We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:15 - 20:00
Save
Review Highlights
Life changing experience.

Hetta Huskies is without a doubt the best husky farm I have ever visited. From amazingly gifted and... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2018
jlaustin420
,
Barrow upon Trent, United Kingdom
Amazing Place

We did a great 40min tour around the farm. This place, people and dogs were just amazing. You are... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2018
Jacky M
via mobile
Read all 230 reviews
  
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
199
21
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
21
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day safari dog team dog sledding amazing experience no electricity dogs love short safari top priority wilderness cabins great holiday husky experience lucky with the weather northern lights offers great a lot of fun super friendly an adventure
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My family and I arrived at Hetta Huskies around 9.30pm on Saturday December 15th, and, despite the late Husky safari, nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff.

Whilst the darkness and lateness are not probably ideal for young kids (especially if they are scared of the dark and you cannot see either the groups in front, or indeed those behind), adults will find the trip to be a real mettle tester in the minus 20 plus degree cold!

The 6 dogs we had were full of character and often turned their heads to look at me the driver as is to say "come on son, help us out" - a memory that will last for a very long time with me.

We got the chance to walk Mr Miagi back to his kennel after his trip and I now just awaiting my son to ask the inevitable question "Dad, can we have a husky pup?"

If I ever get to travel to Northern Finland again, I will be revisiting!

5  Thank Abe_Frohman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Greetings from the Arctic...
I thought it was high time to write some thank you notes to those who had given us reviews!
We really appreciate it a lot since it takes time and effort to follow up like that.
Mr Miyagi is still going strong and his mom is enjoying a great retirement with some previous clients in Switzerland.
If you would like to keep up with the antics of the dogs through the year, and don't think it would put you under too much pressure about getting a pup, then we are relatively active across our social media sites!
All the best
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Attended late Nov with my Adventure Group 'Spice UK' of 22 people. This was the hi-light of our 5 day break in Lapland. We traveled with Tour Operator Transun so the excursion was included in the break.

Anna the lovely owner came out to meet and greet us and prepare us for the experience of husky mushing through a winter wonderland. It was so exciting to see how the dogs were getting ready for us and so keen to run. They were clearly well looked after and loved, and Anna explained some of her philosophy about running the Huskie Farm and animal welfare, which was very helpful.

You actually get to control the huskies and sleigh after a 10 min briefing, and can't believe your whisking along on beautiful trails. My group had 11 sleighs in our group, so they have plenty of teams - i.e. you are not waiting around waiting your turn. I believe they have 120 dogs.

We enjoyed it so much we are looking at returning for a three day experience next year - expensive by our standards but what an experience of a lifetime, and the costs of running the business must be very high with dog care, vet bills, staff wages, so I can see why its alot of money for these trips. It is well worth it though, so if you have the opportunity - don't miss it - it was absolutely wonderful, and a memory to stay with us forever.

2  Thank DaveSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Sometimes you think that only those who have a bad time post their reviews - my faith is being restored! I am so glad that you guys loved your time with us. The beginning of the season is always a challenge as you juggle giving clients the best possible experience with also training the new staff who see all of the systems etc for the first few times. We have settled into a working routine now - which is good since the super intense period is just about to start (the 10 days or so leading up to Christmas day). One thing which is lovely up here (which you will experience if you DO choose to come back, ever), is that every single month is different here for both guides and dogs. November is learning and remembering how to make things work as well as possible. December is innundation and sleepless nights but a spectacular, if dark landscape. January is opening new, longer routes and learning new wilderness trails. And the return of a glimmer of sunshine. February is full-on multi-day safaris whilst we also cope with Feb half-term business back at the farm. March is relaxed with multi-day safaris and long sunshine days. And April is back to training season - one of the best Arctic seasons but few visitors since they are all, by that time, sunshine and beach focused, once more. Anyway, we try to lay out as much information as possible about the area and our activities on our website (although IE has apparently just done another update and messed that aspect up which we somehow have to fix now)....so see if anything interests you and hopefully we will see some of you back for a true arctic adventure one day in the future. All the best. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A group 28 of us visited on a clear cold day. The owners are very caring for their animals and guests. They took time to give lots of information about the dogs. Then then got to mush. It was about a 3km trip around the farm. We think the dogs knew the way round, then we helped away the dogs, we got some amazing pictures of us taking the dogs to their kennels, they are so strong and wanted to see their friends on the way back, hence we were pulled into snow on the way back. We then helped walk some of the sick dogs from their hospital. I think we will never forget the experience and would love to do it all again.

2  Thank Wraxall_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We don't normally walk the sick dogs as part of the program but actually it was really helpful that the bus was late since we have an unusually large number of dogs insisting that they need to be living on our sofa at present (minus their four personal walks a day, of course!). I would love to see some of the photos you said are amazing so if you ever post them on facebook then do tag us to let us know. All the best. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Making an independant trip through Lapland, we were hoping to make a husky safari. This appeared to be quite a challenge, since we were there rather early (beginning of november).

At Hetta Huskies however, owner Anna, guides Meike and Martin and all their lovely dogs were so kind to give us a nice tour on the farm and a first "test ride" for this season in their backyard. We were there only for a few hours, but for us this visit definitely was Finland's highlight!
Anna told us about the life on the farm and about the research Hetta Huskies involves in taking care of the dogs. We are both true animal lovers and we felt very much at ease observing how these people work with their animals, who are obviously happy here. If you are lucky, you might even hear the huskies sing that out loud for you...
The trip on the sled was short, but made a deep impression. While working with the dogs (which is quite intensive), together with Anna, Meike and Martin, we felt closer to Mother Nature. It was a thrill ride and a meditation. It tasted good, it tastes like more...

If you're looking for a unique encounter with nature in the arctic wilderness, organised by friendly people who have a warm heart for animals and the environment, Hetta Huskies is the place to be!

2  Thank OllieArctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Greetings from the Arctic...
I thought it was high time to write some thank you notes to those who had given us reviews!
We really appreciate it a lot since it takes time and effort to follow up like that.
Meike was studying to be a doctor in Germany but she has visited a couple of times and will, I am sure, keep in touch.
If you would like to keep up with the antics of the dogs and their changing group of guides through the year, and don't think it would put you under too much pressure about getting a pup, then we are relatively active across our social media pages.
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very cold to the point of eyelashes freezing!! But so worth it. Was a fantastic experience enjoyed by us all

Thank HDM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetta_Huskies, Owner at Hetta Huskies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Greetings from the Arctic...
I thought it was high time to write some thank you notes to those who had given us reviews!
We really appreciate it a lot since it takes time and effort to follow up like that.
If you would like to keep up with the antics of the dogs and their changing group of guides through the year, then we are relatively active across our social media pages!
All the best
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews