room and in the gym, as well as towels in the gym area for simple hygiene reasons.

I will definitively go back to this hotel if I go back to Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view. Don't forget your key when you walk outside of your room as it's also y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JusteLaeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Only stayed one night here with my husband, who was attending a conference, but I would love to return. Room (2301) was spacious, modern, very well equipped (2 TVs!) and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was luxurious. Staff are friendly and helpful. As someone who doesn't really like heights I was a bit worried about being on the 23rd floor, but after a short while I got used to it and really enjoyed the wonderful view. There was a little noise from the outside lift which adjoins this room, but it didn't really bother me and I slept very well. Breakfast in the restaurant on the 25th floor was first-class with hot food cooked to order and a varied buffet. Ideal location, on the edge of town, but within walking distance of everything (35 minutes at an average pace to the Inner Harbour). Very nice lunch in the West Coast restaurant on the ground floor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper House

Property: Upper House
Address: 25th Floor Maessans Gata 24, Gothenburg 412 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper House is Gothenburg's newest 5 star hotel with spacious guestrooms and suites located in the city centre. Guests will enjoy excellent service and gourmet dining experience. The hotel includes three floors of Spa & Relax, Turkish Haman and outdoor pool, all included for the Upper House guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing