We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it !”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #53 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My second time in Gothenburg and my first at the Arena hotel, i hope it's not my last . Loved every minute of it, breakfast was much better than i expected for being a budget hotel and the staff are not only extremely beautifull but really friendly as well as being good at their jobs. The hotel and the rooms are spotlessly clean and in good order. if you are coming to Gothenburg then you should stay at the Arena :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tightscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a fairly basic hotel though having said that the rooms are quite spacious, beds very comfortable and rooms have an enormous TV with loads of channels. There is a breakfast room where you can get juice, fruit and hot drinks 24/7 which is a nice touch. It is in a really good location - 5 min walk from central station where you can get trams and buses, and also within walking distance of the Nordstan shopping centre and the start of the main Avenue in Gothenburg, off which you can find museums and cool streets for wandering, coffee, browsing and shopping. The staff are really friendly and helpful. There is building work during the day but they have signs up about this, and if you are out in the day it is fine!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Another average hotel that will do the job if you need a place to sleep. Location is quite good. Near the central station. Service is friendly and nice. Rooms a bit plain but adequate. Breakfast better than expected when you see the place. For a good price it will be worth the money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a self service hotel and just walking distance from Ullevi Noora tram stoppage. The service at the reception was good and all staff were very friendly. Wifi works well. 24 hours tea and coffee with cookies at the 1st floor. The washroom is not very big, but as its a budget hotel don't expect much. Overall we liked the place and service. If you are carrying big and heavy luggage, you will have to struggle to carry it to the 1st floor, lift is available from the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed there with my family and it is not what we expected at all... very small reception, lot of noise due to some construction nearby... and pretty "spartan" set up...
Location is not that bad (only 8 blocks from the central station), but overall we felt it was not worth the money we paid

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A nice place to stay, 24 hour reception, and beverages and cookies. That was great!!! No kettle in the room but it is not needed. You can take the drink to the room. Slept well and thought the place was clean. it was also very central, about 15 minutes walk from the central bus station. Close to a tram stop on the other side.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Anonymous N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The room I was asigmed is in an extension of the hotel, but working is in progress. Too loud noise since 06:30 and even I reported noise continued. The floor outside my room was awful, carpets in the stairs between floors dirty and old. There were even workers outside my room. They should not accomodate if the instalations are not finished.

Room Tip: Single rooms abre too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#56 of 67 in Gothenburg
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#52 of 67 in Gothenburg
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#63 of 67 in Gothenburg
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 4 Baldersgatan, Gothenburg 411 02, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £70 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Arena Hotel Located in Gothenburg, a 10-minute walk from the Central Train Station, is the family-run Hotel Arena. We offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and free Wi-Fi access. WIFI is available in all areas for free. All rooms at Arena Hotel have private bathrooms with a shower and amenities. A buffet breakfast is served every morning. Free coffee and tea 24 hours. Breakfast is always included in the price. Arena Hotel has a 24 hour front desk. Avenyn shopping street is a 20-minute walk away. Liseberg Amusement Park and the Swedish Trade Fair Center are located one mile from Arena Hotel. Parking and garage are available for 150 SEK per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albelle Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing