We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Northern lights but still a fantastic holiday”
Review of Hotel Jussantupa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jussantupa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Mansfield Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No Northern lights but still a fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My friend and I were meant to fly out on 5/1/12 but due to a bereavement and a planned funeral on 6th we needed to fly 2/1/12 - as we had booked the time off work.
Transun were very helpful and booked us onto the 2/1/12 flight. Thank you Transun for helping us deal with a stressful time.

The flight was with Monarch going out and arrived on time. We were met by Quincy and Peter ( our Transun guides).
They were very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Quincy is really knowledgeable about the area and the Finnish people.

Jussantupa
The hotel is clean and our room was quite spacious. There is a sauna and a small swimming pool.
There is no hair dryer in the room so take your own.
The food was superb. No typical hotel rubbish ,chips ,chips and more chips!.
On the contrary it was good wholesome food and plenty of it. I am a vegetarian and they catered for me.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

In with the price was the Huskie dog ride, Reindeer sleigh ride and the snowmobile ride with a trek to the Northern lights.
The Huskies are amazing and unless you try it you cannot begin to grasp the magical feeling as you move over the snow in the wilderness setting.
The Reindeer sleigh is lovely but very cold and extra layers are needed.
Snow mobiles are hair raising but not to be missed as the forest that the trek is through is almost like a scene from Narnia.
Take a torch on the Northern lights trek as the more the better.
We didn't see the lights as it snowed all of the time we were there but Quincy did say a walk to the back of the hotel on a clear night gives you an opportunity. I set my alarm for 2am but still wasn't lucky enough to see them as the storm didn't clear.

We flew back with Strategic airlines and although there was lots of negative reports about them it was a good flight. We did leave later but that was due to the plane being de iced.
All in All it was a magical experience and one I would love to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Lovely small, friendly hotel. Rooms clean,WARM, very scandinavian and Christmassy as we were there just before Christmas. Buffet style meals tempted you to try everything!! even the pickled herring for breakfast! Good choice and three cooked meals a day. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about things to see/do in the local area. We stayed there with Transun on the northern lights experience. Organised activities were very enjoyable, from docile reindeer, unpredictable snowmobiles and eager huskies and it was worth the effort to make our own way to the Sami museum and the ice hotel. BUT Strategic airlines ( 8 hour delay)made the outward journey a misery especially for the families with young children, and caused problems with connections on the return(6 hr delay).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Jussantupa for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Having read previous reviews we weren't expecting great things from the hotel but it was absolutely fine. The food was basic but well cooked and overall the accommodation was clean and warm. The only criticism is that the ground floor rooms are noisy from people above walking around in heavy snow boots and going in and out often during the early hours to try and see the lights. Give Transun a call in advance and ask for a first floor room as they are already allocated when you check in.

The Transun reps were excellent and maintained an almost constant and helpful presence at the hotel without being overbearing or persistently trying to sell additional excursions. The pre-booked trips were fantastic and for us the opportunity to drive our own team of huskies through woods and across a frozen lake was the highlight of the holiday. The nearby "Ice Castle" is well worth a visit and if you can find 8 people in your group to share a taxi with this reduces the cost considerably. The snow suits and boots provided for the duration of your stay are of a good quality and kept us warm but make sure you take decent hats and gloves to cover your extremities! The shop across the road from the hotel stocks a good range of cold thermal clothing and is reasonably priced. The temperature during our visit ranged from -20 to -4 and we found that our camera struggled with this and after a short time in the cold its battery started to die. It is advisable to take a spare battery or keep your camera tucked well inside your suit when not in use.

We were fortunate enough to have clear skies for the majority of our trip and saw the Northern lights at about 11:00pm. A suitable viewing point can be found a short walk to the rear of the hotel although it is worth noting that the floodlights on the nearby ice hockey rink and footpath are switched off at about 10pm which then makes it easier to see the lights (take a small torch for the walk back). As with us if your flight home is during the evening you may get a last chance to see the lights from the aeroplane window so it is worth trying to get a window seat on the right hand side of the plane for the journey back.

Overall we had a great holiday and would highly recommend the arctic lights experience and Transun. For anyone cotemplating this trip our advice is to just do it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSmiley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were a family of 9 on the Transun Festive Lights Experience and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was lovely - warm, clean, good sized rooms and friendly staff. We did not go hungry, but should you require extras there is a well stocked supermarket and off-licence directly over the road. The Transun team of reps were very good and in some cases had their work cut out for them when working with the airline, who were less than satisfactory. We had a Snow Mobile excursion, visit and sled run on the Hetta Husky farm, Reindeer Farm visit and an extra excursion to go Ice Fishing.

All trips were well organised and our high point was the Huskies, a wonderful setting and they were so well looked after. Driving a Sled pulled by 8 Huskies is an awesome experience and comes highly recommended. Second highest on the list was the Ice Fishing, but this was mainly due to the fact that I caught a fish!!! We really didn't expect to but were proven wrong, fantastic!

There was plenty to do in the free time we had - sledging and walks as cross frozen lakes, visiting the shops, nature reserve and coffee shops. The only thing missing was the Arora, but you can't book a clear starry night or the right conditions, that one is the luck of the draw!

We all had fun in the snow and the cold was worth it - do ensure you take plenty of hand warmers, it was particularly cold on the Snow Mobiles and whilst Ice Fishing due to wind chill. The suits and boots supplied by Transun worked well, but good quality salopets and coats work just as well - but why get your own stuff wet?!

All in all we had a fabulous time with the only downside being flight delays at both ends and lack of baggage handling at Manchester Airport where there was a minor passenger revolt. After an hour of waiting a few right thinking guys (one of ours) and galls took things into their own hands and went through the flaps to liberate everyones luggage. It was interesting to see the total lack of officials as the natives got angry!!

In summary, Transun come highly recommended, Strategic Airlines are pants and Manchester Airport Baggage Handlers need a slap.

Room Tip: All good rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Den F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Lovely little hotel. Service was great. Food was nice and plentiful. It's not a la carte but was exactly what you needed after a day in the snow. Kids also catered for food wise. We wanted a small hotel as didn't want the whole commercial thing and this did the trick. We had 2 rooms for a family of 4 and they were more than adequate. Clean, tidy and not a bad size.would really recommend the location of this hotel. Really good experience and would definately go back. Good staff, we felt really at home here and were sad to leave. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the less commercial trip to lapland.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieBottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

After having our original break cancelled due to no snow in Lapland we were more than impressed with Transun in quickly re-booking our holiday. From start to finish the holiday was a great experience. Good flights, well organised at arrival airport, good hotel plenty of food , friendly staff and warm clean rooms. The Transun reps were excellent always on hand to help and the activities well organised. This was a different experience for us and the Husky farm and rides were the highlight. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I have always wanted to see the Northern Lights so decided to take my daughter and 2 grandsons aged 18 and 13 with me. We flew out on 16th December for the 2 night break and was not at all prepared for the beauty and excitement that awaited us.

The hotel was lovely and welcoming and very homely. The rooms were also very sweet and comfortable, they even had a little Xmas tree on the coffee table and the traditional Scandinavian welcome light in each window. The food good and hearty which is much needed as believe me you needs the extra calories because from the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was 100% action packed.

We did the Northern lights adventure package rather than the Santa one and as we were the only 4 on that particular programme we had our very own rep (Pete) to ourselves. Pete was absolutely fantastic and looked after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble and he certainly kept us on the go and busy the entire time.

It's hard to pick a highlight as they were all so good but if pushed I'd say the tobogganing and also the husky safari, but the raindeers and also the snowmobiles were pretty awsome too.

Anyway, thank you Transun, and especially Pete, for making this the most memorable experience - I shall definately be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enontekio
0.8 mi away
Lapland Hotel Hetta
Lapland Hotel Hetta
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kelotin Rantamajat
Kelotin Rantamajat
#1 of 1 in Leppajarvi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jussantupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jussantupa

Property: Hotel Jussantupa
Address: Ounastie 140, Enontekio 99400, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jussan Tupa is a cozy and comfortable hotel that is open throughout the year. Whether it is work or leisure which brings you to Enontekio, you are guaranteed to feel at home at Jussan Tupa! The hotel has two public saunas, a swimming pool, and a third sauna with a living area and fire place, which can be booked for private occasions. At the restaurant, you can enjoy Lappish delicacies. There is a free WiFi for the guests. Hotel Jussan Tupa is located in the administrative centre of Enontekio, called Hetta. All the most important services are located at the very proximity of the hotel. The 'Vuollikka' restaurant by the Lake Ounasjarvi can be booked for large private events. Its beautiful location offers the perfect setting for any celebration. There is also a traditional Lappish 'kota', which seats 30 people comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jussantupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jussantupa Hotel Enontekiö
Hotel Jussantupa Finland/Lapland - Enontekio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing