We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent reindeer safari for the whole family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolverine Fell Wilderness and Nature

Wolverine Fell Wilderness and Nature
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Kittila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: This company, which translates as Kätkätunturin Erä ja Luonto in Finnish, provides programme services all year round based on previous booking. In winter safari including reindeer ride, ice fishing and salmon soup is the most popular one. Additionally, also snow shoe excursions and wilderness skills competitions are available. In summer one can enjoy sauna and fishing on our lake, marking reindeer at the farm, hikes in the bog or hunting geese, and other fowl.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent reindeer safari for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Between the skiings at Levi we decided we needed a bit more of that genuine mythical Lapland mystique so we contacted Kätkätunturin Erä ja Luonto and asked if they had anything fun for us. A reindeer sleigh ride was arranged for the next day and we arrived exactly on time and they had the reindeers as well as the reindeer keepers waiting for us. Petra, our hostess, along with Kari and Mikko immediately made us feel welcome and explained what would happen next and that we in fact were expected to ride the sleighs ourselves. We accepted our fate and minutes later set of in sprint behind our reindeers Tornado, Pilvi and Dion. After 1.5 km we arrived at a small cabin by a lake and had a nice cup of coffee and warm drinks as well as a stroll on the icey lake. Time flew by when chatting with Petra and Kari and soon it was time to head back again as we had opted for the shorter program without fishing and fish soup lunch. Very friendly service and I can highly recommend this friendly bunch!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank PandyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

After contacting them by email and getting a really quick response we booked a full day of reindeer sleigh ride, ice fishing lunch, snow shoeing and more reindeer sleigh ride.
The whole day was brilliant, driving our own sleighs without assistance, drilling our own ice hole in the lake falling in the snow and we got our reindeer driving licenses! The team were brilliant nothing was any trouble, the fish soup for lunch was delicious and even a non fish eater liked it. Make sure you do wrap up warm though, we did and didn't get cold but I could imagine if you weren't suitably dressed and got cold you might not enjoy it as much as we did. A really fun way to spend the day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Phe0nix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful Finnish experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

What a great day out! My partner and I had a wonderful time, first riding the reindeer sled out to the lake and then trying our hand at ice fishing. My girlfriend caught a nice rainbow trout and although I did not it was lots of fun.
There was a wonderful hut with a blazing fire inside and food and tea. They also cooked up our fish for us which was absolutely delicious.

Our guide Petra deserves a special mention as she was welcoming, funny and overall just a pleasure to be around and talk to. Thank you so much!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Children's Playground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We took the kids here last year and had a fantastic time . From husky rides to decorating ginger bread. From sledging, to reindeer sleigh rides and Ski-Dooing deep into the forest to meet Father Christmas. It was -40 when we were their and it felt colder on the back on a Ski-Doo. The Food was ok not much for the kids, and you will need to get a few Finlandia's down your neck at the Ice Bar / Hotel to keep warm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Safari - reindeer, snowshoeing, ice fishing, salmon soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

A fantastic day out! We took a reindeer sleigh ride through a snowy forest to the Lake. Here we tried ice-fishing and snowshoeing. We then enjoyed salmon soup, bread, and trout that someone caught cooked freshly in front of us in a Lappish Hut. To finish, we journeyed back with the reindeer & received a reindeer driving license each.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mitzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wolverine Fell Wilderness and Nature also viewed

 

Been to Wolverine Fell Wilderness and Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing