We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Eco-Friendly & Intimate"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virgin Islands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Waterbury, Vermont
1 review
“"Eco-Friendly & Intimate"”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My boyfriend and I selected the Virgin Island Campgrounds for a less touristy vacation. It was just that. We had fun exploring the island, and Debbie and Paul, the owners, made helpful suggestions on places to visit. We spent the majority of our time on Honeymoon Beach, just a five-minute walk from the Campground, where there is excellent snorkeling, silky-white sand and some fun locals to entertain you! Not to mention, the best painkiller we've ever had...

The Campground provided upscale camping- including a shared bathhouse equipped with clean toilets, sinks and showers, an outdoor pavilion to do your cooking, and most importantly, a BEAUTIFUL VIEW to soak up every day you are there! The bonus of this Campground is that it's Eco-Friendly- they use cisterns to collect water, windmills and solar panels to generate power and not-so-offensive composting toilets to sustain traffic from the campers.

I recommend the Virgin Island Campgrounds to those who are looking for a unique vacation away from the hustle and bustle of St. Thomas. It's comforting to know, however, that if you're feeling the need for a bit more action, St. Thomas is just a five-minute ferry ride away!

Thanks again to Debbie and Paul for an AMAZING stay, we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thanks so much for the nice things you had to say about Paul and I and Water Island.

We, too, hope you will be back to join us. Remember, returning guests receive a 10% discount.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
168
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Like other reviewers have said, PARADISE is the only way to describe my stay at the Virgin Islands Campground. My roomy and clean cabin looked out over the island's tree-tops and a beautiful ocean view. Water Island, the location of the campgrounds, is an easy ferry ride to the lively St. Thomas, where there is great shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. I feel that, staying here, we just really got the best of everything--incredible views, relaxing privacy, close proximity and easy travel to mainland shopping/restaurants/bars, fun snorkeling spots, friendly locals, sandy beaches. I was worried about camping since I couldn't bring "gear" on my plane flight down, but the owners have thought of everything--comfortable beds, screened-in cabins with optional window covers, clean sheets and towels, our own balcony, a public seating area with grill, refrigerator, and more. I can't imagine anyone being discontent with this little piece of paradise!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thanks so much for the nice review...we enjoyed your stay, too. Sorry it was for such a short time and we hope you can stay longer next visit.

A reminder that all returning guest receive a 10 % discount.

All the Best,

Deborah and Paul Quade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is truly a Paradise Adventure and great for all ages; privacy, super clean, and beautiful beaches, views, and accomodations. My daughter even wants to get married here!!!!! Great experience for all ages. Can't wait to come back for the wedding.....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Don't forget you will get 10% off for the wedding. We LOVE weddings and hope your plans work out.

Thank you for your review...very nice.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I am a world traveler, always seeking new and unexplored paradises. And this fits the description. This site is on the secluded island off of St. Thomas (very accessible). If you are looking for blue waters, clear skies, pristine beaches, and your own hidden cabin with breathtaking views you need to stay here. The owners are super accommodating. The site is very clean and eco-friendly. And adventures are waiting around every corner, if you so choose. A must for anyone who wants a place to get off the map and clear their mind!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Callie B I want to sign you up to market our property...never have I seen such elegant words to describe us!! WOW!! And your picture of the "pirate" and others were fantastic!!

Please come back and see us again...you know about our discount...and if you can do some marketing...we can really work on that price.

We wish you and your non-profit all the best.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul Quade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Everything it says in the virginislandscampground.com home page is absoultly true. Really clean cabins and linen. Clean and well equiped bathhouse and outdoor kitchen in the pavillion. The owners are great caring people that make sure everything is set up right for your stay. They obviosly took great care in designing the cabins for as much privacy as possible, and the cabins themselves are set up great. I stayed at Maho Bay a few years ago and expected a similar experience but this is far above. Facilties are way cleaner and and the kitchen for the guests use is fantasticlly better than trying to cook and clean your dishes in the maho cabin. Loved "Honeymoon Beach" which is a few minute walk. You can get a good reasonably priced lunch there, and the local's on the beach are great. The Beach was never crowded. A very quiet island getaway, with the ferry to st thomas for food shopping, dining out, etc. I loved falling asleep every night to the sound of gentle waves down below the campground. I really hated to leave.

Room Tip: The one apartment they have gives you own kitchen and bath, but every cabin has a private porch with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Bob H,

FYI, Maho is closing the end of May, 2012, so we really appreciate you making the comparison to them...even though I know we are so much different, we hope to pick up some of their guests at that time...

We are really glad you had a great time...we can tell when people like this place...right away we could tell that was you!!!

We hope you will join us again some day...

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagrange, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Hands down - absolutely the most relaxing, peaceful, beautiful place I have ever stayed....although it was good to know that the excitement and night life of St. Thomas was a quick ferry ride away.....I could have stayed here forever:)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
I am so glad you had a great time. We hope you will join us again some day. Remember, all returning guests receive a 10 % discount !!

Sincerely,

Paul and Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We visited the Virgin Islands Campground in late June this summer and had a great time. The owners are wonderful and quite helpful and the island was both fun and peaceful. Deb (one of the owners) also provided us with great toe rings at a good price and with great service!

I recommend the campground for anybody who wants a real break with lots of relaxing and fun, but not the overbearing resort experience where everything is done by somebody else.

Definitely rent a golf cart for at least a day. Cruising the eastern end of the island is a great trip and you can find your way to Sprat Bay (it's via a private enclave, but access is possible for anyone willing to go - which we did - just go to the upper entrance. We were careful to not invade anybody's property and stuck to the road and only really got out at the Sprat beach - again not invading any facilities that appeared to be private.)

No need for a golf cart though if you just want to walk to the beach and to the ferry. There is a shortcut, but we found taking the road was a bit more relaxing than navigating the path.

Most important recommendation if you visit - you must bring mosquito repellent. If you use Off or other spray with Deet you'll be fine. Spray before dusk and then no worries.

Nights are a bug and tree frog sound symphony - takes a little to get used to then you're fine. One tree frog species (I swear) sounds like an alarm clock.

We recommend having a decent rum or beer at the Pavilion while preparing dinner and enjoying the view. Pack spices you like to cook with as they were a bit expensive at the grocery store.

Food and drinks on Honeymoon Beach are a fine option at Heidi's. It's not insanely expensive and the food is good. You're on vacation - eat a burger and have a beer and enjoy. The bar at the south end is also a nice option.

Lots of fun sea life to observe right at Honeymoon Beach. We brought our own swim goggles and swam early every morning for exercise at Honeymoon Beach - like having a private beach in the morning. Otherwise get snorkeling gear from the campground and enjoy the experience.

Cruise ships occasionally bring people to Honeymoon Beach, but it's not bad and only lasts a couple hours. People watching opportunity really and chance to feel smug for not being on a cruise ship.

WiFi in the campground. I would like to recommend not bringing a computer or the like and getting away from that existence, but really - we brought ours and we don't regret having it for reading, communication, etc.

Lastly - Limestone Bay surely is a fine place to visit, but watch out as you go through the underbrush to get to it - there is a bee's nest. Did I mention Deb also does first aid for bee stings?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimothynStephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Tim and Stephanie,

We are looking forward to Tim's return visit...thanks so much for the "memories"...I forgot about the bee sting!

Glad you are enjoying the toe rings...loved your pictures!!


Thanks for taking the time for the "shout out"...much appreciated.

Tim, see you before too long.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Water Island
6.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
714 reviews
2.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,793 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Property: Virgin Islands Campground
Address: 64 Water Isle, 00802-7803, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Water Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the concept of Upscale Camping! A handful of roomy tent-cabins feature ocean view terraces and all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing