We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be a fool not to stay here”
Review of Pano Gitonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pano Gitonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived to Amorgos by ferry at 3am and a taxi had been arranged to pick us up, and was there waiting. The owner, Theo, even woke up to greet us when we arrived at the hotel in Potamos 40 minutes later.

Theo was a great host. Very approachable, very knowledgeable, and very helpful - even after nights of interrupted sleep to greet guests. He was flexible with payment and offered to drive us to town at the bottom of the hill once or twice (before or after we rented a car). His wife Pooki (sp?) was also very friendly and helpful.

Waking up in the morning was stunning. The views from this property are to die for, not to mention the gorgeous rustic feel of the property itself - the pictures that you see do not exaggerate a bit.

The family taverna in town, run by Theo's brother (and often Theo in the kitchen, and his wife's Thai nights on Fridays) was great - we ate there twice and thoroughly enjoyed dinner and service - very local traditional tasty food. And hotel guests get 10% off - not that it's necessary as it looked to be the best place in the area.

In exploring the rest of the island, we did not come across any other place that looked nearly as nice. I honestly think this is the best place to stay in all of Amorgos, and for that the prices are extremely reasonable. Don't miss the chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Stable 3 had great views and a nice terrace for breakfast or just relaxing. It wasn't our first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmiller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were here for six nights in mid-September: we loved it and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Theo (the owner) has done a wonderful job developing this eclectic group of hillside rooms in a little village high above Aegiali Bay. Everything about the place is simple and stylish: the design of the rooms, the materials used, the porches, the furnishings. And the setting is spectacular: what a view!

Things you should know: you'll need a car or motorbike to get up and down to the village on Aegiali Bay; we decided against renting a car or motorbike but next time we will. While it's only 20 minutes, it's a solid 20 minutes and it's all uphill on the way home. Aegiali Bay has tavernas (Theo's is the most fun), a bakery, an ATM, a ticket office for the ferries, and a couple of markets.

The walking from Aegiali is very good so if you're inclined to get out on the trails this is a good base for that.

Finally, Theo is a good guy who is eager to help; he returns emails right away; and if he books a taxi for you it will show up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pano Gitona is a stunning place to stay while visiting Amorgos. My wife and I stayed 5 nights here while on our honeymoon. The apartments are adorable: new, clean, and very comfortable. The best part of these apartments are their outside balconies that overlook the stunning Amorgos sea. They are perfect for sunsets. We contemplated staying in the village or high up in these apartments. We definitely made the right choice. The owner, Theodore, was kind and generous. He arranged for a taxi to pick us up in the village of Katapola. When we arrived at 3am in the morning he greeted us and took us to our room. Before our trip, all of our email correspondence with him was always answered promptly. An added bonus is that he writes and speaks excellent english. We could not recommend this gem more! In addition, Theodore and his brother own a restaurant in the village. It's called Limani and the food is delicious authentic Greek with no frills. Try the fava bean balls! Everything was fresh and so good!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aloni apartment which was lovely. The other apartments all looked amazing as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solendita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

An absolute delight, this former abandoned village turned vacation rentals (kitchen included) boasts some of the most magnificant views in Amorgos. Situated above Aegiali beach and port the view is mesmerizing. The rooms have kept their original design (ours was the former village bakery, traditional oven included) and are traditionally yet tastefully (if you're into more modern vibes) decorated. The price is very reasonable and the owners/staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and you will feel like you're staying in your own private little home. Also, one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I cannot gush enough about the place and am definitely looking forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Staying at Pano Gitonia involves a lot of stair climbing, so if for any reason this is a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at Pano Gitonia for five days in July of 2013, and enjoyed a fantastic experience. Close to, but not in, downtown Aegiali, the location is ideal. In fact, we found the best restaurants on the island to be in Lagada, a lovely village which is only 7 or 8 minutes away by car. Pano Gitonia is high on a mountain slope, and the view from our lovely veranda was so spectacular that each evening we found it difficult to tear ourselves away in order to leave for dinner. We stayed in Stable 2, which was completely clean, comfortable, and with the loft would comfortably sleep three. The bathroom was spotless, with contemporary fixtures and a great stone floor in the shower. As other reviewers have mentioned, everything is decorated tastefully and the small but very well appointed kitchenette is a helpful feature. (In fact, Theo and Puki seem to be well aware of the needs of travelers. They supply clothespins and a clothesline, cookware, various kinds of glasses, a toaster, coffee maker, water boiler, bottle opener, etc.) Theo and Puki are great. Theo is flexible and always ready to be of assistance, is great to talk with, knows everyone on the island and is willing to call them to help make arrangements, and the best hiking we did on Amorgos was on the trail he recommended to us (walking from Lagada to the Stravros church - take lots of water!).

You will be much happier with a car than without one, but if you do have a car, everything on the island is easy to find. Our time on Amorgos was one of the most memorable vacations we've had, and we could not have been more happy with our stay at Pano Gitonia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at Pano Gitonia for 8 nights and absolutely loved every moment of it! We had Apartment 2, which was spacious and decorated with taste. The veranda overlooked the bay of Aegiali and was the perfect spot for lounging in the sun, having our own dinner or just admiring the gorgeous view (see attached picture).
The kitchen was complete with cutlery, crockery, all possible appliances (even a toastie maker!) and a massive fridge, perfect for staying longer and being self-catered. We opted for trying as many local restaurants as possible so only used it for breakfast and a couple of dinners. The bedroom was cosy, with a comfortable bed and a huge wardrobe. The bedside table - old Singer sewing machine - was a lovely touch. As it was just the two of us, the second bedroom was not accessible, but the apartment would easily sleep six people, four in the bedrooms and two on the massive sofas in the living room. The only downside for the latter was the TV reception which wasn't great - but that also applies to Greek TV in the summer!
The bathroom was also nice and spotlessly clean. The shower cabin was of average size (not really for two people at the same time), and there was even a washing machine (again, for longer stays it would be ideal). Finally, there was an Ethernet cable in the living room, and free Wi Fi on the veranda (but not inside the house).
The bed was made and the bins were emptied daily, and every three days we got our towels changed too. The owners, Theodoros and Puki, were very nice, always at hand in the morning and afternoon to deal with problems and give advice on where to go on the island. Theodoros even came down to the port at 2am to pick us up when we arrived and take us to our room! The family also own a tavern in Aegiali port, so we ate there many lunches and dinners (see relevant review "To Limani tis Kyra-Katinas").
The location is simply amazing. Pano Gitonia is at the edge of the village of Potamos on the hill overlooking the bay of Aegiali. It is accessible by tarmac road and there is parking space in front of the establishment. You can also walk to Aegiali port and back through Potamos, but it takes about 20 minutes, and though picturesque it's not very pleasant in midday heat. At night there are lights at frequent intervals and in general it feels very safe. At Aegiali port you can find supermarkets, cafes, restaurants, gift shops, an ATM, and a petrol station (on the way to Tholaria); the beach is long and sandy, and there are three more along the coast which can be reached on foot (you can drive to the first one, Levrossos, but parking space is limited). We just picked a different one every day from our veranda. Do not miss this heavenly place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolettaki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a superb place to stay. The standard of the apartments is top quality, the fittings and fixtures were superb ( not only was the toilet seat quietly self closing, but the toilet bin was too!), the sheets were top notch, and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in in Greece, and that includes my own bed at home! Even the pillows were high standard. The outside patios were equipped with comfortable chairs and tables and each apartment had their own area of privacy, though some were more private than others. The views from our apartment were wonderful. Theo was our main contact and explained that the complex was only completed in July last year.
We only booked a few days before our visit but would have appreciated knowing that we would need to get a taxi from the port (€25), wait for a bus later in the afternoon to Aegiali, or hire a car or bike. Theo apparently collects people who arrive from late night ferries, but not otherwise. He did however, arrange excellent car hire for us the next morning. Because this place is located quite a way up the hillside, you will need some form of transport to get around. The roads are mainly in very good condition with good views, but high and very bendy and probably best for an experienced biker. There are two nearby eating places within walking distance, but Aegiali is a delightful town with a good choice of tavernas and friendly shopkeepers and about a mile down the hillside by car.
Overall I can't recommend this place highly enough. Aegiali is without doubt the best beach on Amorgos and Pano Gitonia the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegiali
1.5 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
697 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
98 reviews
0 mi away
Sea House
Sea House
#5 of 12 in Aegiali
9 reviews
7.1 mi away
Amorgion Hotel
Amorgion Hotel
#3 of 14 in Katapola
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pano Gitonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pano Gitonia

Address: Upper Potamos | Aegiali Amorgos, Aegiali, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Aegiali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Aegiali
Price Range: £38 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pano Gitonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pano Gitonia Amorgos/Aegiali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing