We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Firsltly the location is terrible,next to a industrial area and it takes a long time to go to the city centre .Secondly the service is very bad and the rooms are terribly small. Thirdly the hotel is very expensive for example it cost 590 Sek or 88 Dollars to access the pool area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrodiArnason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    109
    62
    27
    5
See reviews for
30
105
8
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Don't know about the hotel as I only went to the spa, but the interior is fantastic.
The spa department is really nice, warm pools, Jacuzzi's, light therapy rooms etc.
Staff where friendly and helpful.

We had a spa package with brunch. When we entered the brunch area there where no staff in sight. We waited for a little while but as no one appeared we just took the first available table near the windows. We had already paid for the food so we where just about to grab a plate and get some chow from the buffet. Then the head waiter entered.
We where told that we couldn't sit by the window (in a quite rude manner) as they hadn't made those tables. Almost every other table in the designated area was pre-booked and we didn't want to sit next to the buffet. How hard would it have been for him to put out 2 glasses and a bottle of water (that was what the setting consisted of)?
Later on another guy asked the waiter what the soup was made of, he had no clue and had to ask another waiter. Considering there where about 15 different dishes in the starter buffet (and they probably are the same every day), how hard would it be to remember which soup is served? Especially when you want to give the impression of upper class.
He also laughed in an loud, irritating and an bully type way when people asked him questions, which I do not find fitting in a restaurant of that class.
When people entered the restaurant to be greeted by the other waitress, they where told that the main course buffet was further away, something that our waiter didn't tell us, so we almost missed it. Main course was cod with potato, cod was fine, but kinda bland.

So all in all; probably a great hotel, very nice spa, bland food and moron head waiter.

This place is located far from the city center, I'd suspect that their guests mostly consist of business people visiting one of the Volvo plants or people (like us) that lives in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floatpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed for business at this hotel. The decor is nice and stylish, especially reception area is warm and welcoming.
Rooms are of ok size, tea and coffee facilities were nice. Cleaning was not satisfactory and there is obviously much noise from the trucks entering harbour area.
I have attended some conferences at this hotel, and these facilities are good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annans7Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We book a spa weekend with a dinner and one hotel night. We really enjoyed the spa. A bit noisy and crowded on the Saturday (I think it would be good to loose the jacuzzi for a more relaxing environment). Nice with three outdoor saunas and an outdoor pool. One hot pool upstairs together with a couple of different saunas and steam rooms (nicely sentenced with cinnamon and eucalyptus). nice relaxing areas on the first floor. A good selection of complementary tea, water, fruits and dried fruit. Very good vegetarian dinner in the evening. Nice breakfast buffet.

Rooms are small but nice. I wouldn't stay here if I were visiting Gothenburg (it's in the harbour far from the city center) or had a lot of bags with me. But for a spa weekend or a conference it's ok. I personally liked the mix of ruff dock surroundings and luxury spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akagbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, NC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is also a spa with many different options (massage, steam rooms, etc.). If you plan on going there and not anywhere else, I would highly suggest it. However, it is located near the port of Gothenburg and there is not much else around. Getting to the city center via taxi will cost $60+ one way due to the distance.

The rooms are extremely small compared to United States standards. The beds were comfortable and the wireless worked well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drobjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel is located way outside Goteborg, and it will cost you about 30 euro one way to go downtown. There is absolutely nothing to do around, except if you are there on business. The area is industrial, and all you see are huge trade ships, trains with various wagons and stuff like that. You cannot even get close to the port since it's all locked around.

Rooms are extremely small, it's impossible to move around for 2 people with 2 luggages. We were lucky though since the reception upgraded us to the suite. The suite is twice as large as a standard room, but still does not fall under a definition of a "suite". Breakfast was good, but other food options are very poor, there is nothing to eat after 9-10 pm except for some cold sandwiches from the reception shop. There are flies all over the food, which is unacceptable.

Everything in the hotel is for extra charge. They call is a SPA hotel but offer no discounts or offers for those who actually pay for the room to stay in the hotel. They do not offer the option of showing you around the spa since it is disturbing to other people. How can you decide then if you wanna try the spa or not??

The hotel is marked as 3 stars on websites, but the actual hotel considers itself as 4 stars. Hard to believe!!! They don't even offer shampoo/shower gel/body lotion, all they offer is an all-body shower gel. The bed is very comfortable though.

The lobby is large and nicely decorated, but overall the place is quite depressing. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone, there are much more options in downtown Goteborg.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or a suite. Otherwise all rooms are extremely small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savenich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel along the port of Goteborg has recently been upgraded within the past few years. Today, although the rooms may be small, they are efficient. The size of the hotel can be misleading since most of the building is built into the rocky coast. For starters, I would ask for a room that overlooks the port. Here you can see the ships that dock in Goteborg, and mostly you can see the Volvo Logistics at work. The almost daily transporting of Cars, Trucks going all over the world. For cocktails I would suggest sitting outside the bar area, where there is an open fire pit as you stare into the sunset over the archipelago. Goteborg has been dubbed by many critics as the 'cuisine capital of Scandinavia'. Other hotel amenities include a nice steam, and sauna - of course, where else do you find good saunas, but in Scandinavia. One thing to remember, this hotel is located in Arken, which is basically across the river from all the main attractions. I would suggest staying on this side if you look for peace and quiet. One can always drive about 3 minutes over to Eriksberg and take the local ferry-taxi into the Centrum.

If you are wanting to visit the Volvo museum, you can spend one night at this hotel, since this is about 1000 yards to the museum.

If you are flying into Goteborg City Airport, not Landvetter, this airport is close.

Finally, if you have meetings in the Arken area - this is a very nice choice since all the office buildings are close by.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
5.4 mi away
Sankt Jorgen Park
Sankt Jorgen Park
#6 of 67 in Gothenburg
703 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dockyard Hotel
Dockyard Hotel
#47 of 67 in Gothenburg
213 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
579 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa

Property: Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Address: Nordatlanten 100, Gothenburg 41878, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Arken Hotell & Konferenscenter)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing