We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jussantupa(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lapland Hotel Pallas(Muonio)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lannavaara Lodge(Lannavaara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Davvi Arctic Lodge(Karesuvanto)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
80
46
8
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
46
8
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshetan majataloreception areasanta tripdrying cupboardyoung childrenseparate buildingnorthern lightshot chocolateunderfloor heatingsalad barfamily runlocal foodhotel is situatedmagical christmascross country skiingtransun repsgift shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

After booking with transun we read some reviews and became a little concerned about our trip. I have to say the transun team were excellent, very welcoming and good fun. The hotel was amazing, Tina on reception made us all feel at home and her mothers cooking is excellent, they catered for all tastes and provided lots of delicious food. The beer and wine is quite expensive but only comparable to some UK hotels I have stayed in. If you are going to this hotel they keep you very warm, our room reached 24C so take some thin clothes as well as the thermals. Our family would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed at the Majatalo hotel last December 10th 2010 for 4 nights for a once in a lifetime holiday to Lapland with my four children and my mum. After quite extensive research in March 2010, I made a decision to book this through Colchester Travel and Transun Right from the start on the flight from Stanstead to arriving at remote Hetta with a short ride to the hotel, it couldn't have been any better. The activities planned by Transun were so much fun and the lovely carol service at the local church was the icing on the cake. We were not disappointed!!Family friendly hotel with the most hospitable welcome from the family that own the hotel. Lovely homely food with so much variety to suit younger kids as well the older ones and some Finnish food too. Hot drinks always available, lots of sledges to use provided by the hotel. Rooms good size with basic shower and bath and lovely and cosy and warm. I would highly recommend this hotel and so much for once in a lifetime, we all want to go again and so I have promised the children another trip in a couple of years before they get too old but no matter what age you are, you never tire of coming to Lapland!!

Room Tip: Can get a bit hot but just because it's so cold outside but they turn the heat down if you ask.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

No bs, nothing extra but nothing missing. No nightlife, no after-ski but real peace and real food. This is for people who know what they want.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suomenjussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Travelled with Transun to Hetta (Hotel Majatalo) for 3 night stay over New Yr. It was fab! Only short 20 min transfer time from airport, thermal suits and boots were excellent quality and plenty sizes to choose from, Rep was lovely, Hotel was lovely-family run, friendly, very warm (needed less clothing indoors than I would wear at home, so don't just pack huge jumpers), good choice of self service food/non alcoholic drinks and always something that the kids (4 &5) were happy to eat. Split level room meant kids could sleep whilst we read downstairs. Nice reception/lounge area if you preferred to sit out there at night instead. Reception doubled up as bar 4 euros for beer and 8 euros for glass of wine but Hetta has a supermarket 5 mins walk away where you can buy beer/wine/snacks much cheaper. Also well stocked gift shop in hotel. Sauna only open for 2 hrs per day but free to use and kids free to join you. Trips were all great, one early morning start and one afternoon start. Santa and snowmobile experience happen an hours drive away and you're out of the hotel for 5 hours in total but there is an indoor area with crafts, warm drinks and toilets to use in the centre of the forest. Kids loved every minute of it and seeing santa was everything I'd hoped for. Loads of great sledge runs for kids and grown ups alike. Our flight time home was changed from 16.00 to 22.00 a few weeks before departure but no one told the rep. She was great when we asked about check out times and extra meals and immediately sorted out a 5pm check out rather than 9am and and an evening meal for everyone as well as extra activities for the last day. Oh and definitely worth buying balaclavas for the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We travelled with Transun for 4nts from the 13th December and would highly reccommend both Transun and this hotel. It was perfect for families, our room was split level, warm, cosy and comfortable - the stairs up to the upper level were very steep so if you have very young children you may prefer to sleep the adults upstairs and kids down. The food was basic but sufficient, filling,and plenty of it with tea, coffee, hot choc, juice, water all available with each mealtime free of charge. The reception area was a great place to sit and talk to other families while the kids played together. (Good idea to take card games/uno etc to play in the evenings) If you`re a light sleeper like me you may want to take earplugs or ask for a room away from the reception area as it can be a little noisy. There were plenty of sledges at the front door that were freely available to you and the surrounding areas were stunning and plenty of beautiful walks and great sledging hills.
We couldn`t fault Transun, 10-15mins from the airport (Thanks to Quincy!) stop to get kitted out with your snowsuits and boots. Lisa from Transun was most helpful and returned our daughters coat that she had left there.
The trips were brilliant. The kids snowmobiles weren`t working the day we went to see Santa but hats off to Transun and Phil for recognising this was a huge disappointment for the kids so they brought the kids snowmobiles to the sledging area the next day so all the kids got a go - thanks Transun.
Don`t go to Lapland if you want Luxury and 5* food but if you want a most memorable, enjoyable family experience then you must go and definitely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandLCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews