We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kajaani

Hotel Kajaani
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kajaani
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kajaani
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

An ok option, not too pricy, nice breakfast. Wish the food in the restaurant was better. Too much grease, and not too many options for dinner. Always a plus with the sauna, although it was not used by us on this trip because of new tattoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaletterLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

What must be the unsexiest hotel in Finland, Hotel Kajaani is a great place if you need four walls and a roof above you. There's nothing very special about the hotel, but it suits the needs of lodging very well. Free internet, rather close to Kajaani, rather simple and silent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very homelike environment and hospitable staff. Cosy and neat hotel. If you need combnation of quiet, peaceful place for good rest and simulteniously having fun in the evenings it is yours. From that point of view hotel has very suitable location. 100 meters from town infrastructure. Spacious enough rooms (not about bathroom) with balcony and decent sound protection give you opportunity for rest. Welcoming staff, clean area, hearty meal for breakfast. If there is some factors showing that hotel needs a little renovation it is not much visible. At least for me and for one night stay..

Room Tip: better somewhat further from reception hall, can be noisy when many guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

It is little bit older hotel, with simple but clean rooms, near lake in Kajaani. Unfortunately I was there during winter but I can not evaluate location more precisely. So from this point of view I can say - average.
But what I would like to appreciate is local staff hospitality. It was really nice exprerience to meet suck kind of people, There was very helpful anytime we had same questions

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozi_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varkaus, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Hotelli Kajaani is a 70's style, but neat and clean hotel 1-2 kilometres from the town centre. It is easy to access and it has a good parking lot. The situation is nice, it is pretty close to Kajaani river. A lot of hotel guests are elderly or families with children, with a few motorcycle tourists in summer. Staff is experienced, not the friendliest but ok. The food is not a luxury but it is recommendable. There are no fridges in rooms, which is the biggest disappointment.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony to the river direction are the best and also the coolest in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kajaani
0.4 mi away
Scandic Kajanus
Scandic Kajanus
#1 of 3 in Kajaani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Valjus
15.4 mi away
Holiday Club Katinkulta
Holiday Club Katinkulta
#1 of 3 in Vuokatti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vuokatti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
17.3 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Julia
#2 of 3 in Kajaani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kajaani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kajaani

Property: Hotel Kajaani
Address: Onnelantie 1, Kajaani 87100, Finland
Region: Finland > Kainuu > Kajaani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kajaani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kajaani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing