We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was better than expected but Transun were rubbish!”
Review of Hotel Jussantupa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jussantupa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised, good basic (and warm!) hotel but seriously recommend being on the 1st floor not the ground - it could be noisy when people were going out in the night to see the northern lights, the big boots you get are noisy so please be considerate to others!

Food was pretty basic but wholesome which is what you want in a place like this.

Hetta itself was very quite, we hardly saw anyone but maybe due to it being between Xmas and NY. Hotel is directly opp the supermarket with a huge thermometer on the front so you were never in doubt before stepping out, how many layers to put on!

You have such good boots and suits that you just need thin layers underneath, at -20 to -17 we had 3 layers but for -10 to -5 you only needed 2. Defo don't wear any makeup or creams on your face as it freezes, the strangest bit was the hairs up your nose freezing as you got off the plane!

We had delays going out and even worse coming back (Strategic airlines) and we lost half a day (out of 3 night trip) due to this so not very happy. Communication about flight delays when in Lapland was very poor and the reps were not given any info from the UK / airport at all. (The airport is just like a small hanger so don't expect much when you get there ie no hot food)

The excursions were a disappointment in that we expected what was advertised but we got no more than 10 mins actually "doing" each eg snowmobiles / husky ride. The majority of the time was waiting around, the snowmobile/santa excursion took us out for over 7hrs with no prior warning and we had no food available to us all of that time, there was only a few things to do for a very short time for kids and nothing for adults (was an hour drive each way). Huskies were better as it was local but again, 10mins ride that was all. very poorly organised as it only takes a small change to take small groups and then no-one is waiting for hours to do anything, we had nearly 3hrs of sitting about in a warm hut doing nothing - not what we signed up for!

Having written to Transun, they aren't interested and are very condasending - other reviews confirm this if you look at forums too so take this all into account. Am sure they are great if you have nothing to complain about!

Overall Lapland is an experience - we did manage to work out its c1500 miles from the North Pole. Recommend Lapland but not with Transun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

This was a fantastic holiday, very well organised trips and the reps ,Quincy and Pete pulled out all the stops to make it an enjoyable experience. My friend and I forgot to change our phones on the first day, which resulted in us missing the coach for the first trip to the raindeers, we were greeted by Quincy with a smile and a "dont worry, ill drive you" it was an hour away.! The hotel was warm comfortable and clean and the food was plentiful and good quality. It was a really good trip but we unfortunatly didnt see the lights so I will just have to book again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

A really good hotel, and so unexpectedly warm inside. The room was of an adequate size with a wetroom bathroom complete with a super effective squeejie. There was a small opening window which served as a refridgerator for the box of wine that we took with us. We had no idea as to how much drinks would cost us at the bar (hence the wine) but we were pleasantly suprised. A large beer was about £5 and a glass of wine about £4.50. Not that we spent a lot of time in the bar since a few of our activities involved leaving the hotel at 8pm, and in the case of the snow-mobiling, not returning until after midnight.
The food was much to my liking, all of the meals were good and wholesome,in particular, the soups. It had been well thought out.You were not overwhelmed with a vast array of dishes, as in some hotels, just a good ,sensible selection which met all of our requirements and tastes.
We took far to much clothing. As mentioned previously, the hotel was very warm and so we didn't require the warm indoor clothing that we had taken. The coldest temperatures that we experienced were -11C. I was really snug wearing thermal underwear,a T-shirt, jogging bottoms, a ski fleece and thermal socks. That, together with Transuns thermal All-in-one and Boots was sufficient. We had gloves and hats of course. I had silk inner gloves, thermal mittens and ski-gloves.The mittens were fine, but I would have felt more confident in gloves when 'mushing'the team of Huskies and I deliberately reverted to gloves when we went driving the snow-mobiles.On my head I wore a thin Balaclava and a Russian hat. The gel glove warmers were really effective, which is more than I can say about boot warmers.
Transuns organisation of activities was excellent. We had 2 full action packed days. As well as the scheduled activities, Quincy (Transun rep) arranged a taxi shuttle service for those of us who wanted to visit the nearby Ice Castle, and he lent us some sledges so that we could go playing on some nearby slopes. I've not done that since my lads were young!!!
Looking back, it feels as though we were there for a week , rather than just a couple of days, we packed so much in. Well Done Transun.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooked the snowy woodland. Those at the front overlooked the road (2 cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilSmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My friend and I were meant to fly out on 5/1/12 but due to a bereavement and a planned funeral on 6th we needed to fly 2/1/12 - as we had booked the time off work.
Transun were very helpful and booked us onto the 2/1/12 flight. Thank you Transun for helping us deal with a stressful time.

The flight was with Monarch going out and arrived on time. We were met by Quincy and Peter ( our Transun guides).
They were very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Quincy is really knowledgeable about the area and the Finnish people.

Jussantupa
The hotel is clean and our room was quite spacious. There is a sauna and a small swimming pool.
There is no hair dryer in the room so take your own.
The food was superb. No typical hotel rubbish ,chips ,chips and more chips!.
On the contrary it was good wholesome food and plenty of it. I am a vegetarian and they catered for me.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

In with the price was the Huskie dog ride, Reindeer sleigh ride and the snowmobile ride with a trek to the Northern lights.
The Huskies are amazing and unless you try it you cannot begin to grasp the magical feeling as you move over the snow in the wilderness setting.
The Reindeer sleigh is lovely but very cold and extra layers are needed.
Snow mobiles are hair raising but not to be missed as the forest that the trek is through is almost like a scene from Narnia.
Take a torch on the Northern lights trek as the more the better.
We didn't see the lights as it snowed all of the time we were there but Quincy did say a walk to the back of the hotel on a clear night gives you an opportunity. I set my alarm for 2am but still wasn't lucky enough to see them as the storm didn't clear.

We flew back with Strategic airlines and although there was lots of negative reports about them it was a good flight. We did leave later but that was due to the plane being de iced.
All in All it was a magical experience and one I would love to repeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Lovely small, friendly hotel. Rooms clean,WARM, very scandinavian and Christmassy as we were there just before Christmas. Buffet style meals tempted you to try everything!! even the pickled herring for breakfast! Good choice and three cooked meals a day. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about things to see/do in the local area. We stayed there with Transun on the northern lights experience. Organised activities were very enjoyable, from docile reindeer, unpredictable snowmobiles and eager huskies and it was worth the effort to make our own way to the Sami museum and the ice hotel. BUT Strategic airlines ( 8 hour delay)made the outward journey a misery especially for the families with young children, and caused problems with connections on the return(6 hr delay).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Jussantupa for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Having read previous reviews we weren't expecting great things from the hotel but it was absolutely fine. The food was basic but well cooked and overall the accommodation was clean and warm. The only criticism is that the ground floor rooms are noisy from people above walking around in heavy snow boots and going in and out often during the early hours to try and see the lights. Give Transun a call in advance and ask for a first floor room as they are already allocated when you check in.

The Transun reps were excellent and maintained an almost constant and helpful presence at the hotel without being overbearing or persistently trying to sell additional excursions. The pre-booked trips were fantastic and for us the opportunity to drive our own team of huskies through woods and across a frozen lake was the highlight of the holiday. The nearby "Ice Castle" is well worth a visit and if you can find 8 people in your group to share a taxi with this reduces the cost considerably. The snow suits and boots provided for the duration of your stay are of a good quality and kept us warm but make sure you take decent hats and gloves to cover your extremities! The shop across the road from the hotel stocks a good range of cold thermal clothing and is reasonably priced. The temperature during our visit ranged from -20 to -4 and we found that our camera struggled with this and after a short time in the cold its battery started to die. It is advisable to take a spare battery or keep your camera tucked well inside your suit when not in use.

We were fortunate enough to have clear skies for the majority of our trip and saw the Northern lights at about 11:00pm. A suitable viewing point can be found a short walk to the rear of the hotel although it is worth noting that the floodlights on the nearby ice hockey rink and footpath are switched off at about 10pm which then makes it easier to see the lights (take a small torch for the walk back). As with us if your flight home is during the evening you may get a last chance to see the lights from the aeroplane window so it is worth trying to get a window seat on the right hand side of the plane for the journey back.

Overall we had a great holiday and would highly recommend the arctic lights experience and Transun. For anyone cotemplating this trip our advice is to just do it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSmiley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were a family of 9 on the Transun Festive Lights Experience and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was lovely - warm, clean, good sized rooms and friendly staff. We did not go hungry, but should you require extras there is a well stocked supermarket and off-licence directly over the road. The Transun team of reps were very good and in some cases had their work cut out for them when working with the airline, who were less than satisfactory. We had a Snow Mobile excursion, visit and sled run on the Hetta Husky farm, Reindeer Farm visit and an extra excursion to go Ice Fishing.

All trips were well organised and our high point was the Huskies, a wonderful setting and they were so well looked after. Driving a Sled pulled by 8 Huskies is an awesome experience and comes highly recommended. Second highest on the list was the Ice Fishing, but this was mainly due to the fact that I caught a fish!!! We really didn't expect to but were proven wrong, fantastic!

There was plenty to do in the free time we had - sledging and walks as cross frozen lakes, visiting the shops, nature reserve and coffee shops. The only thing missing was the Arora, but you can't book a clear starry night or the right conditions, that one is the luck of the draw!

We all had fun in the snow and the cold was worth it - do ensure you take plenty of hand warmers, it was particularly cold on the Snow Mobiles and whilst Ice Fishing due to wind chill. The suits and boots supplied by Transun worked well, but good quality salopets and coats work just as well - but why get your own stuff wet?!

All in all we had a fabulous time with the only downside being flight delays at both ends and lack of baggage handling at Manchester Airport where there was a minor passenger revolt. After an hour of waiting a few right thinking guys (one of ours) and galls took things into their own hands and went through the flaps to liberate everyones luggage. It was interesting to see the total lack of officials as the natives got angry!!

In summary, Transun come highly recommended, Strategic Airlines are pants and Manchester Airport Baggage Handlers need a slap.

Room Tip: All good rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Den F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Enontekio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lapland Hotel Hetta
Lapland Hotel Hetta
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
5 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jussantupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jussantupa

Address: Ounastie 140, Enontekio 99400, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range: £82 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jussan Tupa is a cozy and comfortable hotel that is open throughout the year. Whether it is work or leisure which brings you to Enontekio, you are guaranteed to feel at home at Jussan Tupa! The hotel has two public saunas, a swimming pool, and a third sauna with a living area and fire place, which can be booked for private occasions. At the restaurant, you can enjoy Lappish delicacies. There is a free WiFi for the guests. Hotel Jussan Tupa is located in the administrative centre of Enontekio, called Hetta. All the most important services are located at the very proximity of the hotel. The 'Vuollikka' restaurant by the Lake Ounasjarvi can be booked for large private events. Its beautiful location offers the perfect setting for any celebration. There is also a traditional Lappish 'kota', which seats 30 people comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jussantupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jussantupa Hotel Enontekiö
Hotel Jussantupa Finland/Lapland - Enontekio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing