We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay, 18 - 22 december'13. Winter wonderland hotel, fantastic hotel, fantastic location. Good food, alcohol very expensive, £12 large glass of wine, £7.50 pint of lager. Recommend buy alcohol for the room in duty free. Thomson reps great, and we purchased all tours direct from them. Elf adventure, waste of money, however husky ride, skidoo's and reindeer rides were fab, only downside is you think you are paying for a 2 hour trip, but lasts only approx 30 mins, the rest is a chat and a drink of berry juice. The gala dinner was great, but some families did have a long wait to meet Santa. Overall would definitely recommend but as a once in a lifetime opportunity. Money well spent, but be warned, you will probably spend the same again on trips / activities. Fantastic time and fantastic holiday.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    104
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
139
42
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We chose to come to this hotel to get married and weren't disappointed. The wedding location was magical and the whole trip was fantastic. There were four adults, no children and we loved every minute. The Thomson staff, the hotel staff and our wedding elf, Fairy Lights did everything they could to make sure we had a perfect time. All of the small touches were great. They were very accommodating; we were given the option of having our upgraded wedding meal the day before the wedding so that we could enjoy the gala meal on the wedding night and not miss out. They also took all four of us to the town hall for the meeting with the registrar so that we could then stay to look around Rovaniemi town and make our own way back later on. Even though we decided to do this, it was nice that the meeting was arranged quite early so that we could have made it back in time for the taster sessions if we had wanted.
We stayed in log cabins which was brilliant. When we booked, there weren't any of the deluxe cabins left so we had to book a normal one but it was great. Although we didn't see the inside of the deluxe ones, I don't think there could be that much difference between them. The sauna was a lot better than expected and is also really handy to have if your wedding dress has got quite creased during the trip over there!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne_H_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hi my sister in law booked this hotel for her wedding to which we all paid over £750 each for 4 nights . I am a frequent traveller and for that money you expect a good hotel and good standards.
We arrived to the hotel after travelling from 3 am , we got to the hotel at around 3pm .
Soon as we arrived we had to buy our own lunch we was not even offered complementary drinks .
We than waited for our rooms to get ready and it was 16.30 rooms still weren't ready , finally at 1700hrs we got our rooms to which I find it ridiculous we where really tired.
Rooms where really basic & we had single beds , bathroom was basic and not very clean , clean less of the room I would rate it at 3 very poor.
Rooms had bad walls therefore you could hear everyone specially people walking on the corridor .
Cofee tea facility in the room was rubbish and never got updated.
They didn't clean our rooms properly everyday they just threw the bed cover on the bed & that was it . Towels had lots of stains on them .
There wasn't enough facilities for kids to play tiny kids room with hardly any games or toys . However they could enjoy playing outside in the snow but soon they got bored of it . So the kids where running around in the hotel aimlessly .
If you wanted to enjoy your stay you would have had to book trips which cost over £130 per person very expensive in my opinion compared to what you pay fort he trip.
Lunch wasn't provided so we had to pay for our lunch everyday . Dinner was ok but it was so hard to find a seat for your family to sit down because it was always full & no help from staff .
Drinks where very expensive infact stupidly expensive .
We had tester sessions for some activities which was nice .
We wanted to go to the town and when I asked thomsons rep how much it was to get taxi she said 120 euros I later found out it was 55euros , she was trying to get us to book with them which would of cost us 30 euros per person ,, however we was in a group so we booked our own bus that cost us 17 euro per person & we got few other people in the hotel to come with us so we managed to fill the bus and saved allot of money .
Wedding was great the gazebo for the wedding was very special and we had private lodge to have the reception that was nice .
We had a gala dinner on our last day to which it took staff over 2 hrs to serve us food .
To be honest I don't think I will ever visit Finland again as I believe it was waist of money and nothing special to see .
Staff at the reception was really nice and very helpfull .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eylem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This truly is a wonderful place to stay, made so by the stunning location, helpful staff, holiday reps and elves.

We were a party of 9 (4 adults and 5 children) and traveled to Lapland for our "white wedding".

Our rooms were very clean and the food was great! But what made this trip extra special was how well we were looked after from start to finish, nothing was too much trouble. The first day was a taster day for the trips which were on offer these included husky and reindeer sleigh rides and snow mobile rides across the picturesque frozen lake. The children loved playing in the snow with the reps and the trips out were very well organised.

There were always activities going on carols and toasting marshmallows on an open fire, writing letters to santa, sledging, dancing and games.

We would like to say a special thank you to our wedding elf Stardust who made sure our special day ran smoothly and Jingle James for making sure we had the music we wanted for our wedding after our cd refused to play!

The only down side was the holiday had to end.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

By far the most magical holiday we've ever had. Thank you to the hotel staff, the Lapland Thomson team and all the elves for welcoming us and making our christmas dreams come true!

We had a wonderful log cabin at the side of the huge frozen lake, it was warm with under floor heating, a sauna and had lots of space. The food at the hotel was hearty, hot and tasty, perfectly adding to the cold christmas feel!

The highlights of our trip were too many to mention! We experienced mushing our own Husky pack on the Husky Trailbllazers and feeding the Reindeers on our safaris which we have some incredible photos and memories. Santa Park and Santa Village was our last day which we thoroughly enjoyed - some people claimed there was not enough time there to do everything but we managed to get around all the activities with shopping time after.

The Festive Finale in the hotel was the final cherry on the top. Santa himself came up the driveway pulled by a reindeer whilst the fireworks exploded over the frozen lake, it was magical and then we all got the chance to meet the man himself as a family. Long night as each family gets to have their own time with Santa but so worth it!

Top Tip: speak to Snowflake from Thomson about making the Santa visit extra special :)

Room Tip: Cabins are worth the extra but there are only 12 so they become full very quickly! book really early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went on this holiday with our two children and in-laws who also have two children, the kids are aged 2,3,4,5.

The flight was great with Thomsons all the children were given santa hats and sang christmas songs and played games. The transfer from the airport to hotel was good and we stopped off for our cold weather gear (overalls / hat / gloves / socks / boots) very well organised and didn't take long. I took balaclavas for the children which were really useful as it was -18 on one of the days.

Initially on arrival at the hotel I was a little worried that it was a bit dated however it was great a wonderful atmosphere and very traditional . The setting is lovely lots of trees and a huge frozen lake. The rooms are basic but a good size and very clean. The reception area and upstairs bar are very nice. Not a massive choice of food but what there is is very good. All the staff in the hotel were nice and helpful.

After the taster activity day which we felt was really good we booked the husky trip, the trips are expensive but worth it as they are things you may only do once in your life.
The Thomsons staff were fantastic and the kids had a great time at the party every evening, lots of dancing and games.

The hotel drinks are very expensive and I recommend you buy some alcohol in the airport on the way there. A pint is 8 euros and a bottle of wine around 50 euros!! We also took snacks for the kids.

The orgainisied trips to Santa Claus Village and Santa Park were good but would have been better given another hour or so.

On the gala dinner evening, the Thomsons staff got all the guests outside of the hotel to shout for Santa who was lost in the woods, he appeared on his sleigh with his Reindeer, there were fireworks and it was a truly magical experience for the kids (and adults).

This is a hotel which is catered for families with children and there are obviously lots of excited children up and down so if your going for a relaxing break probably not for you, but most certainly recommend this hotel if you want a fantastic time with young children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We've had a great time at this hotel with Thomson who were brilliant. The tour guides (elves), food, location all amazing. Only downside is lack of sleep, the downstairs bed rooms are made of very thin walls, and everything that happens in the corridor sounds like it's In your room. No chance of a nap, especially irritating when small kids like to run to their room from reception, sounds like someone banging a drum next to our bed! And small kids really like to run in the corridor....ask for a room far from reception, maybe upstairs is better or get a cabin, then it will be perfect! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room or to be away from reception, or get a cabin for decent nights sleep/nap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie8971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovaniemi
15.8 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
16.4 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
15.6 mi away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
15.8 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
1.9 mi away
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge

Property: Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
Address: Pohtimolammentie 382, Rovaniemi 97220, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent wilderness hotel will make a splendid setting for a relaxing holiday, a productive meeting or a special occasion. Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge is located on Lake Pohtiolampi a mere half an hour's drive from the town of Rovaniemi. The choice of activities and flavours is abundant. At Bear's Lodge, you will find high standard hotel services, conference services and, naturally, versatile activities year round. A meal in the stylish, intimate and atmospheric restaurant, bathing in the sauna and dipping in the lake will bring you authentic experiences with a Lappish flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Bear`s Rovaniemi
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge Rovaniemi, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing