We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok cheap hotel near city center”
Review of Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Center Hotel
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 12 April 2012

An ok hotel and rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast just ok. The hotel is really small and so is the breakfast room, not enough tables when there are a lot of guests. !0 minute walk to the city center, so the location is good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

An excellent hotel - superb location, smartly furnished, with an extremely nice touch of 24 hour coffee, drinks and cake available! We stayed here for 3 nights. We requested a double bed, which we were given, as opposed to the two single beds pushed together that some other reviewers have mentioned. Our room was quite small but more than enough for our needs, with a very comfortable bed. We kept the window open at night as it was really warm (definitely a good thing given the cold weather outside!) and it was very quiet so no disturbances whatsoever. The shower, as many Swedish hotels seem to be, is separated from the rest of the bathroom only by a shower curtain, meaning the floor can get quite wet but this dried off quickly, and seems to be the norm in this part of the world - not a problem for us! It is good value - Gothenburg seems to be an expensive place for accommodation generally and this is one of the cheaper but by no means less desirable options. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and there was someone around 24 hours. The hotel felt secure; later in the evening you pressed a buzzer to get in, and the rooms themselves had key card systems. The location was absolutely excellent - whilst the setting itself may seem "industrial" as past reviewers have mentioned, it is by the sea front and within walking distance of both the Haga and the Avenyn - ideal. The breakfast finished at 930am which was not always ideal for us as we often stayed out quite late into the evenings, but when we did have it, it was an extensive continental selection with some hot sausages/bacon as well; very good. As I mentioned the best touch for us was the cakes and coffee always available; perfect if you've been out in the cold for a long day and pop back before the evening; and if you're lucky to come back in the late-afternoon early-evening they have waffle-making facilities which was a real treat!

Room Tip: Worth requesting a double bed if you'd prefer that to two singles pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_em1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

At first we passed the entrence to the hotel without noticing it really. Yes it is a small hotel. Everything is small. The reception is just a corridor.The lounge just after the reception is probably the biggest room.
The breakfastrestaurant i small. And the single room was tiny.

Most of the hotel seemed to be well cleaned. But at a closer lok I noticed some well grown in spots of non identifiable substances.

There was acomplimentary bottle(33 cl) of sparkling water in the room. The breakfast included the most common dishes, but nothing special. The hotel was small, fairly clean and relatively cheap for Gothenburg - 810 SKR (80 €) in March 2012. Its quite close to city center and Järntorget area. Also close to the river an Stena Line ferry terminal. I recomend a stay here if you want a quiet place to just sleep in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_i_dag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel has a great location! Its 5mins walk to Haga, the Old Town district with markets and 10 mins to the main city center. The room was comfortable, very clean. Staff were friendly, good breakfast and good value for money. For an easy short stay in Gothenburg, this hotel is recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed for two nights on a business trip and the location was perfect for our needs. A sort walk or even shorter taxi journey into the centre of Gothenburg. The staff were superbly attentive, looking after our camera equipment as we arrived early and also making sure our rooms were ready before the designated check-in time. The room was on the small side but perfectly functional and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was a buffet affair with plenty of options available. The staff also were helpful in organising taxis, directions and their local knowledge was particularly useful.
Overall, good value for money and excellent staff,

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brist0l_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed 1 night. I was arriving around 11pm, no problem with late check-in, administrator at the counter was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, warm, very nice good night sleep. The most surprising and amazing thing was breakfast, different food had labeled about what they contain, etc. First time experiencing something like that.

Very positive hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Perfect location: walking distance to everything and close to tramstations. Free wii-fii, really good breakfast, clean and fresh, friendly staff, comfy rooms. Check-out time saturdays 11.30 and Sundays 12.00. breakfast on Sundays is served until noon which is perfect. Complimentary coffee at all times and when we checked in we could help our selves to waffles. Nice! All and all super good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ike76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,028 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
#24 of 67 in Gothenburg
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Hotel

Address: Stora Badhusgatan 28, Gothenburg SE078, Sweden (Formerly Hotel City Center)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £57 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Gothenburg hotel is located few minutes' walk from the Gota Alv River and Rosenlund Ferry Stop. It offers free Wi-Fi, refreshments all day and waffles in the afternoon. Comfort Hotel City Center's rooms all feature a TV with cable channels and pay-per-view options, along with a work desk and ironing facilities. The hotel's common terrace is a nice spot to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee together with complimentary snacks. Hotel City Center staff can recommend nearby restaurants and cafes. Avenyn, the city's main shopping street, and the historic Haga District are both a 10-minute walk away from Comfort Hotel City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel City Gothenburg
Comfort Hotel Gothenburg
Comfort Inn Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing