We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do!”
Review of Snow Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a fantastic experience! Kind of like camping except that none of your friends really want to hear about your camping trip (boring!) But the night you slept in the ice hotel?? Everyone wants to hear all the details and see all the pictures! LOL
There are 2 types of accommodations, suites and rooms. I didn't see any suites at all, what they really means is: a decorated and beautifully carved room or a snow cave with plain walls. After you tour all the rooms, you will really regret staying in a plain room.
We were "briefed" about what to expect; where to leave our luggage (in the warm area, unless you want frozen moisturizers and clothes!) how to get into the sleeping bag (yes, if you're not a camper you need instructions), where to find the bathrooms (down the hall in the warm area), and the wake up call (not a call at all but a nice hot berry drink). Our dinner in the ice restaurant was fabulous (I agree with the other reviewers about the warm cafeteria, the food looked positively institutional) But in the ice restaurant... a delectable appetizer course, a wonderful fish course and a delicious panna cotta for dessert. All accompanied by vodka shots from little ice shot glasses (when you're done you throw them into a heap behind the bar, quite fun!)
We slept as well as can be expected (you don't stay here for a good night's sleep) and were really pleasantly warm. Even my middle of the night run to the facilities were funny because my coat had frozen to the ice bed, LOL However, getting back in bed was much easier since I was now experienced at maneuvering the sleeping bag.
All in all, a night I will never tire of telling my friends about. A true experience!

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite, the carvings are amazing! The "rooms" are just a hole in the snow, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We went on the search for Santa day trip with Thomson Holidays. We got to the snow village at lunch time. Lunch was included in the day trip, there was a vegetarian lasagne type dish with fries and warm juice. It was rather poor to be honest and didn't set you up for the day like the brochure suggested. We were basically dumped there with a map and approximately 3 hours to visit all the sections, it doesn't seem like much but we were more than ready for the trip home when the time came. I paid just under £1200 for the day which seems hugely expensive but the kids loved it particularly the trip on the snowmobile to visit Santa who was very convincing. It begins to get dark around 1pm so be prepared as it gets pitch black pretty quickly. It was very, very cold. Thomson provide gloves, hats etc so you don't need to take anything with you we lost our hats and you can definitely feel the difference. If you can try to stay for a few days as this trip gives you no time to see Finland.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

if you can go just do it when you can, an amazing 24 hours didnt let our daughter know she was going until we got to the airport, carols on the plane, elfs met and greet you, many different things to do once there, and the big man himself was very impressive i admit i shed a tear when walking in to his cabin( and im a grown man of 40!) a wonderful experience for the whole family would highly recommend.

Room Tip: can't comment on rooms etc as only there for a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooterbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for a night in the ice hotel, followed by 5 nights in the teepee cabin for our honeymoon in February. The ice hotel is beautiful and an incredible piece of engineering. We stayed in an ice suite and thought the extra cost was worth it to spend a night surrounded by the detailed carvings of penguins in our room. We are used to camping and staying in unusual places so the cold and spending the night in a sleeping bag weren't an issue, if anything our only problem was being too warm in the sleeping bags! Ignore the negative reviews of the ice hotel, obviously its going to be very different from a night in a normal hotel and possibly not as comfortable, but this is a once in a lifetime experience and something you will never forget! The teepee was luxurious, with a huge bathroom, jacuzzi bath, sauna, and its own private hot tub outside! It's just a few minutes walk from the ice hotel but you would never know there was anyone else around, it feels very remote. We went skiing at Yllas, dog sledding and on a reindeer sleigh ride during our week in Lapland, all of which were wonderful. We organised our stay at the Snow Village ourselves and the staff were very helpful when we booked our stay via email and with any other queries we had. Overall we would highly recommend staying at the Snow Village if you are looking for a unique and exciting holiday!

Room Tip: Take slippers or flip flops for in the teepee- useful for running to and from the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winton1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed one night as part of our package. As it was I couldn't stay in the room, as I found it claustrophobic, but that was just me.
When we arrived I went to the toilets by reception, and they were filthy. I told the girl at reception. and she shrugged and said they would be cleaned in the morning! We had our tour, led by a bored, monotone young man, then were told that reception would close, and we would be left alone. We were shown the rest room, and told we could help ourselves to tea and coffee. There was no tea, and after a search we found 4 cups in the dishwasher! The rest room absolutely stank of effluence, and I rummaged through all the cupboards and found some bleach, and cleaned both the mens and ladies loos.
The sculptures were lovely, and it was worth a visit, but staying overnight was a very large rip off. It was really not cheap, and the facilities were very poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzieqCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This isn't as good as the original Ice Hotel in Sweden - which I found absolutely magical - but is still worth visiting if you have time to kill when nearby. It's certainly closer to Kittila's ski resorts than the several hour drive to Sweden.

We didn't stay, just made an afternoon visit, and we're glad we ate beforehand. We had seen on their web site that they have a restaurant, and we were tempted to eat there, but without trying the food it looks like the most forlorn school self-service you've ever seen. It was okay for a cup of chocolate.

Room Tip: You have to pay for a suite. There is no point staying in a standard room as they are simply a plain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thehazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a fantastic place! The ice and snow sculptures are truly amazing. We had great fun exploring all the rooms and took many photos. Having a drink in an ice shot glass whilst sitting at an ice table was an experience in itself. We weren't expecting entertainment so weren't disappointed. It is supposed to be a bit of an endurance test but with the help of the cozy sleeping bags we managed to sleep a good part of the night and were given hot berry juice in the morning to revive any chilly bits.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rixdalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittila
19.8 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
628 reviews
19.9 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
20.2 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
20.0 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
9.9 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Village

Address: Yllaesjaerventie 158 | Lainiotie, Kittila 95980, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Kittila
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kittila
Price Range: £231 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Snow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing