We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastro Pub Toripolliisi

Gastro Pub Toripolliisi
Ranked #46 of 149 Restaurants in Oulu
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

loved the food here, yes it is finnish prices but the servings are generous and the food was excellent. Had the kalasoppa fish soup and it was fantastic. Then the smoked salmon mains and new potatoes, yum. Service was fine for a pub.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We went there to have lunch for the first time
Hamburger was great.
Food was good, but service was bad. Or actually there was no service at all.

Helpful?
Thank Katja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
446 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Expensive and Seriously Over-Rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stopped by a dinner for one -- and was severely disappointed. The food was very poor, service was far from impressive, and there was little effort. The tofu and vegetables -- actually a favourite of mine -- was largely inedible. I left most of its behind. The garlic bread was delivered so quickly after I ordered it -- and it was not even warm -- that they must have already had it prepared. The whole experience was very disappointing -- I would not go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhitehorseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempele, Finland
1 review
“Excellent food, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

One of my favourite spots in Oulu. The food is always amazing, well prepared and tasty, a real gastro pub. Very friendly staff from lunch time to closing time. Very relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akoskeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Real gastro pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The food was pretty good, but the service was quite slow. I think there were several summer time waiters on board.
I had salmon, that was good, but the portion was quite small. The portion salad was large and very tasty. The chicken sandwiches were excellent. They served really good fries with the sandwiches. I think the price to quality ratio is well above average vs the chain restaurants (Rosso, Fransmanni, Huviretki etc).
Desserts were excellent, however a bit pricey compared to the other dishes.
The winelist is average, but the wines are very inexpensive compared to many other restaurants in FInland. The selection of beers and ciders is one of the best in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpTravellerOulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gastro Pub Toripolliisi also viewed

Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
 
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
 

Been to Gastro Pub Toripolliisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing