We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cumulus Kemi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemi
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed this hotel for two nights because we had to join the ice breaker tour in kemi. We supposed to stay in rovaniemi, but the hotels are booked fast , expensive but not many choices left. Provided I made the booking about 11 months ago. As we had our own car and heading to kemi for the icebreaker, then why not stay in kemi to save the transportation expenses from RVN to Kemi. Therefore, we stayed this hotel and it is clean, good at value , has big room, and the breakfast is lovely. What's more, its restaurant is good too. But be reminded you have to pay 1.5 euros for hot water if you needed. It's not very convenience for those who need to take medicine.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playeemobil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Cumulus Hotel Kemi is a very good example of an "OK" hotel: There's nothing wrong with the place and there's nothing to really cheer about. The service was efficient, not particularly friendly but not impolite either. The room had the basic necessities and nothing luxurious. And the above applies to the breakfast, as well. So, I've got nothing bad to say about it but, on the other hand, it won't make it to my list of great experiences, either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannuVantaalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel just a walk away from city center. Price is bit high in restaurant but there is many nice restaurants near the hotel. Rooms are standard rooms and bit old. You can sleep here without problems. I recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luki_koskinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Dreary old hotel, rooms smelled, needs serious updating. Totally overpriced, but there really aren't any other choices for Kemi, which i guess is the reason they overcharge. Staff is excellent however. rooms are a good size. Parking abundant and free. you have to pay a nominal fee for wireless, but have to keep paying every 12 hours, i mean really, what century are we in that you have to keep buying cards for 12 hour wi-fi service. if you want to charge, ok, but have a set fee that streams the entire time. if you happened to be surfing the night before, chances are that when you wake up you have no wi-fi and have to obtain another 12 card (to be put on your bill) at the front desk - MAJOR inconvenience, especially considering how much the room is. Breakfast only so-so. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Good rooms with a awesome bed, very clean with a swimming pool (And sauna but that's standard), internet costed me 1,5€ for 12hours which is OK with me if i stay just a couple of nights.
The floors have little lobbys with chairs and tables and there are sunny days it's very pleasant to spend a little bit of time there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quartilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Very basic hotel. Ok average size room. Very long walk from the corridor to the room. Breakfast ok, but not as excellent as in some other chain hotels in Finland. Ok customer service. Spacious lobby. Little bit outdated hotel. Quite expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel - its set on a quiet street and is typical of many hotels in Northern Finland. Basic, decor a little out dated but clean and well staffed. The only annoyance was lack of Kettle in room for a drink - reason being they had a coffee machine in reception for which they charged me €3 for a mug of hot water!

The staff on the front desk spoke great English and were very helpful. The restaurant was quick and not too packed for dinner - menu is like every restaurant in Finland - packed with chips, beef, burgers and some Reindeer for the more adventurous. We had a pudding at €8 but needed a magnifying glass to see it, was little more than one spoon full- i felt this was a major rip-off!

Rooms were a decent size and well furnished with dial up internet. You had to pay €1 a day for a Wi-Fi token. Bathroom was functional with a shower not a bath.

We didnt have a great night sleep - situated on 2nd floor above the pub/ karaoke bar which between 9pm-1am Thurs & Fri is quite loud. I did complain to Reception who very kindly offered to move me but we declined as it was too much upheaval for just 1 night - so I bought ear plugs instead.

Pool was a nice touch. Sauna is a traditional one - declined to use as not comfortable with the whole naked in front of strangers thing! :-)

Location-wise - is around the corner from a supermarket and the main road through town where the shops are. 5-10min walk to the Gem Museum and Ice Palace for January visitors

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the Karaoke bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chippyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemi
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Palomestari
13.8 mi away
Park Hotel Tornio
Park Hotel Tornio
#2 of 2 in Tornio
68 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotelli Olof
Hotelli Olof
#1 of 2 in Tornio
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merihovi
Hotel Merihovi
#3 of 5 in Kemi
91 reviews
0 mi away
Hotelli Pikku-Syote
Hotelli Pikku-Syote
#1 of 1 in Syote
19 reviews
0.8 mi away
SnowHotel in Kemi
SnowHotel in Kemi
#2 of 5 in Kemi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Kemi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kemi Hotel

Address: Hahtisaarenkatu 3, Kemi 94100, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Kemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemi
Price Range: £88 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Kemi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel located 1 km from train station & 8 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cumulus Kemi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Kemi Hotel Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing