We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great facilities and rooms. Excellent location near shopping and restaurant area. Very nice restaurant facilities and food (had only breakfast there). Great selection of drinks with nice atmosphere in lounges and the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for bath tub in room - great to relax after a long day in the tub located in the middle of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Bigfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
2Bigfeet,

5 of 5 possible, we say many thanks! Lovely that you enjoyed with us and appreciated our hotel, restaurant and bar. We are constantly working with the entire experience, it's great when we succeed!
Hope to see you soon again, welcome!

Mia - Marketing department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    279
    50
    22
    6
See reviews for
99
502
59
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived having booked a deluxe room only to find we had been allocated in a standard room. A wave of disappointment and a trip back to reception and we found ourselves quickly upgraded to the most beautiful suite. Fantastic room, great balcony overlooking Gothenburg and the action but most of all the staff member handled the situation beautifully smoothly without making us feel a nuisance in any way.
The hotel bar was great for late night cocktails with extremely knowledgeable and friendly bar staff.
Great design hotel and very friendly.

If I had any small complaint it was that there seemed to be insufficient staffing on reception.

Room Tip: It is worth stretching to a deluxe room or suite, not least because it puts you nearer to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Lynne B,
Lovely that we could arrange your booking so that the disappointment did not last, we always work with the goal to have satisfied guests. Lovely that you got on with us, we sincerely hope to welcome you back to us at the Avalon Hotel.
Thanks for the great feedback,

Sincerely

Mia - Marketing department Avalon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Wow! Wow! Wow!

Just got back from the beautiful city of Goteborg - after watching my son play in the Gothia Cup.

Hotel was perfect in every way. Designer inspired rooms. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Superb location. Unbelievable roof terrace. Awesome pool.


There cannot be a better place to stay.

Loved it.

You won't be disappointed.

GO GOTEBORG - GO AVALON

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianGrey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
ChristianGrey69,
5 out of 5, wow! We thank you kindly for a great feedback! Hope it went well for your son in the Gothia Cup:-)

Welcome back to us, we looking forward!

Kind regards

Mia - Marketing department @Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our welcome wasn't very nice, the room wasn't ready even at 3 (finally at 3:30) and the reception staff left a bad impression. They also didn't seem very eager to change this impression later during our stay.

Fortunately though the hotel itself was very nice! The location was excellent, we liked our room, breakfast was great and plentiful.

The room had a very nice view towards the market hall. It was one of the rooms with bathtub in the room. Overall nice, could be a bit bigger though. Well equipped, modern and in good shape.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, but keep your expectations low regarding the reception staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dansku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dansku,
Thanks for your feedback here on TripAdvisor, it means a lot to us, and helps us to constantly deliver a wonderful experience for our guests. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, the design, comfort and especially our breakfast. However, it is very sad to read that the hospitality at our front desk did not meet your expectations, it's obviously not our goal. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, and then show us from our best side even when it comes to our level of service at the reception.

Sincerely

Mia - Marketing department @Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely bright room with loads of space to move around. Complimentary slippers, bath soaps, bottled water and chocolates which are a nice touch.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful

Location is perfect for getting to know the city, Right in the town centre, within walking distance of main attractions, trams and restaurants.

Only disappointment was that the pool is only open between 12pm and 6pm - You do ask yourself what use is that to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear KateJenn,

Thanks for your feedback here on Trip Advisor for the Avalon Hotel, lovely that you liked our hotel. The reason for our roof pool opening hours are that to other times of the day is reserved for our guests in our Penthouse Suite.

Hope we can welcome you as our guest again soon!

Best regards

Mia - Marketingdepartment @Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Avalon is a great hotel, from arrival to departure the service was top-notch. Bright rooms with blackout curtains so sleeping through the Swedish summer nights is not a problem. The bed, breakfast and the location in the middle of the city was superb.

Will come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear PerP,
Wow 5 out of 5, and perhaps the best hotel you ever stayed in! We are delighted, thanks! Hope to welcome you back, the sooner the better!

Sincerely

Mia at Marketingdepartment @Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Avalon Hotel is without question the best located hotel I've ever stayed in. The bus from the airport drops you directly opposite and that is only a taste of its central locale to the city of gothenburg. Seriously folk the hotel is walking distance to everything and is slam bam in the middle of it all but in a good way. It is super quiet in your room but from your window you can see all the action, the super cool eateries, the hipster shops and the beautiful swedes. The room is a great size, plenty of room and well appointed but top billing has to go to the super comfortable bed and the three deliciously cosy pillows. The staff were super helpful as well, so all in all we really rated this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknadsavdelningen, Informationsansvarig at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Bella2767,
Thank you for your lovely review, lovely that you feel comfortable with us at the Avalon Hotel! Welcome back,

Sincerely

Mia - Marketingdepartment @Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
797 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing