We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine value for the low Euro cost.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Overall, Rauhalahti exceeded expectations.
There are two segments to the lake resort here, the main hotel building & the twin efficiency studio apartment buildings.
I stayed in one of the apartments- so I cannot evaluate its regular rooms.
The building is solidly built & insulated with bricks.
Most basic appliances are present in the efficiency; except a cooling system for the short Summers.
Seems to cater to a largely older clientelle, with some families.
The ambience of the apartment building is reminiscent of a deluxe college dormitory- except for its occupants.
Pristine air & water quality.
Adjoining lake- front forest.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you wish to experience what it was like staying in a spa hotel in the Russian era, this is your best bet. It is definitely not my idea of a holiday hotel even if it may have been only for 1 night. The room is small and cramped, and totally dysfunctional and outdated. There is no a/c, no windows, the balcony door cannot be kept open due to mosquitoes, and there is no fan. So the rooms act as a sauna as well. No wonder it is called a spa hotel. The bathroom has no tub or shower stall. It has a shower in the corner that is curtained off, and all the water spills all over the floor. There is no hair dryer and no toiletries.

The place is run over by pot bellied Russians eating and drinking away to glory. This is most evident at breakfast that is truly pathetic and inedible. There are no fresh fruits or juice, no decent cereals and an array of dead animals all around. The breakfast room was dirty and dinghy. The hotel does not come cheap, and is a total waste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rauhalahti is a perfect holiday destination for anyone who enjoys interior design from the 80's and thinks that fanny packs are the height of fashion. Everyone else should consider going elsewhere.

On the plus side the room was spacious and clean. However, it was very hot, with no air-conditioning and the decor is very badly in need of an update. For well over 100 euros per night, I would expect something much better.

The "spa" was free for hotel guests, so we gave it a try. It is very small and very basic. I find it hard to believe that someone would actually pay to go there. The "entertainment" program is so terrible it almost seems like a parody.

Service was not bad, but not great either. The breakfast was unpleasantly crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We visit Rauhalahti Spa Hotel regularly, but this was our first time in an apartment. Usually we stay in Spa Hotel rooms.

The swimming pool and spa department of Rauhalahti Spa Hotel is one of the best in Finland (see my earlier review for more details) and I recommend it very much. But I recommend staying overnight in Spa Hotel, not in apartments, especially in the winter. In the summer these apartment rooms may also be nice, because they aren't as hot as rooms in the main building of the spa hotel.

Apartments are situated in two separate buildings named Kalla and Sotka, about 100 meters from the Spa Hotel and swimming pools. Sotka building has a better location (nearer to a forest) than Kalla.

We stayed in the room number 605, Kalla building. There was a living-room with two beds (80 x 200 centimeters), a 3-seat sofa bed, an armchair, a small table and a kitchenette (a small kitchen). There was also a very small separate bedroom with a bunk bed (lower bed and upper bed). Of course there was also a toilet with a shower. There were also a clothes drying cupboard (electric drying cabinet) and a safety deposit box in the room. The terrace (patio) was also nice (a balcony in rooms which are situated in the upper floor).

We didn't hear any noise from other rooms (the noise from other rooms or from a corridor has sometimes been a small problem in the main building of the spa hotel), but the fuse box of the room was very noisy. Many small details in the room were worn and threadbare.

I can recommend apartments for big families who aren't very picky. Dogs are allowed in some rooms.

Apartments are ideal for athletic people, too, e.g. for those people interested in cross-country skiing. There is a good room for the maintenance of skis in the building. There are also kick sleds for rent. There is a very good gym in the main building of the spa hotel.

The cheapest accommodation can be found in hostel rooms in the fourth building. So there are the main building (Spa Hotel and swimming pool departments), two apartment buildings (Kalla and Sotka) and the hostel building.

Room Tip: Book a room from the Spa Hotel (main building). Apartments in separate buildings are good for big fa...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JariJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Rauhalahti is an excellent hotel/spa for family with kids. Both times we've been there, we've stayed in an apartment (close by the hotel main building) and the apartment type of lodging is truly excellent: own sauna, separate room for child to sleep in, a bit of a kitchen corner for making some quick food, or brewing coffee. Spa area is especially well suited even for small children, and has a proper pool for actual swimming. Food served in main restaurant is buffet style and has had a good, healthy selection of salads and main courses available. Prices are very decent, and the type of food can best be described as FInnish home style cooking.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with children, do try the apartment hotel!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnJou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

When we arrived, we got a double room with an extra bed even if we had booked for a family room. Of course we didn't accept the room, and they didin't apologize and were reluctant for giving us the right room.
The spa area is very basic, but the showers and especially the dressing rooms are small and cramped. The spa was rather crowded so that we didn't enjoy the place too much.
The dinner and the breakfast were disaoopintments - there was far too little staff for at the moment. Dirty plates and glasses were lying on the tables, and one had to wait for food too long. No wonder that the staff was stressed and too busy to be polite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria61029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had our vacation a bit off season. So the hotel was pretty much empty. Only some small seminar groups and rehabilitation groups. Actually this was good thing. No congestions in the spa area which is quite small (comparing to Caribia in Turku or Spa Ikaalinen). The spa was clean with all basic services.
Room is bit outdated and TV was painfully slow to switch between channels.
Big plus from the service. Hotel personnel was friendly and all our wishes were taken into account.
Also food in the restaurant was very good (a la carte -list). Well made and tasteful. At the we would have liked bill, no one from the staff was at the dining room for 15-20 minutes. It seemed that they all were having a break? No one to make sure if somebody needed something. Anyway a successful dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s94072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
2.1 mi away
Scandic Kuopio
Scandic Kuopio
#1 of 10 in Kuopio
418 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#4 of 10 in Kuopio
84 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
2.2 mi away
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
#9 of 10 in Kuopio
41 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Isovalkeinen
Hotel Isovalkeinen
#8 of 10 in Kuopio
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rauhalahti Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rauhalahti Spa Hotel

Address: Katiskaniementie 8, Kuopio 70700, Finland
Region: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Price Range: £120 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rauhalahti Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rauhalahti Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing