We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near city center”
Review of Cumulus Kemi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumulus Kemi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemi
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel just a walk away from city center. Price is bit high in restaurant but there is many nice restaurants near the hotel. Rooms are standard rooms and bit old. You can sleep here without problems. I recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luki_koskinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Cumulus Kemi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Dreary old hotel, rooms smelled, needs serious updating. Totally overpriced, but there really aren't any other choices for Kemi, which i guess is the reason they overcharge. Staff is excellent however. rooms are a good size. Parking abundant and free. you have to pay a nominal fee for wireless, but have to keep paying every 12 hours, i mean really, what century are we in that you have to keep buying cards for 12 hour wi-fi service. if you want to charge, ok, but have a set fee that streams the entire time. if you happened to be surfing the night before, chances are that when you wake up you have no wi-fi and have to obtain another 12 card (to be put on your bill) at the front desk - MAJOR inconvenience, especially considering how much the room is. Breakfast only so-so. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Good rooms with a awesome bed, very clean with a swimming pool (And sauna but that's standard), internet costed me 1,5€ for 12hours which is OK with me if i stay just a couple of nights.
The floors have little lobbys with chairs and tables and there are sunny days it's very pleasant to spend a little bit of time there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quartilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Very basic hotel. Ok average size room. Very long walk from the corridor to the room. Breakfast ok, but not as excellent as in some other chain hotels in Finland. Ok customer service. Spacious lobby. Little bit outdated hotel. Quite expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel - its set on a quiet street and is typical of many hotels in Northern Finland. Basic, decor a little out dated but clean and well staffed. The only annoyance was lack of Kettle in room for a drink - reason being they had a coffee machine in reception for which they charged me €3 for a mug of hot water!

The staff on the front desk spoke great English and were very helpful. The restaurant was quick and not too packed for dinner - menu is like every restaurant in Finland - packed with chips, beef, burgers and some Reindeer for the more adventurous. We had a pudding at €8 but needed a magnifying glass to see it, was little more than one spoon full- i felt this was a major rip-off!

Rooms were a decent size and well furnished with dial up internet. You had to pay €1 a day for a Wi-Fi token. Bathroom was functional with a shower not a bath.

We didnt have a great night sleep - situated on 2nd floor above the pub/ karaoke bar which between 9pm-1am Thurs & Fri is quite loud. I did complain to Reception who very kindly offered to move me but we declined as it was too much upheaval for just 1 night - so I bought ear plugs instead.

Pool was a nice touch. Sauna is a traditional one - declined to use as not comfortable with the whole naked in front of strangers thing! :-)

Location-wise - is around the corner from a supermarket and the main road through town where the shops are. 5-10min walk to the Gem Museum and Ice Palace for January visitors

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the Karaoke bar
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chippyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a Cumulus chain Hotel. There is nothing special, rooms are small at least to american taste. There is a hallway which has smoking allowed rooms. I sayed in one due to other rooms being fully booked.
Rooms are relatively clean. Resteurant is OK but not gourmet. If you want better just walk around the corner, there is a great chinese and Indian resteurant.
There is a pool and Sauna in the hotel. Also there is a own sauna in couple of rooms. Also suites have their own sauna. "Suite" is like normal american room with sliding wall separating the sleeping area from the living room (normal size).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groundwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on the way from Norway - loved everything: the location, the number itself, the staff, breakfast. Subjective opinion - the hotel rating above 3 stars

Parking: You can park your car or on the street in front of the hotel or the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merihovi
Hotel Merihovi
#3 of 5 in Kemi
90 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotelli Olof
Hotelli Olof
#1 of 2 in Tornio
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Palomestari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Park Hotel Tornio
Park Hotel Tornio
#2 of 2 in Tornio
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
SnowHotel in Kemi
SnowHotel in Kemi
#2 of 5 in Kemi
51 reviews
13.8 mi away
Haparanda Stadshotell
Haparanda Stadshotell
#1 of 1 in Haparanda
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Kemi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kemi Hotel

Address: Hahtisaarenkatu 3, Kemi 94100, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Kemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemi
Price Range: £71 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Kemi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel located 1 km from train station & 8 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cumulus Kemi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Kemi Hotel Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing