We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ivalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ivalo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ivalo
Helsinki
Level Contributor
233 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is located close to the main road less than a kilometre from the centre of Ivalo (which is really scattered) by the river. The room was rather big, plenty of room to stay even a longer period than one night. Service is very good. We needed to leave already at 6 am and breakfast normally starts at 7 am. The breakfast was ready at that time and excellent: hot buns, crispy bacon etc. There is also a sauna and swimming pool and opportunity to swim in the nearby river if you stand cold water. In the evening there was dance music and possibility to enjoy a dinner.

Room Tip: If possible the riverside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maari100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    166
    62
    12
    6
See reviews for
65
141
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lots of tour groups, however the hotel handled them very efficiently, food was good, Internet free and available in all the rooms. Nice staff, very comfortable in summer. No AC but windows open so nice breeze. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 300_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here in Feb 2012. I chose the Hotel specifically for Aurora watching. I had sytayed in Saariselka 5 years before and so I knew where to base myself. It is 11km from the Airport and midway between Inari, Saariselka and Nellim. Ivalo is also the largest urban area in the region. The location is lovely, backing on to the river. The Hotel lived up to my expectations. It is nothing memorable, other than the setting. The rooms are clean and quite large. The beds are comfortable and generously proportioned. The bathroom is a good size and everything works fine. The decor is however a bit jaded, being more reminicent of 1970's or '80's decor...quite dark and muted....to put it kindly. But if this doesn't bother you then this Hotel will be fine. The dining room is large and every evening I was there they ran a hot and cold buffet. This may have been because there were tour groups staying but either way it was not a problem for me to partake of the Buffet. It was generous, tasty and good value. Breakfast was included and again was generous. The staff were friendly and courteous.
This is a Hotel typical of Finnish Lapland, good, solid and clean, if unspectacular. It is meant to be a base for exploring the wonderful hiking country around or as a place to stay as you pass through on your way to somewhere else. If you are however somebody to comes to a Hotel to lounge around and soak up the atmosphere without every leaving the confines of the Hotel then you are likely to be dissappointed. If like me you came with a purpose then this is an excellent place to stay. I strongly recommend that either you hire a car or come on an organised tour with a tour bus. There are many interesting things to do and see around the area but you have to remember that everytime you leave the Hotel you will probably have to travel 50km to see anything. If you come just to stay in Ivalo you will be dissappointed after a day...maybe even half a day. But if you come to see the surrounding area or hike you will be rewarded with an unrepeatable experience. I would not reccomend this for families with young children unless they like to ski or hike.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anthonymcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Very nice hotel. Clean, with really cheerful, helpful and friendly staff. Room large enough to have sitting area and comfy chairs. Looked out onto frozen river - very attractive. Breakfast first class - lots of choice of food and drinks. Dinner buffet OK - nothing special, but quite competent and always plentiful. Salad bar to start, then choice of mains, with range of veg. Dessert variable - you need to like yoghurt here!. But perfectly acceptable, just not grand dining.
In winter, skis, kicksledges and snowshoes are available free( this year anyway). Great fun on frozen river. Wifi free - but you need to be in reception for good signal. Local town about 10 mins walk. Supermarket, booze shop, coffee shops. Again, nothing special, but quite nice.
Scenery outstanding, and aurora hunting very successful. We'd go again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

after staying here a week recently i found the hotel to be in a nice location lovely view of the frozen river from my room .the room was a double which had a large living area with nice tv and sofa very comfortable area to be inc bed my room also had a sauna in the bathroom wow this was an added bonus staff were friendly and helpful as long as they could understand which was a bit of a problem . if you are half board the food which was buffet was very poor cold and unlabelled so to the al,carte better but if your fussy dont expect it not to come with that sauce you did not was as there is no chance all in all ok if you fancy chasing the aurora its a good location to start from

Room Tip: go for the twin double room to get a sauna in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Big hotel, specialised in touring car groups going to or coming from the North Cape. Located on main street Ivalo, on walking distance from the small town centre - and next to Ivalo river. It's probably one of the hotels on your big trip that won't stay long in your memory. No special place, not a special building, but rooms and facilities and food are okay, swimming pool a bit small,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horta, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, the bathroom adequate and both were clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very good. We paid a little extra for wi-fi but there was no signal in our room so we had to use the reception areas, which were comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringBiker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivalo
0.5 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
16.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#2 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
23.6 mi away
Nellim Wilderness Hotel
22.9 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivalo

Property: Hotel Ivalo
Address: Ivalontie 34, Ivalo 99800, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Ivalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ivalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ivalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivalo is surrounded by Northern Lapland's wilderness and the National Park with its numerous rivers, lakes and fells. From Ivalo you can continue on to Northern Norway, the Arctic Ocean and the North Cape, Hammerfest or the Murmansk region of Russia. The activity service Club Nord provide wintertime experiences such as hunting the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights), enjoying the Lappish nature driving with snowmobiles, husky dog safaris, reindeer or horse sleigh rides. In the summertime, activities include trekking, fishing, canoeing and even gold panning. A visit to the reindeer farm may be the highlight of your stay or indeed a visit to the Sami Museum Siida and the Northern Lapland Nature Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ivalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing