We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive outdated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Savonlinna
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel has small rooms, like cheap appartements build in 70's and renovated ever since. Bath room smells bad. Prices are very high compared to the quality. I' wondering why no hotel chain in Finland is building a renovating a proper hotel in Savonlinna. The town needs one.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Jatador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just ok. Location was so-so, service seemed a little off. Room was clean though. Parking extra of course and hard to find. Probably would be good for opera season - about a 15-20 minute walk to the castle. Don't know if I would stay here again, but it wasn't that bad - just ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was here with my husband as we were visiting Savonlinna Opera Festival in July 2012. We had a nice room (room 501) with the greatest view, right to lake Saimaa and the cruising boats and market. The room was renovated apparently quite recently and the room was really nice. The only minus was the lack of air conditioning, but there was a fan in the room and a door to the balkony, so we got fresh air anyway.
The breakfast was really good and had a lot to choose from. Also the bar on the top floor is worht testing.
Occasionally there's also bands in the night club. There was this time too, but we were so tired that we had to go to sleep before the band started playing.
There's also possibbility for parking the car in the garage.

Room Tip: Room 501 was really nice - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Best food, best situation, friendliest staff.
If you ever think to came to Finland in a summer time, check the Lake Area in the eastern part of Finland before Lappland. I am sure that you don`t regret. The Pearl of the the Lake area is The City of Savonlinna and it`s surrounding area. And if you need a hotel to stay, belive me, it is Seurahuone. Situating in the middle of a city and with an allways friendly staff. But remember that they will be every summer an Opera Festivals in the town, so july is quite often full booked.

Room Tip: Ask for an air condition. And don`t forget to taste "Muikku" a local fish portion with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Finding accommodation during the opera festival is not easy unless you book very early. This hotel offers an excellent position and the rooms in both parts of the hotel are up to standard. Price is very high during the opera season but there is a limited supply.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Seurahuone is a basic, quite modern but a bit worn out hotel in the heart of Savonlinna. If you´re going to Opera you have a 10 minute walk to the castle. The breakfast room is very croudy during the opera festival. Rooms are simple and a bit old fashioned and worn out. Not all the rooms have air conditioning. The hotel has a nice roof terrace with a view over the lake and the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lyudmila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savonlinna
0.2 mi away
Spahotel Casino
Spahotel Casino
#2 of 7 in Savonlinna
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Hotel Tott
Summer Hotel Tott
#7 of 7 in Savonlinna
35 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Kruunupuisto
Hotel Kruunupuisto
#2 of 2 in Punkaharju
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Summer Hotel Malakias
Summer Hotel Malakias
#4 of 7 in Savonlinna
13 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Resort Harjun Portti
4.8 mi away
Lomamokkila
Lomamokkila
#1 of 8 in Savonlinna
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone

Address: Kauppatori 4 6, Savonlinna 57130, Finland
Region: Finland > Southern Savonia > Savonlinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Savonlinna
Price Range: £86 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing