We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice breakfast..everything was fine untill i made a call!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Rovaniemi
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice breakfast..everything was fine untill i made a call!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Don't miss the breakfast. its nice. Rooms were clean and nice. Room service and overall staff attitude was great.Not much of space inside , but decent. 2nd floor had a bit of club noise from downstairs.
Service was good untill i made a call to change flight reservation to finnair. A call to a supposedly toll free number under 5 minutes cost me 39 euros!!! it was perhaps cheaper to go to the airport, speak to the finnair staff and come back to the hotel and go back again and do the same thrice! Inspite of repeated request, the management insisted that the number we called was chargeable. Finnair staff at the airport informed us that the number was toll free! finally management agreed for a 25% refund but they would only transfer the money to the bank and not charge back to the credit card. So could not bother anymore.. gave up.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappal, Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your stay at City Hotel. I'm of course not so happy with the turn of events during your stay. When I verified your complaint I noticed that Finnair's service numbers are very expensive to call to. The number you probably dialed ( Price inquiries, schedules and special services: +358 600 140 140) was not a free number ( €3.15/answered call + local network charge according to http://www.finnair.com/INT/GB/customer-care ). This is why we charged you for the conversation.

The person at the airport mentioning that the Finnair's phone numbers are toll free probably also informed you wrongly. Finnair hasn't had any of their own employees at Rovaniemi for the last 2 years and probably somebody of the ground handling company informed you wrongly.

I'm really sad that these events have caused you disappointment in our hotel but I think we have still shown our good will by giving a 25% reduction on the phone bill.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further questions.

Yours sincerely,

Lieven De Rycke
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    260
    109
    30
    11
See reviews for
142
249
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel in early november as we were visiting our son who is at The University of Lapland. We stayed there for 1 week the hotel was excellent,the staff were all very polite and profesional and the food was good and the room a wee bit on the small side but adequate for sleeping in. The only complaint i have is there was no kettle in the room maybe that's a british thing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very helpful staff, we have to depart early for the husky ride and will be back after the check out time, but the staff allow us to stay a little bit longer so that we could clean ourselves up after an eventful husky safari.

Room are clean and the beds are comfortable. The room size is not a problem to me. I definitely will stay in this hotel again if I ever have a chance to travel to Rovaniemi, Finland again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantedToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokkola, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Very good location - in the city centre, but at the same time couldn't hear city noises. We stayed here just for 1 night, so size of the room was not so important, but if I'd stay longer, I'd prefer biger room. But the rooms are very clean and nice designed. Quite small bathroom and too tight shower.
The room size was only disadvantage of hotel so if I will go back to Rovaniemi, definetly will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012 and had a room on the 2nd floor. We went for the basic room, which we already understood from reading Trip Advisor reviews would be rather small. It was fine for 2 people and, really, we couldn't argue with the price Euro 138 per night including breakfast. The shower room is actually very small but we managed okay with it and we slept very well here. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Given that the hotel was very full at times and there were quite a few noisy ski groups, we think we did very well to find such a nice room in a modern hotel in town. Breakfast was so-so. A bit of a free-for-all with lots of people barging around ..... but we managed to get some porridge and toast and coffee and that was all we really wanted or needed. We ate lunch at the main restaurant of the hotel when we arrived and had excellent food and the service was a good, if a little slow at times. But we had no real problems here and would use this hotel again if we were to stay in Rovaniemi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in a twin room and it was very compact (about a handspan between the two beds!) but freshly decorated, clean and comfortable.
The location is really central for the town, for hiking, or for collection points for a range of excursions.
It's the staff who really excel - the front desk staff are never too busy to help with any questions, and the restaurant food is of a very high quality (book a table on Fridays or Saturdays or the locals will beat you to it!).
Breakfast was plentiful, hot and cold buffet style, and available for a long period for flexible starts.
There is a sauna available for hotel guests in the evenings, with some time restrictions.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the right side of the hotel - on one night this meant some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I’ve been to Rovaniemi late in November and was a marvelous experience. To see the aurora borealis right during a solar storm was one the highest points in my life. City Hotel Rovaniemi was a great choice for those days. It is not a luxurious, modern and upscale hotel, but all my needs were attended. Some folks at the front desk were great. I remember Alexi and Jenne. I let a message to the manager complimenting both of the guys. They were extraordinarily helpful with everything, mainly the tours. The location of the hotel is perfect. Right in the downtown area of Rovaniemi, one block from the seasonal Christmas tree at Lordis Square, what is very important in a city with ridiculous expensive taxis and bitterly cold weather to walk long distances. There is a little shopping mall crossing the street, one supermarket 50 meters away and a restaurant a few steps away. By the way, the breakfast is nice for European patterns. If one day I comeback to Rovaniemi (and I will) this will be my hotel option again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandrePOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.1 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
357 reviews
4.3 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
0.1 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
#10 of 13 in Rovaniemi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rovaniemi

Property: City Hotel Rovaniemi
Address: Pekankatu 9, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Top City Hotel Rovaniemi)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Rovaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An international hotel set right in the very centre of town next to shopping areas. Exceptional comfort and personal service create a cosy entirety for business or pleasure. The hotel has a fantastic location with warm and personal décor and delicious cuisine.The numerous sights and destinations within easy reach provide you with an opportunity to escape everyday routines. The excellent location of the capital of Lapland provides a perfect departure point for your adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top City Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi Top City Hotel
City Hotel Rovaniemi Lapland, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing