We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We asked silent room up and far from lifts and there was one on the top floor for us.
At six o'clock in the morning we wouke up to dog barking. We called the reception and asked about this dog. They told that opposite our room there was room for people with dogs. We were planned to wake up at 8:30, but in this case it was 6:00. We went to breakfast and we heard dog barking to the lifts, so at least that barking could be heard in 30 rooms in our corridor. Why the room for dogs was occupied from the most silent place in the hotel, top floor and inner court. E.g our room was on the street side and so we heard also the traffic noise.
Breakfast room and food was average, room seemed worned out.
Sauna was quite good, but not possible to see out and go out to cool off as in Scandic Rovaniemi.

Room Tip: Far away from dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank You for your feedback!

I´m so sorry about inconveniences You had during Your stay with us. During this winter season we have had lots of clients and our hotel has been almost fully booked for many months. And when we are fully booked, there is more life and noise in our hotel.

Dispite of these inconveniences we hope to see You soon again!

With kindest regards

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

When you entered to the hotel the lobby is very small and full of asian turists.
The room was ok, quiet and there is everything you need, but you see that it is worn out.
On the TV at your room was information that the breakfast is served daily from 6.30-10.00.
When the door to the (worn out) breakfast room was closed at 7.15 I was informed that " yes, but on sundays the breakfast start at 8.00.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalevi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank You for Your feedback!

I´m so sorry that You got wrong information about our breakfast times. And I´m sorry for the inconvenience this caused You. We have checked our infos and we will be more exact with these details in the future.

What comes to Your commenst about our rooms, I have good news for You.
We have plans to renovate all our rooms in next two years. All the rooms will be totally renovated and first new rooms will be in use in the end of June 2014.

Hope to see You soon again!

Best wishes

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were a group of 23 travellers on a trip to Lapland planned by The Villa Escape. Stayed here for 2 nights...Absolutely super location next to good restaurants and bars and shopping malls. its is across the road from the office of the Lapland Safaris which you will use for your snowmobile adventures etc.. It is absolutely comfortable and has a good breakfast spread. it is a perfect location and if I do visit Rovaniemi one more time i would stay here again...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KomalSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank You for Your review and positive comments about our hotel!

We warmly welcome You to visit us again!

Best wishes

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I wondered why I couldn't find any really nice hotels prior to my visit to Rovaniemi. Truthfully, there's nothing really nice in Rovaniemi amid the wonderful winter setting and hoards of Asian tourist busses. I rented a car at the airport and had little trouble finding the downtown hotel. Most of the buildings in Rovaniemi look the same; basic Russian looking cinder block, square structures, no more than 5 stories high. The Sokos is no different. I was pleasantly surprised, however to find a different, wonderfully welcome atmosphere once inside. The young women at the front desk were more than cordial and helpful; they'd be an asset in my own office. The interior of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired, but it's clean beyond anything I could imagine.. Truthfully, one could eat off the floor. The odd looking beds were so comfortable I didn't want to get up. Television channels were limited with no CNN, which I really didn't expect nor need, but the Finnish stations couldn't hold my interest. The room itself, was typical Europe small and no frills. BUT, the redeeming factor was the pristine bathroom and most wonderful shower I've ever taken in my life. You'll note there are no water saving signs here; the water pressure will knock you off your feet and the temperature is precisely controlled. The towels and bathroom floor are wonderfully heated and the toilet flushes with a vengeance that would make anyone take cautionary measures. The adjacent hotel restaurant is ok, yet not a culinary experience. I'd say it's more like a Romper Room standoff with parents who are clearly more interested in the bar scene than monitoring their kids. I'd recommend Sokos if for nothing else, to stop by and enjoy a hot shower. My upcoming trip is taking me to Ivalo; sorry there's not a Sokos property there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank You for taking the time to share Your experiences of Your stay at the Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi!

Concerning Your positive remarks about the atmosphere, staff, services and location we take it as a motivation to continue our commitment in providing only the best services for our clients.

What comes to Your comments about our basic rooms, we have good news for You. We have plans to renovate all our rooms in next two years. All the rooms will be totally renovated and first new rooms will be in use in the end of June 2014. After this renovation we will also have superior rooms.

You are warmly welcome to visit us again!

Best wishes

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Sokos hotes have a great standard for quality in Finland. Sokos Hotel at Rovaniemi is one good hotel for a business traveler. It is located downtown Rovaniemi and you can walk everywhere. Rooms, breakfast and service are at good level. Sokos Hotel offers you a comfortable stay.

I like the restaurants at Sokos hotel, especially Fransmanni, that have good food and service.
I guess all other restaurants at Rovaniemi are at walking distance if you prefer something else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loslapillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank You for Your stay at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna!

I appreciate Your comments about our rooms, breakfast, service, restaurant facilities and location in the hearth of Rovaniemi.
I couldn´t agree with You more that we have good food and service in our Fransmanni. Hopefully You tasted something from their Lappish Menu. My own favourite is sauteed reindeer with mashed potatoes.

We are glad to welcome You for another stay with us!

Best wishes

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located near the Lapland safari and artic museum. Well maintained. Front office staff are extending excellent service and speak English fluently.
Room maintenance needs improvement in changing bath towels and being a cold place Moistureriser or cold cream can be given as compliment. We enjoyed snow mobile and reindeer safari.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Greetings from Rovaniemi!

I´m pleased to read Your positive comments regarding our location, services and staff.
I think that our staff is the best!
Thank You also for Your feedback about our room maintenance, we try to do our best to improve that. You are warmly welcome to visit us again.

Best regards

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nice hotel with good location and friendly staff. Music is played very loud in the nightglub which might disturb some in certain part of hotel. I will propably stay in this hotel the next time I visit Rovaniemi, which is the most magical and relaxed place.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfjjhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank You for Your rewiew!

I´m pleased to hear that You have enjoyed Your stay with us and You would choose us also for Your next visit. Hopefully we will see You soon again!

With kindest regards,

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.1 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
422 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
3.2 mi away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rovaniemi
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi

Address: Koskikatu 4, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range: £115 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel situated in downtown Rovaniemi, in the heart of Finnish Lapland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi Lapland, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing