We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Funky and clean, with spa bath in room. Good central location, would go back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyglobetrotterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    255
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
79
447
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed in superior room with my daugther of 18. Arrived early (12) but were allowed to check in at once. Big plus and a good start! Room was lovely, interior and colours well designed. We even had a hot tub in our bedroom. Bed lovely and room quiet even though right in the city center. Spectacular outdoor pool at 8th floor, allowing you to swim "outside" the building. Reception area, corridors and indoor breakfast room felt a bit too small and dark to my liking (particularly the corridors). With nice summer weather we had breakfast outside, so weren't bothered by it really. Very nice selection, with high quality tea(!). Location of hotel could not be more perfect for a city break, right opposite the foodmarket "Saluhallen". Plenty of shops, restaurant and bars at your doorstep. The hotel bar seemed popular. Would definitely recommend the hotel and stay here again at a later visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the end of a trip around Scandinavia.

We booked via Hotels.com and the room description was Room with a Bath, it was the more expensive option but we'd travelled a long way and a bath sounded good!

We were not disappointed, the bath turned out to be a jacuzzi bath, fantastic!, the flat screen tv could be turned from facing the bed to facing the bath so a real relaxing treat. Tea and Coffee in the room, a huge safe with a plug so you can easily fit in a laptop and charge it.

As per most of these style rooms, the toilet/bedroom divide is a door that leaves a gap, also there is no screen for the shower and as its really powerful you can get the floor very wet quickly, we had to get new towels after one day because we had to mop up the flood on the floor!

There is a pull out clothes wire in the toilet/shower room - very handy.

The breakfast good but it wasn't the best ever (described by Rough guide) and when we arrived at about 10am Friday morning it was packed, however the next morning when we arrived at about 8am it was fine. Room service was limited in choice but the burger was excellent and as per everywhere in Scandinavia, getting gluten free bread was no problem.

The pool was tiny, we went up to have a look, it is also only available 12-6pm I think the penthouse suite has the area the rest of the time as the hotel advertises a room with a pool. I imagined a bar and terrace and small pool but there was no bar just a few tables, some sun loungers and a pool about 3-4m square'ish.

Gothenburg looked nice, it was raining on our day there and I had a shocking cold after our travels so we took a walk to the harbour and up to the art gallery, the hotel is very central to everything, the street is busy with people sitting at the restaurants and cafes and there is an indoor market next door. The windows are great at soundproofing though if you prefer.

Parking is valet, only took us 2 times round to get to the hotel, it looks like you can't drive down there but its fine to get to the hotel, just stop outside and they will park for you.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssparklesboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for a night in the beginning of June. We had a nice room with a bathtub just beside the bed! The beds were comfy though a little too soft pillows for me. The hotel has a cool design and the rooftop pool was nice even it´s pretty small. Perfect location and nice staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaistockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed 4 nights. Hard to fault this hotel.  Very spacious room. Excellent bathroom with a deep bath and power shower.  Free wifi in the room.  Excellent breakfast included.  Free bike rental. Excellent location in the city. Only complaint, twin bed instead of double, crazy prices in the hotel bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiloconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Hotel location was great the staff where nice and food was good the restraunt and bar and out side area where very nice although the buffet was a bit crowded in the mornings at breakfast. But the big disappointment was the room. we paid extra for a superior double room it was sold as an extra spacious room but when we open the door it is one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in, there was defiantly not room for two people and what made matters worst was they had put a large chair in the room in front of the fold out desk if you wanted to use the desk you would have to put the lounge chair out in the hall way so that you could get the fold away chair from the walldrobe to sit at the desk. there big selling point was the hotel had a certificate for its feng shui well I can tell you it was not a carm experience in this room with two people .Do not pay extra for this room (20 on the 5th floor )as it really is not worth it. The bathroom was big but a waste of space for the size of the room. the pool was only open 12 to 6pm. We will not stay again as I feel we where conned into pay extra for nothing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aglane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was a final 2 night stop for our Scandinavian holiday in July and the Avalon was a fabulous place to stay. It is right in the heart of the city and close to all the major sights, shops, cafes and restuarants. The staff were pleasant and very efficient and the hotel oozed style from the lobby, the lifts, the signage, the iconic swedish furnture etc. Our room was large and had a superb bathroom and great shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and you are given a choice of pillows. Other nice touches were bathrobes, an ironing board, a safe, tea and coffee set and slippers. The room was quiet and very clean - very little to fault.
As for the breakfast it was the best i've ever had in a hotel and i've had quite a few! The choice is superb and you can fill up for the day - hot dishes with scrambled egg excellent and cold dishes including smoked salmon, variety of cold meats, cheeses, fruit and pastries together with superb bread and crispbreads etc.
Just one negative - the hotel assumes that everybody now travels with their own computer...wrong we would have liked to have seen some PCs available in the public areas. We were told we could use the one at the Concierge's desk in the lobby which wasn't convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing