We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cheery and well located”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is, I think, the eighth hotel in Gothenburg that I have stayed in over the years and, taking all factors into account, it is probably the best overall so far though it lacks the quirkiness of the Lilton which I like. The staff all seem to be awfully young and have that friendly formality that is typical of Swedes; I was greeted by a big “Välkommen” on my arrival. The hotel is smallish (it is not quite as small as it first seems) and has recently been refurbished (I was told by a local that until a few years ago it had quite a dodgy reputation) so everything feels and looks new and fresh. It describes itself as a “design” hotel which I feel is stretching the definition of design a bit far though it has a few interesting features including a lovely internal terrasse when you can hide with your book.

The bed was firm and comfortable and the room clean and functional apart from the desk chair on which you are well advised to put a cushion before you place any part of your anatomy on it. The plumbing, in my room at least, was eccentric in that part of the bathroom floor flooded temporarily when I pulled the plug out of the bath leaving me with one soggy bath mat, but on the plus side they provide facecloths which is always a sign of a hotel that understands what travellers need. The breakfast is standard for a small hotel though the Flora’s idea of hot milk is what most other people would call tepid at best.

One important point. The front of the hotel is adjacent to a tram/bus stop which is quite noisy so if you are a light sleeper you should ask for a room at the back. I am willing to put up with the noise in exchange for a nice view of the park, but that won’t suit everybody.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is close to a tram stop and quite noisy - particularly early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed few days in Flora during a business trip to Gothenburg. The hotel staff was really friendly and everything went smoothly. It is quite small hotel, which makes it also feel more personal. Interiors have a feeling of 'design hotel', but I wouldn't call this a real design hotel.

For business purposes this was a really nice experience, it doesn't feel like a chain hotel and has a personal twist. I could also see this hotel being a nice place for couples and even for small families. For example there were really nice cafes and shopping streets just behind the hotel.

The rooms we stayed were quite small, but worked really well. Especially the bathrooms were spacious and very usable. I could easily see myself going there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perttu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here two nights to explore Gothenburg and loved this little design hotel. Chose the "pink room" and felt right at home :) Very good service, both in the reception and in the breakfast/bar area. The location cannot be better and you can walk to any part of the city center. Great breakfast.

There is no parking outside the hotel for more than some hours. So you need to park in a indoor car park some minutes by walking away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ASAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Flora for my husband's birthday. The breakfast was plentiful, fresh and tasty. The welcome was good, with extremely helpful staff. The room was very comfortable, clean and Scandinavian decor - no minibar, but instead 24/7 room service for food and drinks. Because its a slightly smaller hotel, it has a lovely feel to it, and the service is great. It is right by the canal, Avenyn, Kungsportsplatsen tram/bus stop where the airport bus drops you off! 10-15 mins walk to everywhere! I would certainly stay again! Lovely picture windows at the front to enjoy your evening beer and watch the canal and world go by.

Room Tip: We chose XL room - definitely nice to have extra space. Ask for a room at the front for views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This little hotel is a gem. It's in a great location, walkable to all the places I needed to be. Breakfast was nice and you have the option to get a small version delivered to your room for free. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the staff so super helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Gnat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is excellent. The breakfast, location, decor of the rooms, service, staff, internet, cleanness are excellent. My only complain is that they do not offer mini fridge at the rooms. This hotel changed my bad perception about hotels in Gothenburg. In the past, I had very bad experience with a Hotel called NYA Varvet (what a bad hotel) but the Hotel Flora changed my opinion. Very good hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nivea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. If you come here by car, park the car in the "Pedagogen" parking garage, before walking to the hotel. Otherwise you have to drive a bit around town, because of different one way streets and pedestrian areas. It is a short 5 min walk from the garage, and easy if you do not have to much luggage. We really liked the location of the hotel, a short walk to a cinema, many restaurants and shopping. The room we had was really good, good beds and bedding. The breakfast is very good, with a lot of nice bread to choose from and lot of different cold cuts and cheeses.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,038 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#38 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: 2 Groensakstorget, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £90 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flora is a family owned four star hotel located in the center of Gothenburg. 67 rooms all designed for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing