We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Christmas Lapland in Hotel Kultahovi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

An excellent family run lodge/hotel in Inari. I was there with my wife and 2 yr old son and we had a superb time 5 nights over the christmas week. Kaisu and her team were extremely hospitable and warm.

We didn't stay in the new river block as it was fully occupied over christmas. However, the main block room was simple, clean and more than adequate for my family of 3. They were also able to provide a kettle and baby cot on request.

We had half board: breakfast was simple but adequate and dinners were great. The christmas eve dinner event was wonderful with a lively atmosphere and Santa even gave my son a husky soft toy present!

A gd base for catching the aurora borealis (it was on display on 2 out of 5 nights, the rest of the nights were cloudy unfortunately), as well as doing reindeer visits and husky rides!

Great service, good location of hotel and accommodation sums up this hotel.

Room Tip: could try the river block side as they have a sauna which will be useful during winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

We needed a base from which to complete a backpacking trip in Urho Kekkonen park. Kaisu and her staff arranged it perfectly. The room was comfortable and quiet. The restaurant offers excellent options for local dishes including red trout, reindeer, and whitefish. We didn't try the big sauna located along the Juutua River but we enjoyed the in-room sauna. The hotel has an interesting history, so be sure to ask Kaisu to share her stories. The Inari Sami culture remains evident and is fascinating. Be sure to visit the Siida museum while visiting Finnish Lapland.

Room Tip: Request view of Juutua River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamEstilaSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We took one look at the "Traditional Room" booked by our travel agent and walked out. Who needs a cramped room with saggy beds and no view if you are not on a backpackers budget?
Althouhg the upgrade was an extra 25 euro a night it was money well spent, as we had a much newer, bigger room with a magnificient view of the river and access to the walking path plus our own private sauna and heated drying cabinet, great for getting our accumulated washing dry. The restaurant was good for both dinner and breakfast and we can recommend the Reindeer

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerriandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We came to Inari to learn more about the Sami people and to explore the Inari cultural center. This hotel was modest and clean. I believe there are a few remodeled rooms, but ours was very basic for the price. I'd recommend you clarify the possibilities and try for a refurbished one. Many guests are fisher people. The setting is lovely, along the bank of a rushing river, and the restaurant actually has an underwater camera to observe the flow and fish. Meals, on the other hand, are really excellent, drawing on the local resources. We enjoyed several dinners including reindeer with a berry sauce(not Rudolph), river fish, and wonderful desserts made with the local berries. The chef is well-trained and very creative. Take time to read about the role this hotel played in WW2. It's quite impressive.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room in the newer wing. Be sure to get one on the river side so you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeaustinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location right by the river, an easy walk from town and the Sami Museum. It has an excellent restaurant and the rooms are clean, comfortable and stylish, some with lovely new saunas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were very happy with this hotel. Really it is more of "lodge" and has a nice family feel. the staff were very helpful and friendly. the rooms are clean and quite adequate. The food is very good and the location on the river bank delightful. Inari is a very special place and definitely worth more than one night- we stayed for 2. I would definitely recommend this place as a stop for travelling on the route to Norway or vice versa. The Sami museum is excellent and the boat trip worth doing.

Room Tip: River rooms in new block I would think are best. ground floor if you have heavy cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you are staying here for the northern lights, i would suggest taking the ground floor units for easier access to the river for viewing and running back to the room for hot drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jade55ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inari
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inari
Hotel Inari
#2 of 3 in Inari
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Lanca
Villa Lanca
#3 of 3 in Inari
32 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Holiday Village Inari
Holiday Village Inari
#3 of 14 in Inari
49 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Korpikartano
Hotel Korpikartano
#1 of 1 in Inari
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari

Address: Saarikoskentie 2, Inari 99870, Finland (Formerly Hotelli Inarin Kultahovi)
Region: Finland > Lapland > Inari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inari
Price Range: £91 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family-run hotel in Inari Sami village. Beautiful location by Juutua River. Standard rooms in Traditional Hotel and superior rooms with own saunas in new River Hotel. A very good restaurant with a view and programs arranged in all seasons for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Inarin Kultahovi Hotel Inari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing