We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is in the beautiful lake country of Finland. Its lakeside location is totally different but equally stunning in Summer and Winter. Activities are available at all times of year. Inside the hotel is a swimming pool which includes 3 jacuzzis, a warm outside pool, a hot pool, a cool pool, play pools for infants and a lane swimming pool. There are also saunas and steam rooms. It is also possible to swim in the lake. The breakfast and dinner buffets are superb. The rooms are clean with nice wooden furnishings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PercyTheSmallEngine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is in a stunning location, with lots of beautiful lakeside walks through the trees. I took a taxi there from the airport which took about 20 mins. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the room was a nice size, and comfortable. A nice choice of food, and on certain nights you can go for a traditional meal in a beautiful lumberjack's lodge on the grounds, with entertainment provided in the form of accordian music & dancing. The spa itself is great and family friendly, with a range of pools of various sizes and temperatures - you can swim through a tunnel into the outdoor pool, and relax in steaming hot water whilst it snows on you, which was wonderful. The city itself is a quick bus journey away, although sadly didn't have time to go during my visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Second time we've been here, back to the same apartment (Suvas 646) which had been improved since 2012. ( the 3rd bedroom had had a sliding dividing partition installed and the tv had been enlarged.
In winter the lake is frozen and it's quite a novelty walking and skiing on it. This year though the Finnish winter was milder than usual and parts of the lake (early on in the week) were fragile but later on it became colder.
The food was as good as ever and the variety of dishes were incredible. I love their all-you-can-eat buffet.
The staff were incredible and friendly. I want to mention two especially. Sanna- the receptionist- who was always friendly and efficient, and a young lady called Meija in the dining room, who always had a smile on her face and was efficient and helpful.
There perhaps is only one criticism and that is when there's a conference using the hotel's facilities, the hotel seems to make these visitors a priority to their usual customers.
Saying that though I'm sure it wont be that long before we return again. Thanks again for a phenomenal week. Kiitos paljon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is not about the Spa Hotel but about a fabulous place for relaxation that can be reached either walking through a little area of woodland or one could drive there. Going there with a motorhome was a bit to much so we parked at the Spa Hotel then walked.

The place is open on Tuesdays 4-10 pm and also on certain Thursdays during the year. The main info can be found here http://www.rauhalahti.fi/en/?Itemid=921. Info for the opening times are here http://www.rauhalahti.fi/en/rauhalahti/restaurants/jatkankamppa-lumberjacks-lodge/traditional-finnish-evenings and the atmosphere that is provided cannot be beat.

The sauna is lovely and truly old-style stuff with dark interior inside the sauna. This is an absolute must for any sauna enthusiast. We went in September ant the lake was still open so a dip into the cold lake after the sauna was very refreshing. The dinners are classical style and home-made cooking is provided. You won't be disappointed ... to the contrary. If you ever pass through Kuopio on your travels on a Tuesday when the lodge is open make a pitstop. The Finish atmosphere is great and there is an accordion player in the restaurant to entertain you whilst you are eating.

Absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HelmutSchuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Overall, Rauhalahti exceeded expectations.
There are two segments to the lake resort here, the main hotel building & the twin efficiency studio apartment buildings.
I stayed in one of the apartments- so I cannot evaluate its regular rooms.
The building is solidly built & insulated with bricks.
Most basic appliances are present in the efficiency; except a cooling system for the short Summers.
Seems to cater to a largely older clientelle, with some families.
The ambience of the apartment building is reminiscent of a deluxe college dormitory- except for its occupants.
Pristine air & water quality.
Adjoining lake- front forest.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you wish to experience what it was like staying in a spa hotel in the Russian era, this is your best bet. It is definitely not my idea of a holiday hotel even if it may have been only for 1 night. The room is small and cramped, and totally dysfunctional and outdated. There is no a/c, no windows, the balcony door cannot be kept open due to mosquitoes, and there is no fan. So the rooms act as a sauna as well. No wonder it is called a spa hotel. The bathroom has no tub or shower stall. It has a shower in the corner that is curtained off, and all the water spills all over the floor. There is no hair dryer and no toiletries.

The place is run over by pot bellied Russians eating and drinking away to glory. This is most evident at breakfast that is truly pathetic and inedible. There are no fresh fruits or juice, no decent cereals and an array of dead animals all around. The breakfast room was dirty and dinghy. The hotel does not come cheap, and is a total waste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rauhalahti is a perfect holiday destination for anyone who enjoys interior design from the 80's and thinks that fanny packs are the height of fashion. Everyone else should consider going elsewhere.

On the plus side the room was spacious and clean. However, it was very hot, with no air-conditioning and the decor is very badly in need of an update. For well over 100 euros per night, I would expect something much better.

The "spa" was free for hotel guests, so we gave it a try. It is very small and very basic. I find it hard to believe that someone would actually pay to go there. The "entertainment" program is so terrible it almost seems like a parody.

Service was not bad, but not great either. The breakfast was unpleasantly crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
2.1 mi away
Scandic Kuopio
Scandic Kuopio
#1 of 10 in Kuopio
482 reviews
2.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
2.2 mi away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#6 of 10 in Kuopio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Isovalkeinen
Hotel Isovalkeinen
#9 of 10 in Kuopio
9 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
2.2 mi away
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
#8 of 10 in Kuopio
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rauhalahti Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rauhalahti Spa Hotel

Address: Katiskaniementie 8, Kuopio 70700, Finland
Region: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Price Range: £75 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rauhalahti Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rauhalahti Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing