We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our experience was mixed and did not coincide with the overwhelmingly positive reviews given elsewhere.

It is ideally located. The staff are extremely efficient.
Our room was on the small side, but not to the point of discomfort. The storage space was excellent and the air conditioning effective. The room had tea and coffee making facilities - these are not mentioned on the website, but ought to be as they are always an asset. The beds were comfortable - the one of us who likes to be tightly wrapped up in bedlinen found the duvet to be too small, but an extra duvet was quickly supplied to provide the sought after cocoon.

The bathroom had a shower, but no bath - pay more and you get a bigger room and bathroom with bath - but the shower was good. The bathroom was sensibly lit. The shower door (room 5.26) gave out a horror haunted house screech every time it was moved.

The hotels decor was, I suppose, part of the "design" concept, but some of it felt very much applied from without rather than integral. On the mezzanine seating area there was a shagpile carpet. The same carpet was cut into strips and stuck along skirting boards - it looked silly. The not-very-well-drawn dayglo nude women portraits are a mistake. If the hotel has a Feng Shui award, that is something to be proud of - but in my opinion actually displaying it in the lift brings an ostentation which goes against Feng Shui. The lighting in the bedroom was atmospheric, but made reading at night very difficult for older people. As you get older, you need more and more light in order to be able to see things clearly. The television was high on the wall and so difficult to view comfortably. There was some noise from both the adjacent road and the room above, though not a great deal.

The breakfast - in my experience of breakfasts in 5 star hotels - was disappointing. The variety of prepared fruit was less than I expect and wasn't really "prepared" i.e. big chunks of pineapple and melon with lots of skin to cut off. The variety of cereal was limited. The hot food was on the cool side of warm, though this is an almost universal problem in hotels which park sausages, bacon etc in those lift-up stainless steel compartments. The range of bread and rolls was limited and the preserves which usually accompany them were on the other side of the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-am-not-Robin-Hood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing Coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience, opinions like yours are very important to us and are treated with utmost respect. Off curse we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    245
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
78
437
51
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Excellent hotel, great location and good service. It's close to everything, I like the food in the restaurant, good wine list in the bar. Quiet and effective service. Nice beds, loved the bathroom. The design is subtle but ever-present and it feels luxurious.

Room Tip: Spend some extra and get a room with a view over Kungsportsplatsen. Cool and spectacular view over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing Coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your nice rewiev. We hope to welcome you back sometime.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
298 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My 2nd visit here after my last review, and I came back. Of course I came back after I was upgraded on my first visit to Room 1 the Penthouse Suite. But that was not the only reason I came back again.
Sadly this time no upgrade but still the whole experience at Avalon, from the friendly greeting on reception to the comfort of the room as well as the great location in the city means that this will remain my hotel of choice for all visits to Gothenburg. Thank you and keep up the good work, please don't change!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear GorillaFoot,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
Absolutely delighted to receive your feedback and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have off course shared them with all our employees.

The Avalon staff is already looking forward to your next visit in Gothenburg and we all hope to have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next stay.
Welcome back! All your friends at Avalon Hotel in Gothenburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Enjoyed a Thursday evening with the wife. Very busy in the city at the time but we got upgraded to a room on the 6th floor. Fast check in, friendly staff. Room had great views and great decor. The bathroom was spotless and really well laid out, you could relax in the bath and look out over the city. Highly recommended to stay there. Did not try the outdoor terrace pool as was too cold in the late September time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wozza_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing Coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay. We are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Avalon Hotel certainly deserves its high rating. I cannot praise the staff enough for going the extra mile to make our stay a special one, down to picking up our rental car from where we´d left it and parking it in the hotel. The breakfast was one of the best I´ve ever had in a hotel, the room is designer-chic and very welcoming. I´d recommend it, despite its price tag.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing Coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Tyou for your review. It pleases us that you had a pleasant stay. Especially pleased over the positive s remarks you gave our staff. And thank you for sharing your experience and your kind recommendation. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We had a good stay though it is pricey for what you get. The shower curtains are a bit natty and could easily be replaced by a screen or a wet floor shower room. Some toiletries are provided but no conditioner so be warned! I had to go and by some. Staff were really helpful and the rooms were very clean though the writing desk was broken and a lamp didn't work. The rooftop pool was fun! Breakfast was fine, nothing to write home about but perfectly acceptable. I'd probably not stay here again, mainly because I didn't feel we got value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keyora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing Coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your interesting and comprehensive review. Opinions like yours are important to us and we hope to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

When travelling to Gothenburg you must stay her. Perfect situation in central city of Gothenburg. Perfect staff! They are always so nice and helpful. The hotel has a very nice restaurant and bar where local people meet in the afternoon. In summer time you can swin in the pool on the roof facing the square. I can only find two weak points. No fitness facilities in the hotel and the televisionssets are a little old in the rooms.

Room Tip: All dobbelrooms are excellent but the singelrooms they might be to small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akessonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen1, Marketing Coordinator at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are delighted that especially our bar, restaurant & friendly staff were to your liking. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing