We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not the best but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Is not the best and the cleaning is very bad , but has reasonable price and also is located in a good spot, very close to town, few step away from tram, and close to attraction( liseberg ).

I will say for a short trip is ok ,but is convenient to buy when is offer out.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gca009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    55
    46
    23
    11
See reviews for
20
63
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orje, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The receptionists were very kind, and the breakfast was good. The room however was "tired". The table was full of scratches and holes. The closet was partly broken, and there were lots of dust and some old cheeze doodles under the beds. Also a bedlamp was out of order. There were very hot that weekend, and no AC in the room made it very hard to sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torbjorn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is really quiet fantastic. Get on number 3 tube (to kebab shop), this drops you literally 30 seconds away from hotel. From outside looks a little drab but do not let this put you off. We found the room clean and tidy and had great nights sleep every night in a comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent, selection of meats,cheese,museli,fruit, egg and bacon. Coffee and juices on tap 24x7. The staff could not be more helpful and you were greeted with a smile, nothing was too much bother. There is a Co-op just round corner and the locals seem to picnic at the cemetery so do take a wander. Everything is a tram ride away but you are far enough away from the hubbub.

Room Tip: room at back of hotel, noise free after dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a buget hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. However, do not expect any special detail as they are pretty basic. Breakfast is also basic but enough. It is a good option to stay a few days in Göteborg under budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorresDeOeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel which is close to central station, just 10 minutes walk to the major shopping mall. The hotel room is clean, tidy, with sitting area and comfortable. Besides, the breakfast is with variety of foods. Really recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Astra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is about 10-15 minutes walk from central station. It is near the Arena and so if there is a gig going on it is very noisy, When we were there (May31st 3 nights) There was a festival on (so I would check).
Staff were friendly and helpful, Good, buffet breakfast available and beds comfy. Building work going on nearby but not at weekends. It was overpriced when I booked but it was a busy weekend and not much availability else where, Wooden floors meant we could hear the person above moving around

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank PamOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a lovely time at the Arena Hotel. From the outside it looked quite deceptive but as soon as you walked in, things changed. The staff was very friendly, I needed a charger for my phone (as mine wasn't working properly) and i got one right away. The room was more than ok (there are construction works at the roundabout but if you plan to stay for the weekend you will not hear any noise). Breakfast was substantial... Free coffee and fruit all day long and free waffles from 5pm till 9am! What can you ask more?
Perfect location, Ullevi Norra tram stop is literally 2 minutes round the corner and the
3 can take you anywhere :) Central Station is less than 10 minutes walk (if you have to) and the beautiful gardens are literally 5 minutes away. Liseberg is 5 minutes on the 6 tram.
I would recommend it to everybody and I will definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bantha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#53 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: 4 Baldersgatan, Gothenburg 411 02, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Arena Hotel Located in Gothenburg, a 10-minute walk from the Central Train Station, is the family-run Hotel Arena. We offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and free Wi-Fi access. WIFI is available in all areas for free. All rooms at Arena Hotel have private bathrooms with a shower and amenities. A buffet breakfast is served every morning. Free coffee and tea 24 hours. Breakfast is always included in the price. Arena Hotel has a 24 hour front desk. Avenyn shopping street is a 20-minute walk away. Liseberg Amusement Park and the Swedish Trade Fair Center are located one mile from Arena Hotel. Parking and garage are available for 150 SEK per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albelle Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing