We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location excellent service!”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a veryyyy long overdue review actually from Dec 2010.
Had a great one night stay exploring my own city for my husband's birthday.
Rooms were clean and excellent location. Only downside was we could hear the noise from people partying at a club nearby, we checked in Friday night. Our room was facing "Saluhallen".
Receptionist was courteous enough to ask how our stay was so far when we were about to have breakfast (excelleny breakfast indeed!) so I mentioned about the noise.
She was so sorry to hear that and said we could've asked to be moved to a room higher up but replied we felt it was unnecessary to go through that mess packing and moving since we were only spending the night.
After checking out I left my luggage at the reception since we were going to shop before going home.
When I got home and unpack my bag I found a sorry note from the management and a complimentary soap from Bvlgari.
That's what I call customer care! Way to go Avalon!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mystiquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was a great hotel with great rooms and beds and everything up to standard. The service was great and the location is just great! The breakfast was nothing special they could have had some fresh bread rolls and a better selection of cheese!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VispHafnarfjordur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Avalon for my birthday and I can only say it was faultless. A superb location with trendy, clean rooms with exceptional staff. We experienced some of the best service we have ever had and I cannot recommend this place highly enough - there is very little point staying anywhere else. Simply book, relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDezza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at Avalon Hotel.

We are so glad to read that your stay at Avalon did meet your expectations. We do look forward to welcome you back to us next time you are visiting Gothenburg.

Have a nice day!

Regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Avalon is a good hotel, the rooms are not very big, but they are confortable.
The decor is VERY modern!
Service is very good

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Hi,

Thank you for your nice review of Avalon. Welcome back to us, in a bigger room :).

Have a nice day.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Managar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent service, location is fantastic, great rooms... Unfortunately, it was a little chilli for the rooftop pool...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I just spent 4 nights at the Avalon Hotel in Gothenburg, Sweden and it was, without a doubt, the BEST stay I've had at any hotel in Scandinavia - and, in fact, maybe anywhere. And I've been to some pretty amazing places around the globe.

Artful, amazing design
The NICEST, MOST ACCOMMODATING PEOPLE WORK THERE!
The amenities in the rooms - huge deep bathtubs, gorgeous views, hot water pots with
assorted teas - they try to please you, not rip you off
Classy, kind, friendly, smart, dedicated, wonderful people
Great location - just off the main road. Everythingyou need right next door
Beautiful shops and funky fun ones
Nice food and taverns
Just the best, best, best experience ever!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms there! A number of my colleagues stayed here and we were all totally satisfi...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melinda311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to read that you are pleased with your stay here at Avalon Hotel.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit Gothenburg.

Have a great week.

Best Regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here in July 2011 for 3 nights for a conference. Having been guided to this hotel by other favourable Tripadviser reviews I wasn't dissapointed. The hotel is fashionably fitted out and themed, the staff are courteous and helpful and the breakfasts were fantastic. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £151 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing