We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique way to see USVI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Virgin Islands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
2 reviews
“unique way to see USVI”
Reviewed 27 March 2009

VERY relaxing. Great views. Not a night spot however. Go here to seriously chill out and have a pleasent time. No stores on the Island, no clubs, last ferry to mainland at 6pm. Good snorkeling and fishing.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForSvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
164
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Loved it! My wife and I came here for our 10th anniversary and it was a truly remarkable experience. The cabins are rustic but comfortable. The communal areas were clean and well cared for. We didn't quite understand how the refridgerator worked on a timer or something and our milk spoiled but the Quades made a trip to get some more for us on the spot. We loved sitting in the hammock at night looking across the bay at the lights on St, Thomas. The daytime views of the blue waters of the Carribean were even more stunning. The maritime breezes and ocean waves lulled you to sleep each night. Honeymoon beach is beautiful. The Quade's have snorkling equipment to rent. A good deal. Heidi's Candlelight Sunset Dinner on the Beach on Saturday night was delicious and romantic. The Monday night Movie night on the beach was fun too. Bring a flashlight for the walk back to your cabin! Took the ferry to St. Thomas a couple of days to see the sights there. I hope we can return some day.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmtreenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh, usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

A friend and I travelled to Water Island on a whim last year. We absolutely loved everything about this secluded island camp. There is a hot tub and a communal cooking area. The beach is a quick walk down the hill. The scenery was amazing and we could see the ocean from our bed (cabin #1)! What a way to wake up!! Deb was very hospitable and we had lots of privacy. There were other travelers but we spent a lot of time with the very friendly locals who took us on a tour of the island and a snorkeling trip!! The only thing I would warn you about is that it can be difficult to find food on the island so stock up at the market in st thomas BEFORE getting on the ferry ;) Loved it and will be visiting again soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We stayed there for 2 weeks in cabin #1.

The "Campground" name is not very appropriate. As one can see from the pictures posted here the cabins are very nice, offer splendid views (day and night, could see the sun-rise form the balcony) and comfort.

Included in the cabin is a balcony with table and chairs, storage with counter top area, a couch on the opposite wall with plenty of space and separate sleeping area with a queen size bed.

Facilities include an outside jacuzzi, recreation room with TV, Internet and freezer, then in another building are the showers and toilets, and lastly a very large pavilion for cooking and food/utilities storage includes two fridges.

The island has 3 beaches, main one being Honeymoon Beach. We did trips exploring the island in three different days 3-4 hour each.

We also did 2 snorkeling trips one in St Thomas and another one with Karl on his sailing boat. Recommend Karl with is sailing boat!

St. John is 1 hour away by boat from St Thomas. We did hiking there as well for 1 day.

On watter Island all the people that we met were friendly, never had any problems. Loved the all you can eat pizza place!

The hosts Debra and Paul were very helpful with any questions that we might have and have wonderful stories to tell.

Place is clean and very well maintained.

If you just want to relax or plan to explore VI, Water Island Campground is the ideal place to set you quarters.

Bogdan Dec 21 2008

  • Liked — Un-expected comfort offered.
  • Disliked — No copmplains. I have nothing bad to say.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank victor3172000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2008

What an awesome relaxing place to stay. If you're going to St. Thomas for quiet and relaxation why not go where the locals go for peace and quiet....Water Island. The campground was clean, comfortable and the view.....beyond words. The first night was dinner at Heidi's on Honeymoon Beach....RibEye on the beach with out feet in the sand. Then there was drive-in night....watching Indiana Jones played on a screen stretched between 2 palm trees..

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank felidoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Just two ordinary honeymooner's getting away from all the chaos of ordinary life to enjoy & appreciate each other & what life has to offer in the USVI, via USVI Campground on Water island -- a beautifully secluded paradise. I catch my breath remembering my experience there & I struggle with words to justly describe the joy & pleasure of the experience. Who can describe the beautiful colors of the ocean unique to the Carribean? Or of the vibrant & blending colors of sea life. Who can describe the observed personalities of sea turtles, fish of all kind, sea worms, Iguanas, birds, insects (oh, the insects & amphibians put on the most beautiful concert every night -- amazing their LOUD music lulled us to sleep :) ? Would you dare say the ocean spoke or has a personality? We were blessed! Deborah & Paul are wonderful people & they obviously take pride in their responsibilities to nature & in sharing their gift of paradise with others. Visitors beware of a contagious malady -- the gnawing, heart breaking, wrenching your mind puts you through to do everything possible to get you back there.

  • Liked — Privately tucked away in lush vegitation & views
  • Disliked — Mosquitos were a nuisance but manageable
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sh00ting_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I brought my wife here on a surprise trip for her birthday. From the moment we got on the boat shuttle to Water Island, we knew this was going to be a good trip. The property is exactly as we expected, what we considered Camping Plus. One of the owners picked us up from the dock, gave us a quick tour of the island and showed us the amenities on site. We set up our cabin and began exploring. We had a great view of the water from our cabin and the communal cooking area up top provided great views of sunset and of St. Thomas. Honeymoon Beach was beautiful and quiet most of the time. The food on the beach was excellent and cooked on site and Joe's bar offered delicious frozen cocktails. We headed into St. Thomas a few times, but would have been equally as happy relaxing on Water Island. We spent time snorkeling, one of the employees was nice enough to take us snorkeling for Lobster.The eco-friendly bath house was very clean and much better than we expected from other camping trips. We look forward to returning once hurricane season passes again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Water Island
6.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
6.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
6.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
6.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Property: Virgin Islands Campground
Address: 64 Water Isle, 00802-7803, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Water Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the concept of Upscale Camping! A handful of roomy tent-cabins feature ocean view terraces and all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing