We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice palace still heavily overpriced”
Review of Tertti Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tertti Manor
Ranked #2 of 4 Mikkeli B&B and Inns
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice palace still heavily overpriced”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

There is a good consept and idea behind Tertti Manor idea.
I think the place it self is nice but still it's lacking something to be worth the cost.
Food is good and service as well. Location is quite bad middle of nothing and next to heavy trafic road. Good place for those who like to spend money to small and expensive things and don't mind about the value for money aspect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

If travelling in the Finnish Lake District, especially summertime, the Tertti manor near the city of Mikkeli is the place to visit for food lovers. Their sumptuous lunch buffets and gourmet dinners are just fantastic (note - dinner needs to be ordered beforehand) and served in the charming pink manor house. The elegant interior is lovingly kept as it used to be in the 1890s.

We had booked dinner with Tertti’s “surprise menu” and enjoyed it on the beautiful lush Chekhovian veranda on a lovely summer evening. You could wish fish or meat for the main course but the rest was to be a surprise. Moose roast beef with wild herbs and mustard sauce was served as the first course – the paper thin moose was just gorgeous. It was followed by delicious perch fished that morning from Lake Saimaa, served with small chanterelles and new potatoes and roe sauce. The menu finished with French toast with fresh berries and rose parfait. The young chef came out to introduce every dish. The wine list was interesting and of high quality; we learned that the manor imports some wines directly from France. We were very happy with the dining experience overall but only slightly disappointed by the French toast as desert since our earlier desert experiences have been so amazing in this place (like the unforgettable cloudy raspberry meringue desert we had once earlier and are still talking about...).

Accomodation is offered (five rooms or so) in smallish but nice rooms decorated with vintage furniture, with shower, tv and minibar plus a small balcony towards the green surrounding meadows. The breakfast is included in the room price and served either in the manor house or in the coffee house in the premises: lovely selection of bread (the rye bread is baked on a 100 year old dough root), local cheeses and meats, delicious porridge, berries – we had blueberry shots - and the wonderful smoked vendace of the house. Among the best breakfasts you can get in Finland! Do not forget to visit the manor shop where you can buy their bread, rose products, and the vendace of course.

We do keep returning every summer and can very warmly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Tertti Manor is a delightful place about 3 hours drive from Helsinki on the edge of the lake district. The 5 rooms in what looks rather like a stable block are small but comfortable and warm with lovely views over the countryside. What makes Tertti Manor really special is the restaurant. Although it normally closes at 5pm (the Finns dine very early), they stayed open specially for our arrival at 6pm and served us a four course meal worthy of at least one Michelin star. Fish and lamb were both perfectly cooked with light sauces, the home-made breads were the best we had in Finland (their delicious crispbread can be bought in the shop) and the ice cream ranked amongst the most delicious we had ever tasted, if not THE best: a trio of almond, blackcurrent flower and strawberry, all intensely flavoured and freshly made. The wines were excellent, the service impeccable - the chef arrived at each course to explain the dishes - and ingredients, mainly picked from the manor's kitchen garden, were top quality. Breakfast was outstanding.
Tertti Manor is not just worth a detour, it's worth a special trip to Finland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bitternwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Tertin Kartano has five rooms and the Sauna Suite. As all rooms were booked, we stayed in the Suite with huge private sauna. We felt absolutely comfortable there.

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for dinner - however, we were delivered a delicious simple cold dish to our room.

Since we could not enjoy the famous buffet for dinner, we decided to lunch in the restaurant. We had been there before and the buffet was just as good as the fist time.

If you are looking for a simple yet classy place to stay and an absolutely outstanding restaurant when it comes to finnish cuisine: Come here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This tiny country home is a perfect stop for a lunch or coffee break. They serve a fantastic buffet and everything is home made, many delicatesses and even something to buy home. They also offer rooms for the night in a nice surroundig.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well educated biter of reindeer from Finland
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2007

We arrived here on our motorcycle. Tired, thirsty and dusty. The patron welcomed us with glass of cold homemade nectar. Afterwards we were escorted to our clean nice room with a pleasant view.

The place was restful and beautiful with a amazing rosegarden. Their gourmet restaurant in the mainbuilding is famous for their traditional cuisine. Mostly made of local game or manors own products.

Next morning we went to the main building for our breakfast. The patron was apologetin because we were their only guest for the night. They had loaded a big table with homemade ham and salami and bread and jams and eggs and ovenmade porrige and everything you can imagine to have for breakfast. We felt like Royals.

When leaving the place we were provided with nice sandwiches for the road.

Helpful?
1 Thank kumiankka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mikkeli
3.8 mi away
Cumulus Mikkeli
Cumulus Mikkeli
#2 of 2 in Mikkeli
80 reviews
3.8 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli
5.8 mi away
Kyyhkyla Manor Hotel
Kyyhkyla Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mikkeli
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Visulahti
Visulahti
#7 of 9 in Mikkeli
15 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Uusikuu
Hotel Uusikuu
#1 of 4 in Mikkeli
70 reviews
15.2 mi away
Tuukkalan Tila B&B
Tuukkalan Tila B&B
#1 of 3 in Ristiina
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tertti Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tertti Manor

Property: Tertti Manor
Address: Kuopiontie 68, Mikkeli 50350, Finland
Region: Finland > Southern Savonia > Mikkeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mikkeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tertti Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tertti Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing