We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get more than you pay for (almost..)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pietari Kylliainen
Ranked #4 of 8 Savonlinna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a 3 star hotel situated about 600 m from downtown and Savonlinna Castle. The rate was 90 euros per night and in this price you get
1. A SMALL room with private bathroom (it really reminds a student room, as another reviewer has previously pointed out)
2. Average sound insulation (not from the main road, but from other rooms)
3. Air-conditioning, adjustable from within the room (VERY important, epecially during summer)
4. An ultra FAST wired internet (not wi-fi)
5 Fridge in the room (not minibar) and with a big super market just opposite to fill it.
6. FREE car parking
7. Good sleep quality
8. A fair breakfast buffet (lot of things, but with no to-die-for quality)
9. A level of cleanliness that needs improvement
With all its compromises, one can stay for a couple of days.
I think it's a honest proposal (if only the cleanliness was better....)

I give it (after a lot of thought) a 3 star rating hoping it will just do better with the cleanliness matter in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Basic hotel in small town. Good location: you can walk around, go to embankment or castle by foot. One black away from On The Rocks pub with beer and decent music. Has a free parking behind the building.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
Thank Guitarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed one night in the Hotel “Pietari Kylliäinen” in Savonlinna, Finland. Hotel is situated just six hundred meters from the Olavlinna (Saint Olaf) Castle and it takes five minutes to get the castle by walking. Hotel provides free parking lot at the back yard. Rooms are not big but quite comfortable and very clean. Restroom and shower cabin are good and have enough space. Personnel were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was OK, the food was tasty and plentiful. I recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here with my family. The family room was very good in size and all the beds were
suitable for an adult. There was also a small kitchenette in the room, which was good
because we were travelling with our dog and we could have his cups and food in that area. Only thing that we didn't like was the room rate; with this rate we stayed in a superior room in hotel Kamp in Helsinki!
The service at the front desk was rather plain with " I'm just working here" -attitude,
the girl in the next morning had a bit more friendly attitude.
Breakfast was a bit disaster, all guest seem to arrive to the restaurant at the same time and most of the food was gone. The dishes on the buffee table were far too small and
that's why there was hardly anything to eat at 9 in the morning. Guest were standing with empty plates and as soon as one of the dishes came from the ktichen it was emptied by the first ones in the que.
The location is very good when visiting the Savonlinna Castle and for the walks on the bulevard by the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Immuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Loaction of this hoteli is good, parking place is good but that's it. Some people wouldn't call this place hotel... But after all, sleep quality was good and that's what I like :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suomenjussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The hotel is situated near Olavinlinna castle and a 15-min walk from the city centre, so the location is convenient. The decor in the hotel is quite old and tacky. The rooms are small and very basic, it felt like being in a student dorm. Usually hotel breakfasts in Finland have quite a large selection, but here I was a little disappointed (there was, for example, no rye bread). The receptionist in the evening was grumpy and did not give any information that you'd expect (such as breakfast times/the main door being closed at night/where the room was located...), in the morning another receptionist was much more friendly. Some people I talked at breakfast said that their room was quite noisy, due to the busy street outside. My room was towards the back, so it was quiet, although the walls are quite thin (so you will hear other guests returning to their rooms at night or leaving in the morning). The stay at the hotel was okay, but it was not worth the price (a "discounted" price of 75 euros for a single room)....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jalokivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2005

In the summer 2004, I took my Japanese friend to the Savonlinna Opera Festival. Other than opera, we also attended the Timo Mustakallio Song Competition. The music in an old castle,in the middle of Finnish summer night by a lake was just amazing. It makes a person who does not like opera to love it. We stayed at hotel Pietari Kylliainen, and the location was just excellent. The staff was friendly and informal, and they did not even ask my friend's passport..even she is not Finnish. The breakfast, was really good. I heard they would have moose and so on for dinner....and they said it was good. However, the room was a little bit of a disappoinment. Little worn out and so. Surely clean and tidy, but if you spend more than a night, or much time at the hotel, it is not the most pleasant in decor and condition but the friendliness of the staff and the location maybe compensate for that.

11  Thank Misu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savonlinna hotels
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
0.4 mi away
Spahotel Casino
Spahotel Casino
#2 of 7 in Savonlinna
189 reviews
2.7 mi away
RaitaHouse
RaitaHouse
#5 of 9 in Savonlinna
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Lomasaaret Hotel
Lomasaaret Hotel
#3 of 9 in Savonlinna
5 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wanha Pappila
Wanha Pappila
#5 of 8 in Savonlinna
5 reviews
6.4 mi away
No photo provided
Loikansaari Holiday Cottages
#7 of 9 in Savonlinna
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pietari Kylliainen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pietari Kylliainen

Address: Olavinkatu 15, Savonlinna 57130, Finland
Region: Finland > Southern Savonia > Savonlinna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Savonlinna
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pietari Kylliainen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pietari Kylliainen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing