We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water Island is the best place to escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virgin Islands Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Virgin Islands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Water Island is the best place to escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Water Island is an incredible spot. It is easy to get to from St. Thomas, yet feels remote. Honeymoon Beach is beautiful and is usually nearly empty. The few island amenities are fun: Joe's makes the best Painkillers, the pizza's worth the wait, and the movie night is a great communal experience. If getting away to a place with no tv sounds like fun, this is a good place for you. The hosts at the campground are great, too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
161
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

My husband and I lead full lives in the middle of New York City. We are 79 and 70, married nearly 46 years; we teach and write, are close to our children and take care of our grandchildren. It's a good life, but once in a while we long for something different -- quiet, time to read for hours, to talk uninterrupted and give our attention only to each other. The Virgin Islands Campground was perfect for us.

We brought along mostly bathing suits and books; didn't need much more. We swam and read, walked and returned to reading, slept whenever we felt like it. We loved the view of the sea from our tent-cottage, the calls of birds, the chickens under the porch and tortoises along the paths, hummingbirds at the feeder, stars bright overhead. It felt like camping but more comfortable -- camping with bed and reading lights. We checked e-mail occasionally from the community-room computer but otherwise dropped off the world.

Deborah and Paul were wonderfully considerate hosts. They showed us around and explained how things worked, supplied clean towels and lifts to the ferry, answered dozens of questions. They made sure we knew about special events (dinners and movies on the beach, pot luck suppers) but didn't seem to mind when we chose to stay at home.

We stayed two weeks and wish it had been longer. Certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityWalker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Very nice break away from the North East winter. The campsite is much more than a camp site. Everything you need is here and Deborah took care of any questions we had. The island is a perfect get away. I would advise renting a golf cart for a day and exploring the island. If you do it on a Monday, you can watch movies on the beach. It was like an old drive in theater! I would advise bug spray though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wblacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Water Island is a real escape. This is the only place I have ever been where I truly felt that I was able to relax and destress. You can spend your day however you like. No crazy tourists or a crazy list of must sees. A perfect day every day can consist of waking up at sunrise, taking a long walk, lounging and swimming at the beach all day, enjoying great food and some wine and stars at night. And then....you can do it all over again the next day!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srtawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We loved it here! It was so nice to feel the breeze through the screens, and hear and see the Carribbean, while sleeping on a clean comfortable bed. The rooms were spacious and well-designed. The common area was equipped with everything you could need for cooking and relaxing. Just a 10-minute walk to a gorgeous, quiet beach with great snorkeling. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Paul and Deborah have built a slice of heaven here on tiny Water Island. Gorgeous sunny days; blissful views of the sunrise and the big ships pulling in and out of harbor right from bed; nearby clean, clear beach with fun snorkeling; local people who put on fun weekly events like Pizza Night and Movie Night for all to attend and so much more to talk about! We made the trek into St Thomas for a "day in the city" sort of thing and found ourselves wanting to go back to our beautiful little campground cabin and Honeymoon Beach immediately! If you are thinking of staying on St. Thomas, you better want to spend your time shopping because that is pretty much all there is there.

Oh! And when you come to the campground, pack a whole suitcase of food! From the US, there is no trouble traveling with food and it makes the trip much easier. Paul and Deborah provide everything you need to turn your food into a feast! Refrigeration, stovetop, plates and pot and all that.

LOVED IT. WILL RETURN FOR LONG WEEKENDS REGULARLY.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I chose Virgin Island Campground because it had the best reviews out of the various eco-camping options in the virgin islands, and it definitely lived up to my expectations.
It's not camping as you know it, but luxe camping with conveniences: private wood-frame-canvas-screen tent-cottages tucked into the trees, each with a comfortable bed, porch with a water view and cooler for beer, electricity, and even wireless for iPhiles. There is also a hammock and a cooking pavilion that is a wonderful place to have coffee and eggs and read in the morning light, or to enjoy a breeze while grilling dinner in the evening and chatting with fellow campers. As well as a room with a computer and TV for watching movies.

My only issue was the heat and bugbites that kept me up at night sometimes. I went in May, so I think the heat probably wouldn't be as bad in the winter. Also, the bikes available were too rusty and old to use, so I didn't get get to do any island exploring by bike. Regardless, despite the lack of air conditioning, the magical feeling of sleeping in a treehouse made it all worth it and I would choose to stay there, or a similar eco-campground on a future caribbean vacation.

I was impressed by several sustainable measures at the campground: electricity powered by onsite wind turbines, composting toilets (which didn't smell!), captured rainwater that is filtered for drinking and heated by solar energy for showers. Water is also conserved by spring-loaded faucets and pull-cord showers.

The island is home to Honeymoon Beach, which has it all: A shallow sandy bay that feels like a warm saltwater pool. Decent snorkeling - in one afternoon you can swim with a sea turtle, see a school of fish, and a stingray. Palm trees and picnic tables for shaded spots to kick back. Joe's Beach Bar for drinks (the closest thing to nightlife on the island), and Heidi's Honeymoon Grill truck for lunch as well as a weekly gourmet dinner, which was the best meal of the trip. I liked Honeymoon Beach better than the beaches on St John.

The campground is a fairly easy half mile walk to both the beach and the landing where a commuter ferry shuttles back and forth to St. Thomas every hour or so. In less than ten minutes, the ferry docks at a marina on St Thomas that has a restaurant, grocery stores, and a great dive shop, Blue Island Divers, so it was easy to get back and forth for diving. I only needed cabs for trips to and from the airport and for an excursion to St. John, which made me happy that this vacation was essentially car-free because because I saved money by not needing to rent a car or take lots of taxis around (plus squishing into stuffy and sweaty taxis on St Thomas was not fun).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twostars4arms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Water Island
6.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
6.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Property: Virgin Islands Campground
Address: 64 Water Isle, 00802-7803, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Water Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the concept of Upscale Camping! A handful of roomy tent-cabins feature ocean view terraces and all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing