We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ski accommodation ever stayed in”
Review of Ski-Inn RukaSuites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuusamo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ski-Inn RukaSuites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuusamo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute as something different to the Alps. The main reason for booking Ruka was this accommodation and we were not disappointed!

Wonderfully clean (as is the entire resort) perfectly equipped, very comfortable for lazy evenings.

To have your own sauna in every suite is a delight, and very welcome after a cold day on the slopes. The under floor heating in the wet room shower is great, the living area very comfortable and the kitchen adequate for simple snacks (we had a smaller suite with microwave, kettle and hob - an oven would be welcome)

The bedroom is spacious and very comfortable and the second room with bunk beds would be great for families (could be cosy for two couples sharing)

TV has lots of options, with many English programmes on local channels and the DVD player was a bonus, we arrived with a box set and a couple of movies which set us up nicely for evenings after a good meal in the village (Colorado highly recommended)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kim964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have travelled to Ruka Finland and stayed at the Ruka Apartments several times, Approx 20 mins by taxi from Kuusamo airport, Fantastic location ski run 3 mins walk, village just outside of suites, Good value restaurants, Ski hire shop on way to runs, apartments have several options regarding bedrooms, some have cookers with ovens, some just have basic cooking facilities.Once in apartment block you have several options of eating places, subway, pizza, chinese, a food store which has a wide range of food items and local products , also several gift shops.there is also an information desk and bowling alley.The ski runs at Ruka are perfect for begginers and intermediate , they have some fantastic blue runs which seem to go on forever, the reds are good not to challenging, ideal for families a ski school is also N. We have been in January also February but found it too cold approx -15 and with the wind chill factor it is a lot colder. Next year we have already booked our flights (finnair) in march which will be good for skiing but not too cold.Hardly find any queues on some runs we have been the only ones on it,next year will be our 5th time at this ski resort, cannot recommend it enough.No swimming pool and room service not available.Last time we went to Ruka was April 2102.

Room Tip: Have stayed in these suites several times, you would be pleased with any all well located to ski run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

With extremely low temperatures outside,these apartments were warm and cosey to go back to. Well equipped and Evan a sauna in the wetroom bathroom. We went as a family of 6 and the main bedroom was decent size with a large double bed, although the two other rooms did the Job and were clean, the two other rooms were extememly small with a double bed bunk bed and tiny wardrobe all in one. Didn't make a difference really, as living area has a large corner settee and also a dining table. Ruka itself is a calm relaxing magical place for skiing, relaxing and sight seeing.
Best things we did/ visited :
Colarados restaurant
Ice karting
Husky farm and husky ride
Ski dos
See reindeers
Ice bar
Night skiing

Looking already for next year! Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayLover0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A great hotel, reception staff are very helpful. We stayed in the Ruka Inn, the main building. The room was a good size with a good size bathroom, with a good powerful shower and a great private sauna. Kitchenette had all you need, hob,kettle,coffee maker, sink fridge and dishwasher. no oven though. Room had 2 beds pushed together and a sofa, tv and dvd. We travelled with Crystal and upgraded to half board. Breakfast ok, but the same each day with little choice. Evening meal in a resturant with al a carte menu, very good and open to variations on the menu (chips instead of roasted veg). Crystal rep John excellent and will help you what ever you need. Very friendly and chatty. Resort great, very good for beginners with a very good ski school.
Would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkandKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

One of the best Finnish ski places and cabins in Ruka. There are lots of choices for accommodations.

One of the bests are Maston aitios' 70 cabins especially if you want some peace and quiet surroundings for the whole family (max 6). Those cabins are so close to slope that car is not needed (unless you need to go to food shopping). There are easy access by skiing to Ruka village as well, which is located at the other side of the mountain. Cabins are clean, neat and nice with fireplace and sauna. All needed cooking equipment can be found. Wireless network also for free. Locked place for skis also.

Service is also good - just a call and someone will help with a technical problems. The ice bar (made of snow) is located within walking distance. Cross country ski possibilities (tracks) starts almost from the front door.

Ruka's ski village is like a small town for eating, partying and shopping. You can even find a doctor when needed which is really good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed in the Ski-Inn Ruka for a week in January with Crystal ski. We had half board and the meals in the Piste Restaurant were all excellent and the staff there were very friendly and helpful.

The room in the hotel was perfect, especially the sauna which we used every day.

This was our first time in Finland and it really is a winter wonderland. Everything was white and the trees looked amazing with the snow on them. I went cross country skiing and there was plenty of choice of tracks through the woods. My husband does downhill skiing and as an intermediate skier he found the slopes were excellent and there were enough runs for the week. We did spend some days doing other things and I would recommend the husky farm visit and driving your own husky team. We also went on a snowmobile safari at night which was cold but amazing and they do provide all the extra clothes, boots etc that you ned to keep warm.

One of the best ski holidays we have had and we will definitely return to Finland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaleyDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Spending Christmas relaxing, doing cross country and alpine skiing in Ruka was an excellent selection, as well as just enjoying the beautiful nature in Kuusamo was excellent. Very easy to do xcountry skiing, and the pistes close enough to say they are close. The village was enjoyable in overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuusamo
0.0 mi away
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage
#1 of 4 in Rukatunturi
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
#2 of 4 in Rukatunturi
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruka Ski Chalets, Apartmenthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
11.5 mi away
Holiday Club Kuusamon Tropiikki
0.6 mi away
Motel Willis West
Motel Willis West
#4 of 4 in Rukatunturi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski-Inn RukaSuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski-Inn RukaSuites

Address: Rukatunturintie 9 | Rukatunturi, Kuusamo 93830, Finland
Region: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Kuusamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuusamo
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In year 2012 renovated RukaSuites apartments provide different sizes apartments that are made especially for the needs of an active family. Apartments are located in walking distance from the slopes and ski lifts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing