We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience and wonderful room”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Avalon was genuinely one of the nicest and best hotels we have ever stayed in! We booked a superior room and were lucky to be upgraded to a special room with a round bed! The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

The hotel has a wonderful rooftop pool with a glass side and partly glass bottom which is really fun to use ( if you are not frightened of looking down!)

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and we loved seeing the amazing art throughout the hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicatje1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

It´s a lovely bed isn´t it. Glad you enjoyd your stay and for your review, your opinion is important to us. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Avalon is definitely my favorite hotel of the 20-or-so hotels I have visited in Sweden,.

The room is just perfect. It's very well designed, and definitely exceeds expectations. The Dux bed and bed sheets of egyptian cotton are amazing. We stayed in a Superior room, which is highly recommended (the bathroom was nicely integrated in the room).

The only thing to complain about is that the night life is quite loud outside, when you stay on a Saturday (2nd floor). But that did not keep us from a perfect night's sleep.

The breakfast buffet was not the best I've had, but still great.

This hotel is simply very, very much recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you like our hotel so much and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Fab location, 10 minute walk from central station, 10 minute walk from Sticky Fingers music venue - perfect! We were able to check in early after arriving on a morning flight, room was clean, comfortable and the balcony was lovely to watch the world go by below us. Bathroom was beautiful, great shower but best was the comfortable bed and pillows - PLEASE CAN THE HOTEL TELL ME THE THREAD COUNT OF THE PILLOW CASES??? The reception staff were very helpful and kindly looked after our bags when we checked out as we didn't need to go to the airport until the evening - thank you! Lovely breakfast kept us full all day :-) Surrounding area was great, lots of shops, restaurants and the port all within walking distance. We will definitely be back if we decide to see a band at Sticky Fingers again, which is highly likely! Thank you :-)

Room Tip: choose high floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatnDave72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing Coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

KatDav7, Thank you for your review. Our beds are fantastic aren't they, and the lovely pillow case is made of Egyptian cotton from Silkesbolaget. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This review is based on a stay in a Deluxe Panorama Room, with splendid view over Kungstorget in Göteborg and spacious room. Standard rooms will not be like this.

The room was about 35 sqm, with two toilets and both shower and bathtub. From celing to roof there were windows and we ha a perfect view of all the activities on Kungstorget. Of course, during daytime people outside could not see in. There were also a nice, very little balcony. You could stand there, but there were not enough room for a chair.

You can book rooms with the bathtub placed in the living area of the room, we choose a room with a regular bathroom. The kingsize bed was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel and there were plenty of pillows to choose from. In the room there were all the extras you need: slippers, dressing gown, kettle, tea and cofee for free, water for free, hairblower etc. The minibar was a nice surprise with small bottles of Veuve Cliquot and Möet Chandon.

Pluss for the jogging-map in every room. Shows three different routes in the area near the hotel.

The breakfast had all the food we are used too. Nice selection of cheese was a pluss and the non-alchol champagne. Also pluss for a selction of vitamines, superfood-shots and painkillers.

In the summetime the terrace on top of the hotel is open. Nice view over the surronding area and a bit of a show-off to swim "in the air" above Kungstorget.

To stay in the hotel is an experience in it self. The design, architecture, interior are well planned and the hotel is Feng-Shui certified. In the hotelroom there are table-books about the desing-prosess and their philosophy.

When you wake up and go to breakfast in the morning, the green flossy carpet on the sides of the corridor looks like grass and you hear birds singing.


The hotel is situated at Kungtorget, its 10-15 minutes walk from the central station, near the hotel, 3 minutes walk to the busy strees Avenyen, 3 minutes to the botanical garden, 1 minute walk to the sightseeingboat "Paddan" - basically as "middle of town" as you can get.
It is gayfriendly and next neighbour to the popular rainbow restaurant/bar BeeBar.

And please order a drink/cocktail in the Avalon bar. It takes forever, you can see how pasionate and caring they are for every drink they make, and it tastes like heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are really glad you enjoyd your stay and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great location, a lot of good restaurants and shopping nearby. We stayed in one of the rooms with a bathtub and it was clean, nicely decorated and stylish. The breakfast was very good and Served until 10.30 pm. (We stayed at the weekend). Friendly staff! I'm looking forward until our next stay;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellinoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hi, Thanks for the lovely feedback and off course for the 5 star review, we are so happy!
Great pleasure to have you staying at Avalon Hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is bigger than a boutique, but more personal than a chain. Great staff, especially the maintenance guy who is at your service for valet parking, technical questions and anything the reception, equally lovely, can't do for you.
Breakfast is excellent! The staff super friendly (in comparison to when they serve lunch) and the rooms are nice. Single rooms are overpriced, the double supreme ones are great. It is loud facing the street though, so if you want peaceful quiet nights, this may not be the hotel for you. If you want fun and trendy, the Avalon certainly is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSFrankfurt_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay at our Avalon Hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and It would be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Avalon has lots of style, it’s own style, and the location is outstanding in the middle of Gothenburg.

Designerhotels can be a bit odd or overdone. This is only odd, but basically I like it after three visits. And the quality of everything in the room is great, especially the bed but also all the furniture. And there is a Bang & Olufsen sound system in the room, at least the big room I had last time. Might have been a suite, as it was far bigger than the other two times and had wall to wall and floor to ceiling windows towards the square.

It has its own bar with big, outside serving zone right in the “right” place in Gothenburg.

The hotel even had wallet parking, a rarity in Scandinavia. Presumable expensive.

The buffet breakfast is very good – and it even has two baskets with vitamin pills, fish oil capsules and painkillers!

The hotel is quite pricy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Torben A,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay at our Avalon Hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the time you spent in our hotel and It would be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg SE-411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £128 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing