We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pano Gitonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our 7-day stay in Pano Gitonia will remain unforgettable.From the very beginning, we realised that we had made the best choice concerning accommodation on the island of Amorgos.The rooms were tastefully and traditionally decorated and even staying in filled you with joy.The room we chose to stay was the Bakery, which is suitable for a couple.It's a small studio with a small kitchen , equipped with all the necessary utensils to make your stay more convenient.In the room there is an old bakery that can be lit and add to the atmosphere of the room.There is a nice veranda in the front which can offer privacy since it is a bit more secluded from the rest of the accommodation and is great to enjoy your breakfast or a drink at the sunset.As for the views of Pano Gitonia , anything said is an understatement.Every room or flat boasts about its views which are among the best on the island.Don't miss taking a stroll in the village of Potamos which is the location of Pano Gitonia.You'll meet locals being carried by donkeys up and down the hill or you can enjoy a drink in a nearby cafe.Don't have seconds thoughts, whether you are a couple or a family, and choose Pano Gitonia for your dream holidays.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be difficult to have access to for people with mobility problems because of some stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is one of the most delightful places we have stayed in the Greek Islands and we've stayed in a few! The standard of the accomm is exceptional - beautiful fixtures and fittings (I want a marble sink in my kitchen!) and little touches such as anti-mozzie devices, lanterns plus tealights, washing -up liquid, tea towels, etc. all supplied. We were in Stable 3 (big enough for two adults in the separate bedroom and two children in the living room) and, as a couple, this was spacious and very comfortable for us. Bed a good size and very comfortable. Loved the bathroom with a proper walk-in shower area and wall-mounted shower. No nasty plastic toilets, shower curtains or hand-held shower. The outside space was fantastic and the views to die for. We loved it, no complaints at all. Only comment would be you need to be fit and able if you want to walk back and forth to town but easy enough to hire and car or scooter and there is plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Stable 3 excellent location and fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank igloogirlFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I arrived late on Amorgos with my in laws. Theo was there to greet us at 130am in the little port of Aegiali, friendly and welcoming. We discovered fully our lovely bedroom ( the bakery ) in the morning. It is basic especially the bathroom but it has an inner beauty. Our towels were arranged as swans and the whole place had a romantic feel. The view is just .. priceless. We loved our stay there. My in laws stayed in the room called Anna and that was lovely too. They enjoyed their stay.
Theo and his wife made it all special, they are dedicated hosts and make sure your stay remains unforgettable just like the island. Amorgos is indeed the island of The big blue and is indeed magical.

Room Tip: As the hotel is situated in Potamos on the hill, my suggestion is to choose a room with a view as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our wonderful time in Amorgos was completed by our stay in Pano Gitonia. Not only is the place stunning, but the hosts are fantastic too. Theo came to pick us up from the ferry at 3 in the morning and even treated us to a drink in town the night we left when we had to wait to for the ferry until 2 in the morning. We are working on a food project, so this was a perfect place for us to get to know local cuisine better since the best restaurant in town in run by Theo's brother and sister-in-law, Panagiotis and Lia. His wife Puki is also super friendly and we would have loved to try her Thai cooking if we had more time. Such as welcoming family in a wonderful place. Amorgos was our favourite greek island that we visited, the whole island smelled of fresh herbs and flowers in springtime and the beaches are incredible with turquoise blue waters. Definitely a place we would like to come back to again. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We had the old bakery which was super cute for a couple and the view from the terrace is also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is really a lovely place to stay in Amorgos . The converted buildings have all amentities you need . Theo is a welcome host and email communications prior to arrival were excellent . The view is amazing, it takes your breath away. Room was spacious and clean and bed very comfortable. The local walks were so pretty with sprung flowers in abundance. A car means you can see the rest of the island , but if you want to stay local , the walk back up the hill will keep you fit. Theo's family restaurant serves fabulous Greek food and great value too. Would highly recommend staying in Pano Gitonia .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ventians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

When I first found the photos of Pano Gitonia on the Internet, I was sold. And when we came there, the view was just as stunning as shown on their Home Page. The interior was very cosy and the service was superb. We were met when we arrived by the ferry and when we left for the ferry to Astepalaia in the middle of the night, we first ate at the owners restaurant in Aegiali and then spent the late hours on a seaside bar close by.
The two mornings we were there, we went up some stairs and ate breakfast at the restaurant Kamara where we also had a stunning view and got superb food.
Pano Gitonia is located alongside the famous walk from Aegiali to Chora (passing by the monastery).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived to Amorgos by ferry at 3am and a taxi had been arranged to pick us up, and was there waiting. The owner, Theo, even woke up to greet us when we arrived at the hotel in Potamos 40 minutes later.

Theo was a great host. Very approachable, very knowledgeable, and very helpful - even after nights of interrupted sleep to greet guests. He was flexible with payment and offered to drive us to town at the bottom of the hill once or twice (before or after we rented a car). His wife Pooki (sp?) was also very friendly and helpful.

Waking up in the morning was stunning. The views from this property are to die for, not to mention the gorgeous rustic feel of the property itself - the pictures that you see do not exaggerate a bit.

The family taverna in town, run by Theo's brother (and often Theo in the kitchen, and his wife's Thai nights on Fridays) was great - we ate there twice and thoroughly enjoyed dinner and service - very local traditional tasty food. And hotel guests get 10% off - not that it's necessary as it looked to be the best place in the area.

In exploring the rest of the island, we did not come across any other place that looked nearly as nice. I honestly think this is the best place to stay in all of Amorgos, and for that the prices are extremely reasonable. Don't miss the chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Stable 3 had great views and a nice terrace for breakfast or just relaxing. It wasn't our first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmiller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegiali
0.9 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
694 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yperia Hotel
Yperia Hotel
#4 of 41 in Amorgos
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aelia Studios
Aelia Studios
#3 of 8 in Aegiali
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Big Blue
The Big Blue
#4 of 8 in Aegiali
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pano Gitonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pano Gitonia

Address: Upper Potamos | Aegiali Amorgos, Aegiali, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Aegiali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Aegiali
Price Range: £39 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pano Gitonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pano Gitonia Amorgos/Aegiali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing