We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Ruka

Ruka
Book In Advance
More Info
US$143.42*
and up
Snowmobile Safari to Husky Farm from Ruka including Husky Sled Ride
More Info
US$89.64*
and up
Easy Snowmobile Safari for Beginners in Ruka
More Info
US$274.88*
and up
Full-Day Snowmobile Tour for Experienced Drivers from Ruka
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Kuusamo
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A magical fairyland place with amazing trips. Snowmobile with Mike from the near the petrol station was a scream and the husky ride amazing end to our week. Ruka has shops, bars and ski hire all you need.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pennymarklew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    64
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crystal ski ruka, santa adventure”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

From start to end this holiday was perfect , the representative's were at hand 24 hours a day to sort anything out for you. We didn't have to think about a thing, all excursions started on time and we were given everything we needed to keep us warm. The skiing and snowboarding was immense , no queues, and a first class service from hire shops, all in all a top holiday to remember , will certainly go again, thanks crystal ski

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NJLMsalopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical little find”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I almost want to keep this resort the little secret it seems to be! We are a family of 3 holidaying with friends who were looking to combine a lapland trip with skiing. Every year for the last 5 years we have skied in the alps and while this doesn't compare size wise it makes up for it with what it does have - very quiet, beautifully groomed slopes within stunning scenery and no queues at all. We were lucky in the fact it wasn't as cold as we were expecting! It reached -7 one day but the other days it stayed above -3. Lift passes are cheap and equipment is of excellent standard and most of ours was new atomic gear. The only down side for us was the ski school which didnt really cater for kids who were above intermediate. Our daughter and her friend ended up in the adult group but to be fair they did enjoy it (not sure about the adults). The snow park is fun and there is a sweet little run through the woods for kids. There isnt a huge choice of runs but we didnt mind as they were so quiet and skiing was not all we came for.

We also went on 3 of the best life time trips we could have wished for with Ruka Safaris who couldn't have been more professional. We did the reindeer trip, the snowmobiling for 4 hours, and dog sledding to find Santa. All were magical in their own way! I've heard that some of the other trips with tour operators can be a bit naff so wasn't sure what to expect. We were desperate to see the northern lights and there was only one clear night forecast and the company quite gladly changed our snowmobiling trip to suit this...although sadly it was a full moon which spoilt our chances but we heard that they are seeing them around one in three nights there at the minute.

We stayed at the Ruka ski inn village which again comes highly recommended and at the foot of the slopes. The sauna and heated boot room came in very useful and apartments were very clean and spacious. My only tip would be to go b&b. We went half board and while the food was tasty, the service was very slow and drinks extortionate!!!! Rooms have more than enough space and facilities to cook in an evening. A glass of cheap German wine will set you back 12 euros!!! So go to the supermarket or bring pasta etc with you.

All in all a magical trip and we will definitely be coming back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Samashytffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical skiing”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Hard to imagine a better place to ski with young children. Empty slopes, lovely routes through the forest and the Rosa and Rudolf run with little huts to ski through and real reindeers! Of course this is not the Alps but it doesn't pretend to be. For children and beginners, Ruka wins easily over bigger resorts. We were happy to let our children go off on their own which I definitely wouldn't do in larger resorts. However for advanced skiers there is some challenge -the Finnish downhill team train here- so it's not all gentle swishing.
Ski passes are cheaper than the Alps and the supermarket is well stocked and reasonably priced. It is quite expensive to eat out so we generally ate in the apartment so kept costs down.
Overall an excellent family ski destination.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MuireannGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I made a visit to Ruka in the last week of August 2013 and it was beautiful. There was no snow, so it was a strange feeling to see all the Ruka ski equipment without snow.
Most of the restaurants ar still open at August meanwhile most of the tourists were gone, so I got plenty of space to walk to the top of the ski hill. There is an excellent panoramic view at this hill.
In Ruka Village there are plenty of summer activities: hiking, cycling, minigolf, golf, ... so that's makes it an ideal one or two day summer trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kortrijk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruka also viewed

Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia
 
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia
 

Been to Ruka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing