We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel. Good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel. Good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. wish it had been longer. Lovely room, very comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent buffet breakfast.
The location is good, lots of coffee shops, bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk.
Didn't have time to try the roof top pool but it looked good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz160764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    255
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
81
451
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you're taking a city break in Gothenburg then this place is ideal. Great location, fun decor, delicious breakfast (one of the best I have ever had) and super stylish. Makes for something different to the typical business hotels. Restaurants and shops on your doorstep. Dinner a bit pricey but oh, so tasty! We took our 8 month old. Room a bit cramped with the cot, buggy and luggage but we got by. Certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahgoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Gi family stayed in two terrace suits for three nights. Great location, great design, nice bar and restaurant. The concierge style parking was full on our first night, OK the next two nights.

The suites are roomy and well-appointed, interesting furniture, a fantastic bathroom. The alarm clock was on the other side of the room. The TV has no films or pay per view. Internet access was included and issued as a pass code per device at check-in.

The included Breakfast buffet was great in choice and quality, but understaffed so lots of waiting around. Dinner and bar scene great.

The small roof pool is a sight in and of itself, sticking out over the edge of the building but the water was cold. Access to the pool is limited to daytime hours 12:00 - 18:00.

None of the suites have adjoining doors (available on other rooms though), and the hotel only allows two guests per room. In our case it resulted in one room being unused. The cleaning cart was parked outside during most of daytime - practical but unsightly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Kungstorget ahve better views. Rooms facing Vallgatan are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Gi_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Have stayed for the second time at Hotel Avalon in gothenburg ,Sweden and as the first time our stay was great and the service is just topclass!!!
I recomend this hotel for everyone and it is godd for both buisiness as romance.
The locaction is as good as possible it could be and the staff is so friendly and kind.

I will come back!!

Regards
Mr Ola Andreasson
Sweden

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

IF you want a quiet, conventional hotel then do not book here. If you want an artfully designed hotel in the heartbeat of the city; this is the place to be. We came here for the two night Springsteen concert at Ullevi. The hotel was a 15 minute stroll along a beautiful canal to the stadium. The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure a lovely visit. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the lively plaza below with bars and restaurants, but when we shut the window, it was perfectly quiet. And the breakfast was top notch too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at the Avalon for 3 nights in July 2012. Staff was incredibly helpful, breakfasts were great, and the location is perfect for seeing all of Gothenburg. Room and toilet were very up-to-date with good amenities. No central business PC, but the staff were happy to allow use of the lobby PC. Only drawback to our stay was the lack of air conditioning. Gothenburg was warm and rainy w/ high humidity during our stay. Windows did open which is a plus, but the street noise was loud enough to impact a good nights sleep. The hotel did provide a fan which did help, but the windows had to be kept open to keep the room comfortable. In spite of all this, I would return.

J Diedrich

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed for two nights in one of First Hotel Avalon's open bath rooms. Right off the bat, I have to say the room layout is cool: very unique but still functional. Not only can you lie in the tub and watch TV, you can even see the TV from the toilet (if you leave the door open) or via the mirror at the sink when brushing you teeth! The room as well as the rest of the hotel are absolutely beautiful, with quality materials throughout.

The rooftop pool, which partly hangs over the edge of the building is also worth a visit, as you can see down through the glass floor. It's not big enough for swimming though, and oddly only open from noon until 6 pm.

There is, however, a lot the hotel could do to go from great to excellent: Get a bigger TV with a digital signal; install a shower curtain so you don't splash down the toilet area; install a fitted tissue box instead of the flimsy paper one on the sink; make sure all lamps work; install lights in the closet; and skip the pseudo-science that is feng shui. One thing they probably can't fix is the pub noise from across the street.

All in all, First Hotel Avalon is a stunning design hotel, and you will probably not find anything better in Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor to get away from the noise from the many restaurants in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing