We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Jolie!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de la Motte Jean
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Coulomb
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely lovely rooms and beautiful gardens. If we come again we would choose a room on the second floor for the quiet- and a more private terrace, although the room we had was beautifully decorated even with a mini-bar which is not so easy to find. Also, I would prefer hotels at this price level to just include breakfast in the cost of the room, that way I am not thinking about what is included in a $15 breakfast. That feels a bit like the airlines.

Room Tip: Ask about an upper floor or a room with a private terrace (not near the car park).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altonmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

This a wonderful hotel with a warm welcome. Breakfast is varied and you get some local treats as well. Very friendly and good service. Feels like home! Even fed The ducks in The pond in The garden. Perfect to come to rest here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The welcome was really warm and pleasant. The staff are enjoying their work and are very helpful. The Auberge is located in a very beautiful quiet spot in St Coulomb. Huge gardens full of roses and hydrangeas, a pond with ducks, different ancient buildings with rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated with classic French furniture, everything is clean and sparkling. Bathrooms with bath and shower, separate toilet. All in perfect state.
Breakfast, compared to French standards, is very good. Conveniently located for interesting activities in this area of Brittany.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit0157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent two nights here before sailing out of St Malo, having spent two weeks driving up through France from Bilboa. The hotel is credit to the ladies who run it. Everything is spotlessly clean, the garden is wonderful and the bedroom was perfect. The breakfast was very nice, certainly as good as anywhere else we had stayed. We had dinner in Cancale the first night and in Dinan the second night - it was all perfect. We hope to return and spend more time in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This remains an extremely pretty and charming hotel. Housekeeping is of the highest standard, bathrooms are spotless and rooms are well sized. Part of the charm is created by the lovely ladies who greet you and make breakfast. In the large grounds are splendid flower beds and a large pond with pairs of handsome ducks of many varieties some very exotic.(For parents - the pond is fenced.) The hotel is very well situated for the Britany ferry in St Malo but a relaxing week here exploring the area would be very pleasant. If you have time do try the breakfast. We had ours in front of a magnificent log fire. Good coffee, Fruit compote, Hot croissants (freshly heated and far too many for us), Speciality raisin cake, Fresh bread, preserves, juice and I believe eggs, although we didn't have time for them. All very fresh.
When I reviewed this hotel in 2011, I complained about a strange noise. We have been back several times and all has been quiet. So I remove this reservation. There is no restaurant but there are many in Cancale.

Room Tip: All rooms quite and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Well we spent here three nights in the country close to cancale and saint 'lo. The venue is very charmy and so is the room. Not too comfortable for 3 people - the single bed has the pillow close to the step of the door and two suitcases are too much for the room. Very clean and quiet, but for us (1st floor on the main building) was very noisy the morming with the breakfast served (you have to wake up) and the late afternoon before. Hotel de charme but a little less then expected. And the guest were not so 'at our service'

Room Tip: Choose rooms outside the main building which is a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paolobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel is very attractive with pretty gardens and a big duck pond. Our room was of good size. A great deal of money has been spent on furnishings and fitting. All was spotless. Breakfast was well above standard with warm brioches and good coffee. THere is, however, a small flaw, or a rather large one if it's warm and you are a light sleeper. From somewhere in a building opposite the main one comes an almost continuous very loud hum, almost a squeal at times. This can be heard even in the gardens, and the windows have to be shut at night. As there is no airconditioning, it gets rather hot. The sound went off for a while and then resumed. If only the management could muffle this what ever it is, the hotel would be perfect for an over night stop or longer stay. Please note there is no restaurant but there are many in Cancale or Saint Malo.

Room Tip: As far from hum as possible. Ask to see room and listen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Coulomb
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Chatellier
Hotel Le Chatellier
#7 of 13 in Cancale
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manoir des Douets Fleuris
1.6 mi away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#3 of 13 in Cancale
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Cancalais
Le Cancalais
#10 of 13 in Cancale
104 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Maison de la Marine
La Maison de la Marine
#5 of 16 in Cancale
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Motte Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Motte Jean

Address: la Motte Jean, 35350 Saint-Coulomb, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Coulomb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Coulomb
Price Range: £94 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Motte Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie de la Motte Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Motte Jean Saint-Coulomb, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing