We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical for kids and grown ups”
Review of Snow Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

if you can go just do it when you can, an amazing 24 hours didnt let our daughter know she was going until we got to the airport, carols on the plane, elfs met and greet you, many different things to do once there, and the big man himself was very impressive i admit i shed a tear when walking in to his cabin( and im a grown man of 40!) a wonderful experience for the whole family would highly recommend.

Room Tip: can't comment on rooms etc as only there for a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooterbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for a night in the ice hotel, followed by 5 nights in the teepee cabin for our honeymoon in February. The ice hotel is beautiful and an incredible piece of engineering. We stayed in an ice suite and thought the extra cost was worth it to spend a night surrounded by the detailed carvings of penguins in our room. We are used to camping and staying in unusual places so the cold and spending the night in a sleeping bag weren't an issue, if anything our only problem was being too warm in the sleeping bags! Ignore the negative reviews of the ice hotel, obviously its going to be very different from a night in a normal hotel and possibly not as comfortable, but this is a once in a lifetime experience and something you will never forget! The teepee was luxurious, with a huge bathroom, jacuzzi bath, sauna, and its own private hot tub outside! It's just a few minutes walk from the ice hotel but you would never know there was anyone else around, it feels very remote. We went skiing at Yllas, dog sledding and on a reindeer sleigh ride during our week in Lapland, all of which were wonderful. We organised our stay at the Snow Village ourselves and the staff were very helpful when we booked our stay via email and with any other queries we had. Overall we would highly recommend staying at the Snow Village if you are looking for a unique and exciting holiday!

Room Tip: Take slippers or flip flops for in the teepee- useful for running to and from the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winton1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed one night as part of our package. As it was I couldn't stay in the room, as I found it claustrophobic, but that was just me.
When we arrived I went to the toilets by reception, and they were filthy. I told the girl at reception. and she shrugged and said they would be cleaned in the morning! We had our tour, led by a bored, monotone young man, then were told that reception would close, and we would be left alone. We were shown the rest room, and told we could help ourselves to tea and coffee. There was no tea, and after a search we found 4 cups in the dishwasher! The rest room absolutely stank of effluence, and I rummaged through all the cupboards and found some bleach, and cleaned both the mens and ladies loos.
The sculptures were lovely, and it was worth a visit, but staying overnight was a very large rip off. It was really not cheap, and the facilities were very poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzieqCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This isn't as good as the original Ice Hotel in Sweden - which I found absolutely magical - but is still worth visiting if you have time to kill when nearby. It's certainly closer to Kittila's ski resorts than the several hour drive to Sweden.

We didn't stay, just made an afternoon visit, and we're glad we ate beforehand. We had seen on their web site that they have a restaurant, and we were tempted to eat there, but without trying the food it looks like the most forlorn school self-service you've ever seen. It was okay for a cup of chocolate.

Room Tip: You have to pay for a suite. There is no point staying in a standard room as they are simply a plain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thehazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a fantastic place! The ice and snow sculptures are truly amazing. We had great fun exploring all the rooms and took many photos. Having a drink in an ice shot glass whilst sitting at an ice table was an experience in itself. We weren't expecting entertainment so weren't disappointed. It is supposed to be a bit of an endurance test but with the help of the cozy sleeping bags we managed to sleep a good part of the night and were given hot berry juice in the morning to revive any chilly bits.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rixdalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel itself is amazing to see - complete work of art with exceptional detail, craftsmanship and skill. As a sightseeing option, no doubt 5 stars.... The problem is staying overnight. It's an experience to sleep in an ice room and you are warm enough with their specialist clothing/bedding. However at 10pm everything closes - the bar, reception, staff go home. We were locked out of reception to effectively fend for ourselves for the night. We received basic instructions but there was nothing at all to do! There was one warm room where you could have a drink (but no milk for tea/coffee), and there was a sauna. However on arrival we were told the sauna had been reserved, later to our disgust it was a staff member who used the sauna all night!! For the price we paid (€500 for dinner and an overnight stay), we felt completely ripped off. I would strongly advise against staying there and just pop in for a visit to see the impressive structure!!

The disappointing thing is, this could be an amazing experience with a bit of effort. There could be a fire outside with a welcome drink, or perhaps a member of staff on through the night, even the bar being open a bit later to make this whole thing a bit more fun. We got the impression the managers know that this will be a one off visit for people so may as we'll keep costs down, to hell with a bit of hospitality! This was our honeymoon too, very disappointing!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillyhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a special weekend break for our special birthdays - and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

We had a log cabin which was lovely It was very clean and had everything you could think off, including TV in English and a log fire, the description didn't give it justice at all - it even had its own sauna. Only down side was it was a good 15 mins walk from the main site - which was the only down side of the weekend (many of the cabins were close by, might have been down to who we had booked it with).

We did the Husky Safari which was fantastic (2 hrs, with an hr each Mushing the dogs) and a stop in a log hut with a beautiful fire eating fresh cooked sausages.

This followed later in the day with a Reindeer Safari, this was enjoyable but the only time I felt the cold (about an hr and half with your own Reindeer) followed with cooking your own sausages in an open fire in a Wig Wam and fresh cooked pancakes.

We also did the Snowmobile Safari - which was just fantastic - 2 hrs (1 hr each) reaching about 60 kph over frozen lakes and through snow covered pine forests was just fantastic. I would have loved to do the Safari which included fishing on a frozen lake, but this is only possible in the week.

That night was the Ice Hotel night (we chose for this to be our last night, otherwise, its the night you arrive), we had our dinner in the Ice Restaurant, the food was fantastic, unfortunately ate rather quickly due to a cold bottom !!! but we did manage pudding !

Then it was a night in the Ice Hotel - I can only describe this as camping in a tent on a very very cold night (kind off) it was an experience (possibly one you wouldn't repeat) but certainly worth doing. We both slept well and enjoyed the experience.

The hotel itself is very worth visiting, it is amazing to know how it was made and constructed and then melts each year.

The staff were totally fantastic and would do anything for you.
The food was excellent and the prices weren't that bad really - yes more expensive than the UK, but not ridiculous.
The temperature whilst we where there was -20, going up to -5 (classed as warm!!) possibly -30 downwards might have been tough to do.

We unfortunately didn't see the lights, but to be honest we weren't that disappointed as the experience was amazing anyway.

We flew from Manchester and only just made the connection at Helsinki (by 5 mins) & unfortunately our luggage didn't make it for 24 hrs - so all those specially brought thermals didn't get much use - the staff were fantastic in lending us thermal gear - apparently it happens often, so take as much as you can in your hand luggage. We only just made the connections on the return trip too !

I would love to do it again, and further explore Finland - maybe next time with the kids (we didn't tell them we were in Santa Land!) I don't fully understand any negative feedback regarding visiting Santa - but then going that far for one day is a tad extravagant - I would recommend a little longer.

PS I am a contact lenses wearer and I had no problems at all in wearing them in any of climates whilst there (I didn't sleep in them in the Ice Hotel)

Room Tip: If possible get a cabin close to the main facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittila
19.8 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
637 reviews
19.9 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
19.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
20 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
9.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
#1 of 5 in Akaslompolo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Village

Address: Yllaesjaerventie 158 | Lainiotie, Kittila 95980, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Kittila
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kittila
Price Range: £228 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Snow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing