We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel, exactly what we wanted for an authentic trip to Lapland”
Review of Hotel Jussantupa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jussantupa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely family run hotel, exactly what we wanted for an authentic trip to Lapland”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Lovely little hotel. Service was great. Food was nice and plentiful. It's not a la carte but was exactly what you needed after a day in the snow. Kids also catered for food wise. We wanted a small hotel as didn't want the whole commercial thing and this did the trick. We had 2 rooms for a family of 4 and they were more than adequate. Clean, tidy and not a bad size.would really recommend the location of this hotel. Really good experience and would definately go back. Good staff, we felt really at home here and were sad to leave. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the less commercial trip to lapland.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieBottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Earby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

After having our original break cancelled due to no snow in Lapland we were more than impressed with Transun in quickly re-booking our holiday. From start to finish the holiday was a great experience. Good flights, well organised at arrival airport, good hotel plenty of food , friendly staff and warm clean rooms. The Transun reps were excellent always on hand to help and the activities well organised. This was a different experience for us and the Husky farm and rides were the highlight. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I have always wanted to see the Northern Lights so decided to take my daughter and 2 grandsons aged 18 and 13 with me. We flew out on 16th December for the 2 night break and was not at all prepared for the beauty and excitement that awaited us.

The hotel was lovely and welcoming and very homely. The rooms were also very sweet and comfortable, they even had a little Xmas tree on the coffee table and the traditional Scandinavian welcome light in each window. The food good and hearty which is much needed as believe me you needs the extra calories because from the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was 100% action packed.

We did the Northern lights adventure package rather than the Santa one and as we were the only 4 on that particular programme we had our very own rep (Pete) to ourselves. Pete was absolutely fantastic and looked after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble and he certainly kept us on the go and busy the entire time.

It's hard to pick a highlight as they were all so good but if pushed I'd say the tobogganing and also the husky safari, but the raindeers and also the snowmobiles were pretty awsome too.

Anyway, thank you Transun, and especially Pete, for making this the most memorable experience - I shall definately be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cirencster
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This realy was a dream come true. From the moment we left Gatwick the holiday began. Our arrival at the airport was quite amazing, so welcoming and helpful were the reps, even though the bus played up. I dont usualy do "organized" trips but Transun were brilliant, as was all our fellow companions. Contrary to what I had read, the food was very good. Basic,warm and welcoming soups, followed by good old fashioned substantional meals. No choice, but no waste. The trips are all sample trips, but you can go on more, a tip, don't book with Transun, but make your own arrangements-100 euros for an hour to do agility with husky pups, compared with 15 euros if you make your own arrangements-quite easy, they are on internet in the hotel. Please Transun, do more to help these lovely locals, they have so little and need our support. What family could afford 400 euros extra for a couple of hours.To much mark-up.The carol service in the little church, all in english was lovely. No hairdryers in the room, but ask at reception, they will provide.I also asked for nordic walking sticks, provided free, these are very useful for those unsure of walking on the snow and ice.The prices in the little supermarket were very comparable for those extra drinks. I can't wait to go again. Finland was breathtaking, even without the Northern Lights. Suitable for all ages, one couple with us were in the 70's, whilst a younger group in their thirties. A "must do again" on my list.
My camera soon froze on occasion, be prepared with spare batteries. One small quibble, the sauna was only open for a couple of hours each day. Luckily not many people used it so it wasn't a problem. An extra bonus, I returned home with no broken bones!

Room Tip: Be happy with any room, you only sleep in them anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valerieD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

If you are reading the reviews on here from the last couple of years, ignore them! Transun have clearly bucked their ideas up and I could not have had a better experience. I am a nervous person with anxiety issues so it was a real effort for me to even go on the trip. The Transun reps were warm friendly and really helped me to understand exactly what was happening on each excursion and put my mind at rest. The coach did not leave us stranded (it stayed on site when we were visiting places) The staff at all the excursion stops were friendly, knowledgeable and were happy to spend time answering questions. They were not pushing to get you through the door and out again, they really take pride in their jobs.

The Hotel staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Meals were very tasty and there is no junk, just real honest home cooking. The soups we had with each meal were fantastic, just what you needed to warm you up on a cold day! The rooms were spacious enough and were cleaned every day.

You do have a lot of spare time which we spent taking walks around the area and looking at the scenery. The area is so quiet and peaceful it was lovely to just walk and walk. There are a few shops where you can buy souvenirs and I would recommend the Silver shop (just after the suits and boots store) as they have some lovely bespoke pieces at reasonable prices.

This was a truly breathtaking experience, sadly we did not see the Lights, but the Transun reps really did make this the trip of a lifetime it should be.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have the best view, from the front it is the Supermarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fair oak uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Like several others I approached this holiday with a little trepidation after reading previous reviews. How wrong can you be it was fantastic! The Transun reps were freindly and always around to help or give advice. The trips were well organised and fun.
I felt one or two of the trips would have been a little pricey but ours were included so it was OK.

The hotel was really very nice and the food was hot and plentiful, especially the soups. I enjoyed having gerkins for breakfast!

The highlight for us were the Huskies, although I exited the sled in rather spectacular fashion whilst driving!! I was quickly picked up by a guide and ended up with the best seat in the house, in the front of his sled! Being driven across the frozen lake at dusk was the most magical experience just the swish of the runners in the snow, awesome.

The only small drawback were the delays inbound and outbound I felt Strategic Airlines could have done more to make the transfers quicker. Not so bad for us older people but for the familiies it was not good.

All in all a great break and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a bit of safe adventure!!Pity the lights did not materialse but I had shuch a good time I really didn't mind in the end!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We went on the 4-day trip to Enontekio in Finish Lapland, to enjoy the scenery, excursions and Northern lights. Sadly the lights did not appear, but every other aspect of the trip was great. We did not expect much for the hotel after reading reviews here, but were pleasantly suprised. To describe it as 'basic' is really unfair, it was much more than that. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, spotlessly clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We were on full board; the food was fairly plain but it was proper food - no junk or rubbish to be seen. Highlights were the breakfast and the delicious soups.
The village is small, but there are some shops including a well-stocked supermarket and off-licence so you can pickup anything you need.
We had no problems with Transun organisation - quite the reverse. The trips were excellent and well organised. The reps were unfailingly friendly, cheerful and helpful. For example; we foolishly forgot our camera on a trip to the husky sledding, so the rep took photos for us on her phone and emailed them to me.
This was one of the best short breaks we have ever had.

Room Tip: Top floor (of two) is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enontekio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lapland Hotel Hetta
Lapland Hotel Hetta
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
#1 of 3 in Enontekio
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Kelotin Rantamajat
Kelotin Rantamajat
#1 of 1 in Leppajarvi
10 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
#2 of 3 in Enontekio
4 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jussantupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jussantupa

Property: Hotel Jussantupa
Address: Ounastie 140, Enontekio 99400, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jussan Tupa is a cozy and comfortable hotel that is open throughout the year. Whether it is work or leisure which brings you to Enontekio, you are guaranteed to feel at home at Jussan Tupa! The hotel has two public saunas, a swimming pool, and a third sauna with a living area and fire place, which can be booked for private occasions. At the restaurant, you can enjoy Lappish delicacies. There is a free WiFi for the guests. Hotel Jussan Tupa is located in the administrative centre of Enontekio, called Hetta. All the most important services are located at the very proximity of the hotel. The 'Vuollikka' restaurant by the Lake Ounasjarvi can be booked for large private events. Its beautiful location offers the perfect setting for any celebration. There is also a traditional Lappish 'kota', which seats 30 people comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jussantupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jussantupa Hotel Enontekiö
Hotel Jussantupa Finland/Lapland - Enontekio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing