We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit”
Review of Greenstar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greenstar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Joensuu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Spent 2 nights and everything worked as it should. Cosy hotel with good location in city center.
If you are looking reasonable price, comfortable, clean place to stay this is your place.
The WIFI connection in the rooms were one of the main reason to select this hotel.
The breakfast wasn't luxorios but it had everythimg what I would need.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosmopoliitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    42
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
20
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel has a very convenient location in the center of Joensuu and there are several restaurants and shops within a walking distance. We booked the room well beforehand and arrived quite early in the afternoon but there were no parking spaces left. They seemed to have parking restrictions on almost every street so please check very carefully before parking your car. The room was nice and tidy, the bathroom very clean and the two beds OK, but the extra bed (from a sleeper chair) provided for a teenager travelling with us was quite uncomfortable, very hard and narrow. The doors to the rooms had some kind of a closing mechanism which made them bang very loudly when you left the room and that was a bit disturbing early in the morning. Other than that, you could not hear anything from the other rooms. The breakfast was OK, the usual things - tea, coffee, bread, eggs, cheese etc. This is a hotel worth booking if you are not looking for luxury but a clean and comfortable place for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antsu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Centrally located and very modern. Facilities were clean and appeared brand new. Room was spacious with clean colors and simple design, though lighting was a bit dim. Reception desk is staffed only partially. Breakfast and parking is extra. Wifi in room with good signal though a bit unstable connection. WARMLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavi-amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Greenstar has got a perfect location for those who need to stay over night in Joensuu city center. The hotel is clean and the rooms comfortable enough for a one night short stay. Pricing is reasonable and you can also choose having breakfast for a couple of euros. Instead we chose having our breakfast at the market square, at Martta cafe´. They offer fantastic Karelian pies, a local specialty.
If you travel by own car the hotel has a good car park in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We arrived at this hotel and there was only one girl at the small reception. She was very busy with a man and we were what you call disturbers. The hotel is clean, but no restaurant or bar available. Only a breakfast room for the morning but we left early so this was a miss. My wife is kind of invalid and walk very badly, therefore the nearest restaurant are to far away on a marketplace.If you only want to sleep here, the hotel is good, for the rest it is zero.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasiesta4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The Hotel is nicely positioned in the very center of small Joensuu. It is as much in the center of other hotels costing you double price. The rooms are perfectly clean and new, if basic, everything is perfectly functioning and clean. The indoor parking space is very fairly priced (7 euro/day) and to get access to it you need to drive with your car as close as 50 cm to the garage entry (which is right on the left to the hotel). We didn't get it at the beginning because the sign explaining so was in Finnish.
YOU NEED TO BOOK YOUR PARKING SPACE WITH THE RECEPTION, so make sure either you call or arrive btw 9 am - 9 pm (8 on weekends) or you won't get any and will be fined 40 euro for parking on the street.
We never had breakfast there so can't review that, but I highly recommend walking to Coffee House (Torikatu 24) it's on the same street as the hotel, after you cross the square.
Only downsides:
- they don't seem to have double beds
- the bathroom is small.

Overall we would definitely go back to this hotel if staying in Joensuu again, it's no frills but you definitely are not looking for a charme hotel in Joensuu since Joensuu is no Paris, and in our opinion it doesn't make sense to spend double money for a few more amenities when with this price you can get same great position and clean and same-size rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Basic hotel but in a perfect place to explore. The rooms are clean with a wall mounted widescreen TV with a number of English channels. You get a password for the free wifi system which is really fast. There are tea making facilities in the room but there's also a vending machine in the foyer. It's very reasonably priced for Finland and there are lots of things to see and really nice places to eat close by. It doesn't always have a staffed reception but that wasn't really a problem. It is necessary to have your card that you booked with and your booking reference to use the automated check in but it isn't complicated.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplesuzyq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joensuu
0.2 mi away
Cumulus Joensuu
Cumulus Joensuu
#2 of 4 in Joensuu
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
#4 of 4 in Joensuu
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kimmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Scouts' Youth Hostel
#5 of 9 in Joensuu
9 reviews
10.5 mi away
Motel Kontio
Motel Kontio
#1 of 1 in Kontiolahti
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenstar Hotel

Property: Greenstar Hotel
Address: Torikatu 16, Joensuu 80100, Finland
Region: Finland > North Karelia > Joensuu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joensuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenstar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing