We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Sokos hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Joensuu
Eastern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice Sokos hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Sokos hotels had 70 e summer offers and we decided to stay in Joensuu for one night. We got a room from the newer side, windows facing towards the backyard. The room was perfect for us, quiet, very clean and modernly decorated. Breakfast was also really good with some local specialities. The hotel is right in the middle of the city center, so restaurants, pubs and shops are easily reachable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tatu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReettaKorkalainen, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Tatu T,
thank you for visiting our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Reetta Korkalainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    40
    29
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
22
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location of the hotel was excellent. The hotel build up in several stages and this time I was in the old part. The room was life seen. Breakfast was just grate with local specialities. Service was really friendly as its normally in east part of Finland.

Room Tip: As room from new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arska-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReettaKorkalainen, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Arska-FI,
thank you for visiting our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you as our guest again in the future.

Best regards,

Reetta Korkalainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for the weekend ( 2 nights ) We felt very welcome at the reception. The room was average and the bed was comfortable. The location was perfect, just in the middle of the city. I was quote pleased with our stay. And yes, I might want to come back again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eeva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReettaKorkalainen, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Eeva H,
thank you for visiting our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Reetta Korkalainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imatra, Finland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had reservation elsewhere, but they had mistakes with our reservation there and we chose this one.

Ok Finnish hotel, big chain service for you, very friendly, attentive and nice staff here. Room big enough for two plus dog. Breakfast ok, if not the breakfast surroundings as it is their evening restaurant.

If possibly, do not accept room facing the street and Park, local restaurants and young people with booming cars may entertain you until small hours. not me, I am an easy sleeper.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HarriHirvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuusisto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Standard room. It was on the street side, therefore it was quite noisy. Location ok as well parking. Reception slow, but friendly. Cleanness average. Generall condition ok. Rooms looked recently renovated. Would I choose this hotel again, probably not. Main reason that I feel, I didn't get return for my money.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Kind of big hotel, a new refurnished part with modern corridor with probably good nice rooms.
Also a older part, were I stayed, is not so bad after being so old. They have taken care of beds and interiors so it is not that bad as many others are. Bathroom is decent but not nice-nice.

Minibar and modern TV with good channelselection. Desk really comfortable and power outlets (several) on direct access from the chair by the desk.
Nice armchair and great size of room.

Parking only 10 euro in the parking garage directly access to the rooms.

Location is in the center of Joensuu.

Amarillo restaurant have nice and good attitude serving people and kitchen was open until 23.00 which was great. I arrived late just before 23.00 and still the personell in the bar/restaurant was really friendly and did not try to push me to order quickly or making stupid remarks that soon is kitchen closing, which some of the hotel-restaurant is doing.

So SOKOS as it is usually, little too expensive but decent and sometime nice quality.

This hotel is little more that usual SOKOS and value/euro.

Didn't use sauna facilities or gym. Left early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobiasm1975M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a nice hotel in Joensuu. Clean, tidy and fresh. Good location right in centre. Always ask for a renovated room.

A slight negative thing was the breakfast. Quality of food so so (quite what you get all around Finland, basich cheap s...t, when will we learn). Also brekfast room is quite small and the aditional seating in the bar is dark and cold.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FIN_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joensuu hotels
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kimmel
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Joensuu
Cumulus Joensuu
#2 of 5 in Joensuu
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
#4 of 5 in Joensuu
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenstar Hotel
Greenstar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Joensuu
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Linnunlahti
Holiday Linnunlahti
#1 of 7 in Joensuu
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finnhostel Joensuu
Finnhostel Joensuu
#4 of 7 in Joensuu
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu
Address: Torikatu 20, Joensuu 80100, Finland
Region: Finland > North Karelia > Joensuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Joensuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary five story hotel with restaurants, located at the commercial center next to marketplace, near bus & railway stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing