We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, efficient, bland but comfortable”
Review of Cumulus Oulu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Solid, efficient, bland but comfortable”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The facade is bunker-like seventies brick but the inside is agreeably airy and modern. The room I had was more than adequately spacious, clean, neat and well-designed. The breakfast is the standard buffet; the only variation on the usual theme is that the area is rather gloomy and the food not particularly appetising. Nothing memorable stands out about the hotel, but thanks goes to (the initially quizzical) staff for solving the problem of a soft bed by shoving liberal quantities of cardboard under the mattress.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainsifpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Cumulus-Oulu, General Manager at Cumulus Oulu Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Trainsifpossible,
Thank you for your stay with us and having the time to write us a review. I´m glad to hear that your room was clean and also otherwise a good choice for you. We are planning on getting new beds to our hotel in the near future, and hopefully we will see you here again to try how they are. I wish you warmly welcome to Cumulus Oulu!
Best regards, Mari Vepsäläinen, Hotel manager / Cumulus Oulu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    40
    47
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
29
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very basic. Room had no A/C but luckily there was a fan available. Clean bathroom, no amenities except shampoo in a large dispenser unit. Poor breakfast. Rate quite expensive for what you get. Window was to inner yard, very loud at night, could not sleep with window open.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henri_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Cumulus-Oulu, General Manager at Cumulus Oulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear henri_s,
Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing us a review. It´s good to hear that the fan helped you and the bathroom was clean. I´m happy to tell you that starting from the 1st of August we have more amenities available in our Cumulus Superior rooms (Shampoo, Conditioner, Shower Gel, Body Lotion and Facial Cream). It might be a good room choice for you next time as we hope to see you soon again!
Best regards, Mari Vepsäläinen, Hotel manager / Cumulus Oulu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oulu hotels

Elimäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Reception personell was friendly, but unexperienced, and couldn't find information about airmails as there was confusion shoul I be earning airmails or not, as I booked using booking.com.
Frequent customer points are not granted using this booking method, there is no information available about this anywhere!
We were travelling with two large dogs and hotel charged only 10€ for them, when competitor was charging 20e per dog per night! This was very affordable, and we were given large towel for dogs to sleep on.
Also parking was free of charge and was very secure.
pool and sauna were nice and peaceful and free of charge, breakfast really nice and there was plenty of organic items to choose from.
overall pleasant stay and I would certainly use this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Cumulus-Oulu, General Manager at Cumulus Oulu Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Anja J,
Thank you for your stay and having the time to write us a review. I´m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Exceeding customer expectations makes us happy. We have shared the information with our staff concerning Frequent Customer Points earning and there shouldn´t be any confusion with them in the future. Have a nice summer and warmly welcome to Cumulus Oulu again!
Best regards, Mari Vepsäläinen, Hotel manager / Cumulus Oulu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel had everything I expect from a nice hotel. It was very clean, had nice rooms, friendly employees and the breakfast was great. It also had a cozy bar in the first floor. They also had saunas that were available for use, though I did not try them.
Again - everything you would expect from a good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Cumulus-Oulu, Front Office Manager at Cumulus Oulu Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Kristian K. Thank you for your visit at our hotel and for taking the time to write us a lovely review. I’m so pleased you liked our hotel and you feel you received great service. I' so happy to pass your kind greetings to all our staff. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Mimmi Jokitalo, Shift Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Location was very good, walking distance from the center and Rotuaari. This was the best thing about the hotel.

The hotel itself was very dated. Rooms were quite ok, but nothing special. Breakfast was quite ok, but nothing special. Service was good, but nothing special :)

So everything was average. It is similar when you taste something and it is not bad, but it is not good either and afterwards you do not remember anything about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosqito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Cumulus-Oulu, Front Office Manager at Cumulus Oulu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mosqito, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write us a review. I’m really happy to hear that you found our location good. Sorry to hear that you found our service and breakfast just average. Hopefully next time we could make your visit with us more memorable. We hope to see you soon again! Best regards, Mimmi Jokitalo, Shift Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeymooners
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I don't really understand the comments written here on the reviews. I really enjoyed my stay at Cumulus, lovely shower, comfortable bed, free WiFi, great opportunity to discover the Finnish breakfast, very helpful staff. These are all I ever want from a hotel and not unnecessary frills that knock up the price like crazy. I didn't try the sauna as left my bathing gear at home but looked good. Certainly I will come here again if I ever come for holiday as it was very interesting visiting Oulu on business.

Room Tip: I guess couples if they came may want to choose the higher ranked room for more space. I came on my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Cumulus-Oulu, General Manager at Cumulus Oulu Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Honeymooners43,
Thank you very much for visiting us and writing us your review. It´s nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you feel you received great service. Good and helpful service is our priority number one and I´m happy to hear we have succeeded. Positive feedback is always nice to hear and it motivates all of us to try even harder. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Best regards,
Mari Vepsäläinen, Hotel manager / Cumulus Oulu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oulu hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Apollo
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Oulu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Arina
0.5 mi away
Scandic Oulu
Scandic Oulu
#3 of 9 in Oulu
616 reviews
2.2 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Oulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Oulu Hotel

Property: Cumulus Oulu Hotel
Address: Kajaaninkatu 17, Oulu 90100, Finland
Region: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Oulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Oulu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern downtown hotel with diverse restaurants, near Rotuarri Pedestrian Street, the market square & Tietomaa Science Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cumulus Oulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hotel Oulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing