We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money right in the middle of Kuopio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value for the money right in the middle of Kuopio”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Been staying at Jahtihovi many times on business trips on Kuopio. Hotel is located near the harbor and also only around 1km away from railway station. You can get around very easily and without too much effort. The service has always been good, room has been clean and comfortable. Only real complain I might have is that bathrooms and showers tend to be rather small, but good enough. Will stay here in my future trips to Kuopio as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juha-Matti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    18
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
16
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Imatra, Finland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We choosed this hotel because of price....Kuopio very interresting place because hotel prices
like in Helsinki.Parking lot important for us because we always travel here with car...
From outside it doesnt look very good but we got nice room..better than usually in tree star hotel
everything clean and comfortable..stuff also in the evening nice .Night time till 20.00 is possible to eat dinner from buffet and i have to say as professional that it was delicious and price reasonable.Morning breakfast more typical and it seems that this "waiter" had more other important work to do but serve clients....it just the ounly minus.

Room Tip: Choose room from new side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This friendly family-owned hotel is in a quiet street a few minutes walk from both the harbour and the town centre. We had a nicely furnished, though small, superior room in a modern wing. We were there during hot weather and the cooling worked well. Although we did not use it, our room also had a private sauna. The hotel served a nice breakfast, as well as complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits during the day.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

If you do not demand service and facilities of international level, this would be highly recommended. The hotel is old and does not look fancy. Quite the opposite. However, they are renovating. In summer 2012 there are rooms that are already renovated (look for superior rooms instead of standard). These are brand new, clean, Scandinavian, comfortable and quiet rooms. The old rooms are being under construction during summer 2012. During that there may be some disturbance as construction people in Finland usually work between 7 am and 4 pm. When the renovation is done and if they do the reception and "restaurant" too, it will definitely be a true hidden gem in the middle of the city.

Room Tip: It pays off to invest in superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maitorahka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Jahtihovi has several good things:
+ peaceful surroundings, but close enough to the center
+ room was very clean
+ beds were pleasant, even if separate
+ breakfast was good, nothing particular, but worked well
We had very bright room and big windows, but this was likely due to corner location and I guess other rooms might not have such big windows.
Hotel seemed to have two kind of rooms, ours was from the more modern side. It seemed they were renovating the original side currently (spring 2012)
Oh, and parking was also free (warm garage would have been something like 7€ / night)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izu
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed 2 nights, in what looks like the new wing of the hotel. The hotel is now in the Finlandia group. The room was very new, clean, with modern furniture. Internet included. We booked a room with a small kitchen and a private sauna attached to the bathroom which we really liked. A small luxury but not really that expensive. The hotel offers free parking in the backyard or in a garage indoors but since everybody travels by car if you arrive late you may find that the parking spaces are full. They will however try their best to accommodate your car. Also a good thing is that for a small fee they will take care of your laundry. Just leave the bunch of clothes with the reception staff and they will use their washing machines and return them to you the following day. As we are traveling for extended periods this service was very much appreciated. The breakfast was good with reasonable selection. Only the breakfast room looks a bit dark in the old part of the building. You can also have meals there but since we had a small kitchen we had our meals in the room or in nearby restaurants. We had a pleasant quiet stay and would recommend it for its central location and comfort.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing in a room with hyour private sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stayed for one night in the second floor.

The hotel (or guesthouse) is really nothing special, the rooms are a bit worn out and the services are nothing extra. I tried the sauna - it was not a too good experience compared to average Finnish saunas. Breakfast room is next to the front door - not at all a quiet place.

Pros: nice and quiet location near the beautiful harbor. Easy to go jogging.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaSoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuopio hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Kuopio
Scandic Kuopio
#1 of 10 in Kuopio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#7 of 10 in Kuopio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
#6 of 10 in Kuopio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel Asema
#1 of 4 in Kuopio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi

Property: Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Address: Snellmaninkatu 23, Kuopio 70100, Finland
Region: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing