We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 'away from it all' experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basecamp Oulanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Basecamp Oulanka
Ranked #1 of 6 Kuusamo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic 'away from it all' experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I spent a winter week here in March, was a great experience, snow shoeing, husky sledding, cross country skiing, ice climbing and more. The staff were great - enthusiastic and keen to show off the site to its best. The cook was in hospital, so the other staff all chipped in for Oulanka's 'experimental kitchen' which 9 times out of 10 was excellent - especially as what we needed from dinner was bulk and heat after a day's activity.

To the reviewer who complained of no internet/tv and a 50m walk to reception I'd suggest that you picked the wrong place to stay - the whole point of Oulanka for me was that it was away from the chatter of an urban life, and all the more relaxing for it. Definitely recommend if you want to put in some effort and enjoy a pristine wilderness.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahAR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Helpful staff, even to the point of placing some dinner in the room to eat after return from walk.

However the room was over-priced for the off-season, with no discount granted even though we were the only guests.

The breakfast was very basic (provided the night before as we had to leave before the breakfast start! time of 9am - far too late for travellers. No dinner meals were possible after 6pm - far too early for walkers!

It was a very long and dark walk to the sauna, entailing an injurious fall down the outside staircase.

The room had no bedside table and it was cramped - no space on one side of the bed.

No Internet was provided - essential these days.

There was no TV, no tea/coffee, and the hairdryer could only be borrowed from Reception 50m away (and unstaffed between 1830 and 0900).

Room Tip: You have to be self-sufficient when Reception not staffed. Bargain hard - this is only basic wild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatima W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampOulanka, Manager at Basecamp Oulanka, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Hi there!

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the service in our humble camp.

You are right: like you described, our camp is very basic, there are no televisions, radios, newspapers or internet to bring in the world news into the national park. Only silence and other nature sounds like Myllykoski white waters close by. Of course if there is something urgent (checking the travel schedules, booking tickets) you can use our computer for internet access.

Breakfast time is 9:00 am. For early birds there is the special possibility to get ready packed breakfast in to the room on the last night. We are sorry for the early dinner: we are still eating like other finns: Early, a lot and go to sauna and sleep early afterwards. We try to change out habits.

Very good that you had a chance to go to the sauna and hot tub. Because we try to avoid light pollution and increase the possibility to see Northern Lights, we do not have huge outdoor lights. We do have led lights making the stairways more safe. And otherwise we use head torches - we are sorry if we did not provide you our Petzl lights which is one part of famous Basecamp Oulanka gear.

You are also right about tea and coffee: there is no electric kettles or other kitchen equipment in the rooms. We apologize any inconvenience this caused to you.

About discounts during running water time (May-November): -10% off the second night room price, -20% off the third and next nights. Everybody staying overnight in the camp will get a benefit of 5 € off /one guided activity/person/day.

Thanks once more for the review, you are warmly welcome back to Oulanka national park, anytime.

All the best,
Bascamp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Very good food, Excellent activities and friendly staff made this love relaxing holiday. I found the location very tranquil but it is a taxi ride to the nearest town if you want to go out.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillH503848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We enjoyed our trip to Camp Oulanka. The rooms were wonderful, food was excellent. We loved kayaking at all hours of the day. White water kayaking was fun for my niece. She also did the climbing wall. We went white water rafting and the rapids were fun, perfect for younger children. I could have had more rapids. We stayed five days and we would have loved to meet other travelers more. We went on the 10k walk and it was strenuous for an older family member. Great time, I would recommend it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arrowheadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Basecamp Oulanka was a great way to experience the beautiful scenery and activities that Finland has to offer. The staff were very helpful and nice and the accomidations were very good as well. I would definitaly suggest taking a trip there for everyone, whether it be for a day or a week trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britney1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed at Basecamp for 4 days and 3 nights. This was my first trip to North of Finland and I was looking to trek and do some adventure sports.

Basecamp is a perfect place for combinig relaxation with fun. Going in groups will help as the staff can then arrange activities without waiting to gather participants.

How to reach there: The only option I could find is to take a taxi from Kuusamo airport and the cost is approx 76-80 euros one way.

What to do:

Trek in the woods, there is a mini bear trail of 12kms and you can also go a certain distance on the big bear trail. The guides at the reception can help you create a customized trek option. The trails are well marked but you still can get lost and the trail marks on the big bear trail are at a certain distance.

Kuusamo & nearby Ruka being mostly a winter destination, the only other adventure is to go rafting in the Kitkajoki river. I was that some locals popped in at the last minute and the guides were happy to arrange a rafting session for 3 of us. If you are in a group of 2 or more, they will easily arrange at your convenience. The rapids are too good, my only disappointment is that the length of the session and the number of rapids are low in number. When its too good, you never have enough.

You can also try the Finnish Sauna or chill out at their private beach.

Food and Beverages: Basecamp has a very good chef and make sure you eat the grilled salmon there. Also enjoy the traditional Finnish drinks. Not many options with the beers.
Breakfast is included in the price and consists of bread, eggs, flakes etc.
The restaurant closes at 7 pm so you need to have your dinner early.

Final suggestion: Go in groups, helps in a lot of ways.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bijucyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuusamo
21.8 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
10.0 mi away
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
#2 of 4 in Rukatunturi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage
#1 of 4 in Rukatunturi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Ruka Ski Chalets, Apartmenthotel
19.4 mi away
Holiday Club Kuusamon Tropiikki
9.7 mi away
Motelli RukaTupa
Motelli RukaTupa
#6 of 6 in Kuusamo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Oulanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Oulanka

Property: Basecamp Oulanka
Address: Myllykoskentie 30, Kuusamo 93999, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Kuusamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kuusamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome into the Arms of Mother Nature! Wellbeing and ecotourism within the realm of the Oulanka National Park. Accommodation in our cosy wilderness hotel. No TV sets, radios or newspapers, only nature and its sounds. Comfortable accommodation in double, twin or single rooms. Twin rooms with balcony are perfect for family of 4. In addition to this there are smaller rooms with double beds. Activities all year round. Our programs are true ecotourism, bringing together conservation, local communities and sustainable use of wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Basecamp Oulanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing