We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Korpikartano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Korpikartano
Ranked #1 of 1 Inari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was part of a two centre trip to visit the northern Finland and hopefully see the Northern Lights. We were not disappointed by either the Hotel or the Lights!
Timo and Anna are very friendly and try to help you whatever it is you want to do. We tried
Nordic skiing, the Snow mobile Husky driving and the Reindeer farm all of which were great fun.
The food and accommodation are more than adequate although it would have been nice to have had the chance to have a drink later and it's such a friendly place that the staff tend to assume you've always been there so know everything already, and as such we missed the opportunity for the outside hot tub and sauna. That said I can't think of a better place to go and get close to the scenery and have a fantastic sky show in the evening.

Room Tip: Get outside - that's why you are there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    28
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
troll03
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

If you want to get away from it all, the Korpikartano is the place to go. In a most scenic setting on lake Menesjärvi (I hope I got it right), you truly are in the middle of nowhere - wonderful! But still, if you want some action, you can go skiing, do the husky sledge, or go snow shoeing. And the wonderful Sami museum is not far away. And if you are fortunate - we were! - you can observe the Northern lights at night. The room we had was on the small side, but nicely decorated, and the food we had was always very good (being vegetarians, we always got a special), and hosts and staff are most friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troll03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here at the end of February 2012 as part of a trip organised by Aurora Zone to look for the Northern Lights.
The hotel is, as others have commented, an old school sitting on the shore of a lake in the middle of nowhere, owned and run by husband and wife team Timo and Anna. The location, when the sun is shining, is stunning.
We were made to feel welcome from the moment Timo collected us from the airport. The food was wholesome (no real choice but great quality) and special mention must be made of the morning porridge - delicious.
The equipment for the organised activities was of excellent quality and instruction good.
Everything worked but there was no real gathering place apart from the 'corridor' leading to the dining hall (old gym). I don't think I would want to be in the rooms adjoining this area though I understand that they are converting the office behind the reception area to be the guest's lounge. This will be significantly better.
Jonathan Tapp, in his report, said that there was no open wifi - we asked at reception and we were given the access code which, to be fair, only seemed to work in the reception area.
If you are expecting a 5 star stay you will be disappointed. This is a warm cosy retreat in the wilderness, somewhere to return to when you are cold having seen the Northern Lights (3 nights out of 4).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotelli Korpikartano in late February 2012 on a trip organised by Activities Abroad; the idea was to see the Northern Lights.
Our small group was collected from Ivalo Airport by Timo, the avuncular host. Upon arrival we were introduced to Anne, Timo’s wife; as others suggest, these two are the key to the success of the hotel. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room, 24, was in what appeared to be the older part of a converted Sami school. The two single beds were comfortable. There was a closet and a wet room with a shower, washbasin and WC. Outdoor temperatures down to minus 24c meant that quite a lot of clothes had to be worn (the supplied clothing was good); the room temperature of 17-18c meant that the warm clothing we had brought with us was useful. The saunas were the perfect antidote to the cold weather outside.
We enjoyed the home cooked food, reindeer being the most common item but salads and fruit meant that a good balance could be had. Drinks were only available to buy whilst the evening meal was served; if you wanted to drink later then you had to buy ahead.
Our 4 day stay was fully programmed, with cross country skiing (expertly taught by Timo), snowmobiling, snowshoeing, reindeer farm visit, husky safari (more fun than people had expected), visits to Sami culture and museums, and the Northern Lights with helpful photography tips by Timo and our guide, Toni. I could not believe that I had seen lively displays for three of our four nights and with help had actually managed to photograph these (tripod essential, and an SLR camera).
There is no open wifi in the hotel but there is a PC for guest use which is online. The phone signal was GPRS but as we ventured out and about good 3G coverage was available. A mobile phone is an essential safety device if you are planning to venture out alone.
In summary, I cannot think of a better base for hunting for the Northern Lights. The people here are friendly and wise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The owners and staff were wonderful and made you feel at home the entire time. There was personal service throughout our stay at Korpikartano. In fact we felt like we got to know the staff really well. They organised all the activities that we wanted to do and made sure that the group sizes were small enough for a great experience.
The location is fantastic if you are looking for peace and serenity. The nearest town is Inari which is about 30 km away and we opted to have full board at the Hotel Korpikartano. The food was good quality "home cooking" using local produce. Reindeer is often on the menu and the salmon was very tasty. Be warned though, the meals can become a little repetitive and predictable after a while.
I wouldn't worry about getting to the hotel from Ivalo airport as the hotel staff can organise transfer to and fro for a small charge. In fact, the hotel will organise all transfers to any activities that you choose to do. Transport is really not a problem as the hotel, being in the middle of nowhere, is well used to transporting patrons around.
The hotel is homely and comfortable. We had a room with a small living area, kitchenette and ensuite. There is internet available (free) and the hotel is very well equipped with winter clothing and other equipment etc so we ended up hiring everything.
Overall, we had a great winter experience in Lapland and our stay was made even better by Hotel Korpikartano.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I travelled here in dec 2011 together with my son (4 years), my cousin and her two kids (5 & 8 years old).We stayed in two rooms with kitchenettes so we had lots of space. The rooms were very clean and everything in good condition, the bathrooms are small but ok and we slept really well (and we were able to open the window). There is a sauna (which we used twice) and kick sleighs, sleighs, snow shoes, cross country skis, and even snowsuits and warm winter boots to rent/borrow.

The food was very good, we especially liked the locally fished salmon and the reindeer "burgers". And the oatmeal was the best I've ever had.

The staff really made us feel very welcome and to they really tried to make our stay as special as possible. Anne, Timo, Silvia and Mimmi - thank you!

We went to the Siida museum in Inari (very interesting), husky sledding (cool for the kids), shopping in Inari (Bought creamy reindeer soup!) but the best excursion was with the sami reindeer herder Petri, who took us to see the animals on a snow mobile.

I love this place and will come back - maybe in spring or summer?

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 13 and 14, they are located in the main building and the doors are facing the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilopilo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel is built in front of the Lemmenjoki lake, a beautiful location indeed, very quiet and charming. The wooden building looks like new, with clean nice rooms, even if small. Unfortunately, like many hotels in Finland, you can't open the window... there is an estractor fan of course. Bathroom is small. The restaurant service is basic: you have no choice, there is only a main dish with a side one or some sides. But don't worry about that: cooking is very good and cheap too. Breakfast is good too and the restaurant is clean. The staff is worthy of mention: very kind and helpful. We really had a pleasant stay. I give three stars only because services are basic, but the location is very beautiful indeed and in my opinion this hotel is a good choice. Moreover, you can take a boat or make your own grill in front of the lake in a special place, take a bath in the hot tube, take a cabin too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fulmaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inari
18.4 mi away
Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari
18.8 mi away
Hotel Inari
Hotel Inari
#2 of 3 in Inari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
18.8 mi away
Villa Lanca
Villa Lanca
#3 of 3 in Inari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Holiday Village Inari
Holiday Village Inari
#3 of 10 in Inari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
19.4 mi away
Lake Inari Mobile Cabins
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Lemmenjoen Lumo
#1 of 1 in Angeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Korpikartano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Korpikartano

Property: Hotel Korpikartano
Address: Meneskartanontie 71, Inari 99870, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Inari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Inari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Korpikartano 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are warmly Welcome to enjoy the Luxury of Silence in the Hotel Korpikartano situated by the shore of the beautiful wilderness Lake Menesjarvi, Inari, Lapland, just next to Lemmenjoki National Park. Let yourself relax in the beautiful surroundings of wilderness nature combined with nice activities, good food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Korpikartano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing