We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:15 - 20:00
Save
Review Highlights
Indescribable 5 day trip!

Four of us recently undertook a 5 day trip up north, and spent some truly unforgettable evenings in... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
AskaCapetonian
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Hetta Huskies 3-day safari

Hetta Huskies is really something else. With +240 dogs at the farm, they are a beautiful... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
maikeclaessen
,
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Read all 252 reviews
  
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
219
22
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
22
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day safari farm tour dog sledding amazing experience love dogs wilderness cabins lucky with the weather social media learn how husky experience northern lights once in a lifetime an adventure special thanks warm drink one night souvenir shop
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A group 28 of us visited on a clear cold day. The owners are very caring for their animals and guests. They took time to give lots of information about the dogs. Then then got to mush. It was about a 3km trip around the farm. We think the dogs knew the way round, then we helped away the dogs, we got some amazing pictures of us taking the dogs to their kennels, they are so strong and wanted to see their friends on the way back, hence we were pulled into snow on the way back. We then helped walk some of the sick dogs from their hospital. I think we will never forget the experience and would love to do it all again.

Date of experience: December 2012
2  Thank Wraxall_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We don't normally walk the sick dogs as part of the program but actually it was really helpful that the bus was late since we have an unusually large number of dogs insisting that they need to be living on our sofa at present (minus their four personal walks a day, of course!). I would love to see some of the photos you said are amazing so if you ever post them on facebook then do tag us to let us know. All the best. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Making an independant trip through Lapland, we were hoping to make a husky safari. This appeared to be quite a challenge, since we were there rather early (beginning of november).

At Hetta Huskies however, owner Anna, guides Meike and Martin and all their lovely dogs were so kind to give us a nice tour on the farm and a first "test ride" for this season in their backyard. We were there only for a few hours, but for us this visit definitely was Finland's highlight!
Anna told us about the life on the farm and about the research Hetta Huskies involves in taking care of the dogs. We are both true animal lovers and we felt very much at ease observing how these people work with their animals, who are obviously happy here. If you are lucky, you might even hear the huskies sing that out loud for you...
The trip on the sled was short, but made a deep impression. While working with the dogs (which is quite intensive), together with Anna, Meike and Martin, we felt closer to Mother Nature. It was a thrill ride and a meditation. It tasted good, it tastes like more...

If you're looking for a unique encounter with nature in the arctic wilderness, organised by friendly people who have a warm heart for animals and the environment, Hetta Huskies is the place to be!

Date of experience: November 2012
2  Thank Ollieonderweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Greetings from the Arctic...
I thought it was high time to write some thank you notes to those who had given us reviews!
We really appreciate it a lot since it takes time and effort to follow up like that.
Meike was studying to be a doctor in Germany but she has visited a couple of times and will, I am sure, keep in touch.
If you would like to keep up with the antics of the dogs and their changing group of guides through the year, and don't think it would put you under too much pressure about getting a pup, then we are relatively active across our social media pages.
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very cold to the point of eyelashes freezing!! But so worth it. Was a fantastic experience enjoyed by us all

Date of experience: December 2011
Thank HDM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Greetings from the Arctic...
I thought it was high time to write some thank you notes to those who had given us reviews!
We really appreciate it a lot since it takes time and effort to follow up like that.
If you would like to keep up with the antics of the dogs and their changing group of guides through the year, then we are relatively active across our social media pages!
All the best
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I drove the dogs's sleigh in my the second day at a farm named Darwin. I spend ones of my best minutes just looking at the lake frozen and forest while was snowing and I felt the wind in my face. It was a really good experience, beautiful skies, amazing dogs, and they are really committed with their job. And if you are an adventure people it is no better way to spend your time in the artic cicle.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2012
3  Thank cassandra_vera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Husky Guide at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Hi Cassandra

We are currently working our way through our reviews, so sorry for the late reply. Glad you had an amazing stay here in Hetta though!

We are just one farm now in the small town of Enontekio; many things have changed so would be lovely for you to come back and see us again!

Thanks

- Rhi :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Magic! The highlight of our trip to Enontekio. We booked direct once we arrive once we arrived at Hotel Jussan Tuppa (5-10 mins away). Excellent value for money. Spectacular scenery helps take your mind off the cold (-30 but don't forget the wind chill on top of that!). The dogs seem very well cared for and the guides were informative. My only advise would be - PLEASE listen to the guides if your are going to drive the sled yourself. The dogs can easily get injured if you don't listen to the guides instructions on 'breaking'. If the dogs slow down and you don't, your sled can hit the rear of the dogs and seriously injure them.

Listen to the your guides and have a fantastic time!

Date of experience: February 2012
1  Thank airspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Greetings from the Arctic...
I thought it was high time to write some thank you notes to those who had given us reviews!
We really appreciate it a lot since it takes time and effort to follow up like that.
If you would like to keep up with the antics of the dogs and their changing group of guides through the year, then we are relatively active across our social media pages!
All the best
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews