We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Aria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Aria
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Savonlinna
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Pros: Beautiful location and building.

Cons: it was a hot summer weekend and the room was very hot. Not very good sound insulation, though the other guests did not disturb. A small 120 cm bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstaSoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

This really isn't an hotel, it's a student residence which rents out rooms during the summer. The reception is manned (by really nice receptionists) from around 2 pm - 9 pm so definitely advise them if you are going to arrive at any other time. On arrival I was given a key to my room plus another to the front door so that I could come and go as I pleased: not sure if there were any other guests staying while I was there, I certainly never saw any! Nice view over the lake and the room was one of the quietest I've ever been in. The room was small and the bathroom tiny.
Breakfast isn't available in the "hotel", instead you get a voucher to use at one of the little outdoor cafes just over the bridge .... it was pretty cold and wet when I was there so it would have been nice to have breakfast indoors rather than an un-heated shelter.
No wifi in the Villa Aria but there is free wifi in the coffee shop on the ground floor of the Hotel Seurahone which is just a few minutes walk away or you can use a computer in the bookstore on the main street to check emails etc (also within easy reach).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotcan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

I stayed at Villa Aria for two nights with friends and it was just what we expected for the money - which wasn't bad at all. The location was peaceful, a stone's throw off the center, so you could get a good night's sleep. Basic rooms, perhaps a bit small for three women with their luggage.. We would have liked to have a radio or tv in the room, just for news and background noise while getting ready for the night, but then again you had the birds singing just outside the window. The only thing we could really complain in the room was the dirty floor! It was stained all over, really hope the cleaners would have had more time for the rooms or more staff for cleaning. Loved the fact they had a fan in the room, not that common in Finland.
People at reception were wonderful, organising taxis, helping out, giving tips etc. We were told that we could have used the laundry room for free, iron was available and sauna could have been reserved - though one does not want to have a go when it's +34C outside... Breakfast was good and very fresh, different breads and rolls, croissants, carelian pastries (karjalanpiirakka), cutlets, cheese, veggies, eggs, fruits, berries, meatballs, sausages, cereals, yoghurt, tea, coffee..perhaps I even forgot something! The room where it was served was a bit crowded, but there were extra seats in the yard.
A tip for people looking for a pint, the closest restaurant is just across the road and it has nice lounge chairs next to the beach! Still, don't overlook the lovely veranda at Villa Aria. Go get yourself a bottle of wine or cider from town and relax by the lake view. A nice cool spot after a sunny day!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

As it named as "summer hotel", I won't expect too much with the price 78 euro for one night. I wan't stay during the opera and ballet festival, the room price is then lower. Breakfast is served only in opera and ballet festival. But they provided us a free breakfast card and -6 euro discount at market place (assigned restaurent). Staff is nice and helpful!

Room is spacious with lake view, but lots of dead insects near the window. It takes 5-10 mins walk to the market place and railway station. The way to Olavinlinna is very beautiful.

I would like to stay here again next time!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowmanlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

Stayed here one night with my wife for the Opera festival. This seems to be one of Savonlinna's student dormatorys that are turned into a so called "summer hotel" for the festivals. The room rate was something like 140 euros. Small hard beds, Ikea furniture. Breakfast with limited options. Not much else. I.e. the hotel offers very little for the money.

  • Liked — Old wooden house
  • Disliked — Rooms, value
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank R.Müller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savonlinna hotels
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
0.4 mi away
Spahotel Casino
Spahotel Casino
#2 of 7 in Savonlinna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Hotel Tott
Summer Hotel Tott
#5 of 7 in Savonlinna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Norppa
Resort Hotel Norppa
#3 of 7 in Savonlinna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lomamokkila
Lomamokkila
#1 of 7 in Savonlinna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Perhehotelli Hospitz
Perhehotelli Hospitz
#2 of 7 in Savonlinna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Aria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Aria

Property: Hotel Villa Aria
Address: Puistokatu 15, Savonlinna 57100, Finland
Region: Finland > Southern Savonia > Savonlinna
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Savonlinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Aria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Villa Aria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing